We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent grounds and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #31 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This is the first time for me in Portugal and the weather in October, was like an indian summer - which made it all the more enjoyable - this time of year is the off season as they close in November for three months.

The Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel was formerly Apartamentos (Apartments) Estrela do Vau and still providing the same service - our apartment was very well laid out, with three entrances onto the balcony*** one from each of the two bedrooms and the kitchen area.

There is one bathroom with wash basin, toilet and bidet - One shower room with toilet and wash basin..

In the kitchen area, towards the back wall is a put- you-up for two people - also in the kitchen area is a dressing table with storage facilities and on the top is a flat screen television with remote control..

There are three airconditioning units within the two bedrooms and the kitchen area and a remote control, to turn it on and off.

There a few facilities I haven't mentioned, like the television room, massage, spa, sports bar & restaurant -which also showed football matches from the world cup european qualifiers and;live entertaiment

There is a car park if you have brought your own vehicle and an open air eating area, where you can have breakfast if you want -next to the car park is a supermarket, where you can stock up on food and drink.

If I've let anything out I do apologise, before I forget there two swimmingpools one adult and one for children.

One thing I will say before I sign off, this is definitely a place to visit but earlier in the year..

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gunslinger_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your wonderful and detailed commentary. I hope to be able to welcome you again, with the promise that we will make improvements to make your next stay even more enjoyable. Until next year!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

We came here with friends for a week and really enjoyed ourselves. The apartment was clean and fairly well equipped although a bit short on kitchen implements (but that did not bother us). The towels were changed daily. We had room 205 overlooking the back gardens with a nice balcony with a lovely view of the sunrise and sunset over the countryside.
The pool was wonderful - and there were lots of available sunloungers with a very nice pool side cafe with good meals and wonderful milkshakes.
The staff at the hotel were really friendly and helpful and all spoke good english. The sports bar next door was good too with a Happy Hour every evening and the entertainment included some Latin dancers, a group and karaoke.
We hired a car but took taxis in the evening and it only cost 7 euros to get to Alvor which has lots of nice restaurants. There is a small shop on site and a small supermarket which sells most things you would want.
Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would definitely go back - to be recommended,

Room Tip: Upper floors have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Babsstockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your review and for your kind words. We will improve day by day, so we will be very happy if you come back next year. We like to have you as our guest very much. Hope to see you soon...

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel are clean and tidy the towels are changed on a daily basis room is clean daily . Free WiFi is only in pub next to hotel, hotel runs a shuttle bus for €3 you can have a return into Alvor, I would make full use of this as taxis cost between €5 to €7 each way. On arrival to the hotel we would put in their room above the pub after first night loud music I complained to the hotel staff who are really friendly and polite they moved us to a room of our choice they was free at the time. Although it's a non smoking policy people tend to smoke on the balcony throw fag butts down below on to ground floor patios.
Hotel is a three star, as it in need of modernisation although the rooms are clean and tidy the shows signs of wear and tear cracked tiles. Wi-Fi in your apartment and the safe deposit box will cost you extra.
There is a small shop by the hotel, there is two pubs the main one will do your breakfast and dinner each day the other one is by the pool this is open during the day both pubs have free wifi. There is a beach 10 minutes walk away from Hotel. Aldi's Lidl's food stores are about 6 minutes drive away or a good half hour walk.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Many thanks for your comment. Since last year we have been investing in hotel improvements, so we promise to be more modern, functional and welcoming in your next stay. We look forward to welcome you in the near future. See you soon!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks and enjoyed ourselves. The hotel has a nice entrance, spa, outdoor swimmingpool and a good gym. The appartment we had was pretty big and a huge balcony with a view over Portimao! We also had a rental car for the two weeks and staying at estrella do vau we considered it a must have. Its situated just outside the city and there is nothing to do within walking distance except play golf. Closest bars/ resteraunts are at least a 20 min walk. There is a bar and resteraunt (buffet) at the hotel, but we really prefer to eat outside the hotel for better choice of resteraunts.

The hotel has potential to become really good but to do this they must make some necessary changes. The beds are very hard and we didnt have a double bed so we had to slide them together. My gf went home with pain in her back due to the beds. The housecleaning is very poor. Sheets were not changed in the 2 weeks stay, just straitend out every day. The bathroom needs a necesary upgrade and the fan was not working.
The snackbar personell at the pool area were not motivated and lazy, it doesn't express a welcoming feeling and a few things were out of stock. TIP: try taking orders at the swimmingpool, that will increase the holiday experience and is good for your profit

The outdoor swimmingpool was very good. On other reviews we read about the bad state of the beds at the pool. We could see a few beds in bad condition but most were fine and a quite a few new beds.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves at Estrella do Vau and didn't let the negatives influence our stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for your detailed comment. The aspects that least pleased you will be analyzed so that we can improve from now on. We hope you give us the opportunity and come back to prove that we can do better. See you soon!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Came back after 14 years and i had the best experience yet again. Fell in love with estrela do vau all over again. The appartments are so clean and the staff are amazing. Thank you all for a beautiful holiday again. I cant wait to book my next holiday here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank carry-t02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

First of all we would like to thank you for your comment. Secondly, to say that we were very happy with the words you wrote, because we try to work every day in sense that we can receive words like these, that give us the strength to continue persisting of being better and better.
We hope you will come back to welcome you with open arms.
Take care. Best regards.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
1.2 km away
Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente
8 km away
Morgado Golf & Country Club
1.6 km away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
319 reviews
2.1 km away
Vila Rosa Hotel
Vila Rosa Hotel
#13 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
302 reviews
1.5 km away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: $55 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing