We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
100
198
106
36
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
198
106
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club pool area self catering both bedrooms mini mart short cut baby pool bed apartment family holiday reception staff quiet location english speaking channels cleaned every day these apartments min walk hire car stayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

2 bed apartments are huge!! Wifi free in the lobby and small charge in the room!! Food in restaurant was poor but ate out everyday after realising this!! Would 100% recommend this hotel to stay in. We went into Alvor every night and it's a beautiful little place but do allow 7/8 euro each way in the taxi if your on a budget!! Would definitely return

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Dear Jamie,
Thank you very much for your kind words. About the food, we think that we already increased our quality, we hope when you return we can prove it to you.
See you next year. Please take care.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

We just returned from a ten day family holiday with our three children, aged 8, 6 and 2. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is located in a very quiet area approx 2km from Praia da Rocha and 3km from Alvor. They are within walking distance but if travelling with small children, be prepared to budget approx 20 euros per day for taxi fares if you want to experience a visit to either of these towns. The beach is beautiful and approx a ten minute walk away. Our 2 bedded room was very spacious with two bathrooms and a very large balcony. Air con was located in the living area and in both bedrooms. All kitchen appliances and cable TV were provided. The room was cleaned regularly with fresh towels/linen provided. WiFi was available free of charge in the lobby area but comes with a fee in appartments. The pool area is spacious but with limited availability of sun loungers, a lot of which were in need of repair. The pool has been recently renovated to a reasonaby high standard, but the evidence of the recent refurbishment works is still apparent i.e. small pebble sized stones scattered around the pool area - sometimes an unpleasant surprise for children's bare feet! The recently installed children's jungle gym (pirate ship) was very attractive to smaller kids but was to be avoided for most of the day as the metal slide would become extremly hot, as did the soft ground tiles surrounding it! A lot of kids cleverly took to collecting water from the pool in their buckets and poured it on the slide to cool it down! The kids club was very limited and appeared to have limited resources. It seemed to become more organisrd as our days went on, with Christina providing most of the entertainment. It always involved either pool activities, or entertainment in the hotel bar at night and for very short periods of time. The poolside snack bar was quite good. There was no access to a personal computer (desktop) which we required as our android phones could not reserve our seats for our return flight home. We were informed at reception that the nearest Internet Cafe was in Portimao approx 10km away! Reception staff kindly offered to do this for us when we explained the situation. Nightly entertainment in the hotel bar was provided with the bar closing at 11pm. Overall, the hotel staff were very pleasant and very helpful, our room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. It was very quiet at night allowing for a restful night. We enjoyed our stay in Estrela do Vau, and would recommend it to people who want a quiet holiday that is family friendly.

Stayed: July 2017
4  Thank Anna Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for your comment. We promised to improve, especially in the aspects that less pleased you. We hope you come back again to check our developments. See you soon!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We booked a week-long stay through SunTours and would like to commend both the travel agency and especially the hotel! We had such a nice holiday that we are actually mobning to Portugal in a fem years. Thank you so much for good service, nice breakfast buffet and an overall great experience!
Special cadeau to Linda in the reception - she's an absolute wonderful lady.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the backside of the hotel if you can. Great view, no noise from poolarea.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Michella,
Thank you so much for your kind and nice words.
It is when we read comments like yours that we feel a greater responsibility to improve more and more. We hope to see you again.

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed last summer, very good spot, safe , clean, well maintained. Between Alvor and Praia da Rocha.

We has a 1st floor apt overhead the bar area, wifi worked on balcony from the bar.

Suitable for families, pleasant staff.

Going back again in 2 weeks.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Lilwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words.
We are waiting for you with open arms, in the expectation that this year you will like to be with us again.
See you...

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Clean, lovely staff, nice and quiet.. a bit off the beaten track but suited us perfectly with a three year old. 10 mins into Port mao shopping centre in a taxi. Large Primark store and also supermarket in there. Around ten minutes walking downhill to the Praia do vau beach. All uphill coming back. Advisable to bring a stroller if you've little ones. Nice kiddies pool, a lot of other young Irish families while we were there, everyone very friendly. We went self catering, also recommend. We ate in the restaurant one evening, its buffet style, selection did not appeal to me personally and cost around 50 which I thought wasn't very good value, however the little snack bar is grand if you're stuck. Would recommend all beef restaurant at Praia do vau, not far away and food was superb. Safe cost ten euro deposit and twenty euro to rent for the week. Depending on your room you can get wifi for the week at an extra cost. Our room was outside the area possible for this, free wifi in reception area. TV In apartment, but not many English speaking channels. In apartment is towels, microwave, kettle, hob and utensils. Over all, a really pleasant experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Fairy8134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMVAlves, Gerente geral at Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Michelle,
We appreciate your feedback and promise to improve on the aspects you disliked.
If you give us another chance and come back next year, you can prove that we will be better. See you soon!

Jose Alves - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews