We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
100
198
106
36
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
198
106
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club pool area self catering both bedrooms mini mart short cut baby pool bed apartment family holiday reception staff quiet location english speaking channels cleaned every day these apartments min walk hire car stayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I've been at this hotel for 6 days having rented a studio apartment from owners direct (242). The apartment was beautiful, has a pool view and is very spacious. We came here after spending being at a five star hotel and didn't know what to expect after reading the mixed reviews. This hotel is lovely, beautifully kept and so friendly. The bar is great fun on an evening (we go out everyday but pop in on our way back), there are lots of English/Irish here everyone is so friendly. There is a launderette on site, a hairdressers/beautician/spa, a poolside cafe bar and a small supermarket (with such a friendly lady working there). The pool area is really good, music playing but not too loudly, the staff clearly try to make it fun for the children. There is a little play park which my kids loved. We don't want to leave here as we're in Portugal another 8 days but this hotel is fully booked (we're moving to its sister hotel). The location is great for us as we have a car but taxis are cheap if you don't want to walk or drive. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We love it so much we're already planning on coming back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TracyKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again. Kind regards.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed here first two weeks of July.

Cant really fault much in the hotel , it was very clean , the rooms are big , staff all very friendly , pool area was nice , snack bar by the pool their food and drinks all nice. The hotel is a bit out in the middle of no where BUT you can easly walk to PDR or Alvor both roughly 35 mins walk or 5 mins in a taxi worked out around 5/6 euro for my family of 4.

The beach was about 10 mins away , on the beach front you have 4 or 5 places to eat and drink.

We had a one bedroom apartment and it was big , We stayed on the ground floor over looking for pool. it was really nice and had loads of space.

others in our group had 2 bed room apartments which were twice the size of my apartment and had two bathrooms again these apartments were all very nice and clean and both had lovely pool views.

cleaners came in every day and done a good job.

The only down side was the entertainment , i do not mean the staff by this as they were brilliant with the kids and really tried to give them a great time i just thought it was very limited examples being :

only 10 kids allowed into the kids club there must of been 60 kids at least staying in the hotel.

The games at the pool were always the same again i think this is more down to resources then the staff doing the games.

The night time entertainment in the the bar was always over to fast , bird show , reptile show both ended in half hour , The kids disco was on to early at 6pm and was only on for 30 mins i feel as its a family hotel kids disco should be on around 8.30 / 9 and on for an hour , if they done this they might keep people in the hotel bar

They do have a shop on site which is perfect for grabbing something you need but i would not do a shop in here for a couple of days worth of food as the prices were soooo high , Go to the lidl or one of the supermarkets in alvor or pdr. But again the shop is perfect for anything you forgot to get in supermarket.

Price in bar (g&T €8.50 in alvor €5) and shop as with most hotels are over priced and drinks / food is cheaper out side the hotel , but look most hotels are like this.

other then above small issues i found the hotel to be brilliant and i would 100% return and would recommend this hotel to family and friends

take a trip up to the 4th floor and take in the views really really nice.

Room Tip: if you have kids ask for ground floor pool view apartment we had number 14 and loved it
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for your detailed review.
As for just accepting 10 children in the kids club, we prefer to accept less but be responsible, unlike others who accept 30 or 40 children at a time with only 2 entertainers.
In everything else, we try to improve day by day, in the sense of being able to prove you next time that we are able to do better.
Hope to see you again. Best regards.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

2 bed apartments are huge!! Wifi free in the lobby and small charge in the room!! Food in restaurant was poor but ate out everyday after realising this!! Would 100% recommend this hotel to stay in. We went into Alvor every night and it's a beautiful little place but do allow 7/8 euro each way in the taxi if your on a budget!! Would definitely return

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Jamie,
Thank you very much for your kind words. About the food, we think that we already increased our quality, we hope when you return we can prove it to you.
See you next year. Please take care.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We just returned from a ten day family holiday with our three children, aged 8, 6 and 2. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in a very quiet area approx 2km from Praia da Rocha and 3km from Alvor. They are within walking distance but if travelling with small children, be prepared to budget approx 20 euros per day for taxi fares if you want to experience a visit to either of these towns. The beach is beautiful and approx a ten minute walk away. Our 2 bedded room was very spacious with two bathrooms and a very large balcony. Air con was located in the living area and in both bedrooms. All kitchen appliances and cable TV were provided. The room was cleaned regularly with fresh towels/linen provided. WiFi was available free of charge in the lobby area but comes with a fee in appartments. The pool area is spacious but with limited availability of sun loungers, a lot of which were in need of repair. The pool has been recently renovated to a reasonaby high standard, but the evidence of the recent refurbishment works is still apparent i.e. small pebble sized stones scattered around the pool area - sometimes an unpleasant surprise for children's bare feet! The recently installed children's jungle gym (pirate ship) was very attractive to smaller kids but was to be avoided for most of the day as the metal slide would become extremly hot, as did the soft ground tiles surrounding it! A lot of kids cleverly took to collecting water from the pool in their buckets and poured it on the slide to cool it down! The kids club was very limited and appeared to have limited resources. It seemed to become more organisrd as our days went on, with Christina providing most of the entertainment. It always involved either pool activities, or entertainment in the hotel bar at night and for very short periods of time. The poolside snack bar was quite good. There was no access to a personal computer (desktop) which we required as our android phones could not reserve our seats for our return flight home. We were informed at reception that the nearest Internet Cafe was in Portimao approx 10km away! Reception staff kindly offered to do this for us when we explained the situation. Nightly entertainment in the hotel bar was provided with the bar closing at 11pm. Overall, the hotel staff were very pleasant and very helpful, our room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. It was very quiet at night allowing for a restful night. We enjoyed our stay in Estrela do Vau, and would recommend it to people who want a quiet holiday that is family friendly.

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank Anna Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your comment. We promised to improve, especially in the aspects that less pleased you. We hope you come back again to check our developments. See you soon!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We booked a week-long stay through SunTours and would like to commend both the travel agency and especially the hotel! We had such a nice holiday that we are actually mobning to Portugal in a fem years. Thank you so much for good service, nice breakfast buffet and an overall great experience!
Special cadeau to Linda in the reception - she's an absolute wonderful lady.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the backside of the hotel if you can. Great view, no noise from poolarea.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Michella,
Thank you so much for your kind and nice words.
It is when we read comments like yours that we feel a greater responsibility to improve more and more. We hope to see you again.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews