We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family oriented hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Portimao
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We returned recently from a trip to this lovely hotel. We were 3 adults and 3 children aged from 2 to 8. Initially we were disappointed not to have a room with a pool view. Our room was to the back of the hotel, overlooking the car park on one side but with a lovely view of the golf course and mountains on the other. The hotel seems to be well designed in this respect with the balconies having a dual aspect. I can’t imagine there are any apartments which don’t get a lot of direct sunshine during the day. As we were partially west facing we had lovely evening sun and it was really quiet so we were very happy in the end with our apartment.
The apartment itself was incredibly spacious. Other reviews on this site had talked about how large they are but they really are very big. So much so that we kept the pull out bed in the corner of the living area out the whole time and you wouldn’t even notice it. There were 2 bathrooms with showers and 2 balconies, one for the living area and another that both bedrooms opened onto.
The apartment was cleaned every day. No instances of unwanted insects or anything like that. We were very happy with the standard of cleaning. The kitchen had pretty much what we needed but they had no cereal bowls which was a bit strange.
There are only 2 washing machines and it’s pretty expensive at €5 a pop. They could definitely do with a few more machines as we sometimes went down and had to go back again as they were in use.
This hotel is very popular with families. The kids had no problem making friends. The Kids club ran between 2.30-4.30. I knew who Kristina was immediately having read reviews on this site. She is really super with the kids, both in the kids club and out in the pool area. She’s a fantastic asset to the hotel.
As regards the pool area, it’s really lovely. One very large pool divided by a bridge and a second baby pool. The deep end of the pool is well designed as there is a ledge that goes around the sides at the bottom so someone can stand on it easily enough if they get into difficulty. There are signs up about no inflatables, no pool attendant, no diving and no reserving sun loungers. These rules seemed to be regularly flaunted for the first week or so we were there. By the time we got down, all the loungers were taken up with towels (one morning a member of staff went around collecting them). Into the second week though, they seemed to get a lot more strict on their policies. A new sign went up and they definitely didn’t allow people to reserve the sun loungers which was great. On the loungers, they could do with replacing a lot of them as many of them didn’t tilt properly. Pool games were regularly run by the staff, including Kristina. Volleyball, diving for rings, collecting balls etc all of which were loved by the kids. One thing we found strange though was a lack of lifeguard for such a busy pool. I think they should definitely have one. Also the toilets down in the pool area are ok but I regularly found the toilet roll was wet as was that general area. Understandable it being beside the pool but staff could pay a little bit of extra attention to it.
On food, we only ate in the restaurant the morning we arrived for breakfast. The main restaurant provides a buffet for dinner – I believe it’s about €17 for an adult but we never availed of this as we went out most evenings. There is a pool side snack bar – it closes at 7pm. It provides Ice cream, cocktails, omelettes, lasagne, pizza, nuggets, wraps, burgers etc. It is not really my type of food but we ate there several times anyway. It is decent enough. There is a little mini market out the front of the hotel and I believe the icecreams are slightly cheaper there than in the snack bar!
If doing a proper shop, you could head down to the Aldi or Lidl in portimao – about €7 taxi. Just beware that on the way back, the taxi rank is across the overpass so lugging a load of shopping up and down steps is not pleasant! If you want some retail therapy Portimao Retail Center is also about €7 and is a huge shopping center.
As for beaches, Praia do Vau is a lovely beach and we walked it in 20 minutes. We also went to Praia do Rocha by taxi – about €5/€7. It’s a massive beach and very beautiful. For going out at night we tried Praia do Vau which has a small selection of restaurants. We also tried Praia do Rocha which has a larger selection along with a strip of shops etc. But once we went to Alvor (about €7 taxi) we never looked back and went there most nights. There is a lovely Indian restaurant there on a side street called Tasty Cuisine which I recommend. Alvor has a lovely atmosphere and is very family oriented.
This is a lovely hotel and great for the kids. If I could take it and put it right beside Alvor it would be perfect. Getting taxis everywhere became a bit of a pain for us as we had to wait at taxi ranks for a 7 seater or else get 2 taxis. It becomes pricey when you add it up over 2 weeks.

Room Tip: Don't dismiss rooms at the back overlooking the golf course as they get evening sun and are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LaineyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

We appreciate your feedback and a detailed description of what happened on your vacation. We promise to continue to improve year after year, so we would love for you to return in the future. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I've been at this hotel for 6 days having rented a studio apartment from owners direct (242). The apartment was beautiful, has a pool view and is very spacious. We came here after spending being at a five star hotel and didn't know what to expect after reading the mixed reviews. This hotel is lovely, beautifully kept and so friendly. The bar is great fun on an evening (we go out everyday but pop in on our way back), there are lots of English/Irish here everyone is so friendly. There is a launderette on site, a hairdressers/beautician/spa, a poolside cafe bar and a small supermarket (with such a friendly lady working there). The pool area is really good, music playing but not too loudly, the staff clearly try to make it fun for the children. There is a little play park which my kids loved. We don't want to leave here as we're in Portugal another 8 days but this hotel is fully booked (we're moving to its sister hotel). The location is great for us as we have a car but taxis are cheap if you don't want to walk or drive. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We love it so much we're already planning on coming back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TracyKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again. Kind regards.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed here first two weeks of July.

Cant really fault much in the hotel , it was very clean , the rooms are big , staff all very friendly , pool area was nice , snack bar by the pool their food and drinks all nice. The hotel is a bit out in the middle of no where BUT you can easly walk to PDR or Alvor both roughly 35 mins walk or 5 mins in a taxi worked out around 5/6 euro for my family of 4.

The beach was about 10 mins away , on the beach front you have 4 or 5 places to eat and drink.

We had a one bedroom apartment and it was big , We stayed on the ground floor over looking for pool. it was really nice and had loads of space.

others in our group had 2 bed room apartments which were twice the size of my apartment and had two bathrooms again these apartments were all very nice and clean and both had lovely pool views.

cleaners came in every day and done a good job.

The only down side was the entertainment , i do not mean the staff by this as they were brilliant with the kids and really tried to give them a great time i just thought it was very limited examples being :

only 10 kids allowed into the kids club there must of been 60 kids at least staying in the hotel.

The games at the pool were always the same again i think this is more down to resources then the staff doing the games.

The night time entertainment in the the bar was always over to fast , bird show , reptile show both ended in half hour , The kids disco was on to early at 6pm and was only on for 30 mins i feel as its a family hotel kids disco should be on around 8.30 / 9 and on for an hour , if they done this they might keep people in the hotel bar

They do have a shop on site which is perfect for grabbing something you need but i would not do a shop in here for a couple of days worth of food as the prices were soooo high , Go to the lidl or one of the supermarkets in alvor or pdr. But again the shop is perfect for anything you forgot to get in supermarket.

Price in bar (g&T €8.50 in alvor €5) and shop as with most hotels are over priced and drinks / food is cheaper out side the hotel , but look most hotels are like this.

other then above small issues i found the hotel to be brilliant and i would 100% return and would recommend this hotel to family and friends

take a trip up to the 4th floor and take in the views really really nice.

Room Tip: if you have kids ask for ground floor pool view apartment we had number 14 and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for your detailed review.
As for just accepting 10 children in the kids club, we prefer to accept less but be responsible, unlike others who accept 30 or 40 children at a time with only 2 entertainers.
In everything else, we try to improve day by day, in the sense of being able to prove you next time that we are able to do better.
Hope to see you again. Best regards.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

2 bed apartments are huge!! Wifi free in the lobby and small charge in the room!! Food in restaurant was poor but ate out everyday after realising this!! Would 100% recommend this hotel to stay in. We went into Alvor every night and it's a beautiful little place but do allow 7/8 euro each way in the taxi if your on a budget!! Would definitely return

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Jamie,
Thank you very much for your kind words. About the food, we think that we already increased our quality, we hope when you return we can prove it to you.
See you next year. Please take care.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We just returned from a ten day family holiday with our three children, aged 8, 6 and 2. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in a very quiet area approx 2km from Praia da Rocha and 3km from Alvor. They are within walking distance but if travelling with small children, be prepared to budget approx 20 euros per day for taxi fares if you want to experience a visit to either of these towns. The beach is beautiful and approx a ten minute walk away. Our 2 bedded room was very spacious with two bathrooms and a very large balcony. Air con was located in the living area and in both bedrooms. All kitchen appliances and cable TV were provided. The room was cleaned regularly with fresh towels/linen provided. WiFi was available free of charge in the lobby area but comes with a fee in appartments. The pool area is spacious but with limited availability of sun loungers, a lot of which were in need of repair. The pool has been recently renovated to a reasonaby high standard, but the evidence of the recent refurbishment works is still apparent i.e. small pebble sized stones scattered around the pool area - sometimes an unpleasant surprise for children's bare feet! The recently installed children's jungle gym (pirate ship) was very attractive to smaller kids but was to be avoided for most of the day as the metal slide would become extremly hot, as did the soft ground tiles surrounding it! A lot of kids cleverly took to collecting water from the pool in their buckets and poured it on the slide to cool it down! The kids club was very limited and appeared to have limited resources. It seemed to become more organisrd as our days went on, with Christina providing most of the entertainment. It always involved either pool activities, or entertainment in the hotel bar at night and for very short periods of time. The poolside snack bar was quite good. There was no access to a personal computer (desktop) which we required as our android phones could not reserve our seats for our return flight home. We were informed at reception that the nearest Internet Cafe was in Portimao approx 10km away! Reception staff kindly offered to do this for us when we explained the situation. Nightly entertainment in the hotel bar was provided with the bar closing at 11pm. Overall, the hotel staff were very pleasant and very helpful, our room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. It was very quiet at night allowing for a restful night. We enjoyed our stay in Estrela do Vau, and would recommend it to people who want a quiet holiday that is family friendly.

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank Anna Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your comment. We promised to improve, especially in the aspects that less pleased you. We hope you come back again to check our developments. See you soon!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portimao
0.7 km away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
323 reviews
0.6 km away
Vau Hotel
Vau Hotel
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
112 reviews
1.2 km away
Apartamentos Turisitcos Presidente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Colina da Lapa Resort
2.2 km away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#22 of 24 in Alvor
476 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel

Address: Praia do Vau | Sítio das Delgadas, Portimao 8500-820, Portugal (Formerly Apartamentos Estrela do Vau)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Portimao
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portimao
Price Range: $52 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrela Do Vau Portimão
Turim Estrela Do Vau Hotel Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing