We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Tres Palmeiras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portimao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Tres Palmeiras
Ranked #1 of 21 Portimao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

You cannot ask for a better view. Be sure to pack some hiking shoes and spend a day exploring the nearby cliffs. The more you stay off the beaten path here, the better the scenery is. Later in the year will reduce the size of the crowds, we went in early October. The staff was wonderful, and you cannot beat drinking champagne and gazing at the shoreline.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
149
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Casa Tres Palmieras was one of our stops on our recent holiday in Portugal. On the top of a cliff offering wonderful views, the “Casa” was fabulous, the epitome of relaxation and a great place to get away from it all. Dolly is a very gracious host and nothing is too much trouble for her. 4 of the 5 bedrooms open out to the pool and have their own terrace with loungers and umbrella, together with towels for the beach and pool. Breakfast is served at your own table poolside, overlooking the ocean and beach…….. what more can I say!

For those that want to venture from the idyllic setting, a short walk takes you down to a fabulous (clean) beach with wonderful cliffs and rock formations. There are stunning walks along the cliffs to right of the “Casa” and to the left takes you to more beaches. For dinner, a 10 minute walk along the beach takes you to 3 restaurants which are right on the beach. They all offer good food at reasonable prices and the fish I had at Restaurant Lino was some of the best (and freshest) I have ever tasted. The walk back after dinner can be tricky because of the tides, so the thoughtful Dolly provides you with a torch so you can take the “high road” back to the “Casa”

All in all a very pleasant stay at an outstanding property, managed by a wonderful lady!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkcaldy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Yes, you can believe the photographs! And the accommodation and service too.
We booked CTP for the first half of our trip and our need for a total wind-down was completely met, in fact we found it so relaxing that we stayed around the pool for most of each day. The beach below is very accessible and perfect for a swim or pottering around in rockpools. Nearby it's worth taking a short taxi ride into Alvor with an excellent selection of bars and restaurants.
Just the place for escaping and recharging.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a wonderful spot. My husband and I have travelled to many luxury homes and destinations and this truly is quite a find. The location is spectacular. We drove down from Lisbon (2 hour drive) and after a few days of touring the city, this was a refreshing, relaxing find. It's the small details that make it extra special. Crisp linens, clean rooms, beautiful views, welcoming wine and fruit, brochures and information to make your stay comfortable.
I found the pricing VERY fair for the surroundings. True, breakfast is continental with the option to purchase more, but the pricing for options is very fair. No more than 5 -10 euros for a hearty breakfast per person. The owner is a wonderful hostess who speaks 7 languages and is a perfectionist at heart. You will not be disappointed if you stay at Casa Tres Palmeiras.
I feel honoured that we had the chance to visit her beautiful home. Not many spots like this in the world. Thank goodness, people like her open up their homes to allow visitors in to stay.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneB103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Chalfont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I arrived at this wonderful hotel both suffering from over-work meltdown; we wanted sun, sea and calm. We got them all and more! This is the kind of hotel you want to recommend to everyone you meet and then fear that you won't get a room next time you want to go; and there is little doubt that you will want to return

We had the very large Garden (non-sea view) room and could not have been happier. It is quiet, pretty, shaded (from the 80o plus temeratures we experienced early Sept) and has a large modern bathroom. If you want a small, quiet and perfectly run hotel then you could do no better. You are the shortest of walks to the beach and a stones throw from great restaurants

We had decided not to rent a car and were met at the airport by Dolly's very efficient, prefered taxi company. The same company were happy to pick us up evey evening, run us to restaurants and then home again when we were ready. Our only decisions were where and what to eat; though there is plenty of help on that front

Unfortunately were are back home again, though much revived, and can't wait for our next visit. thank you so much Dolly for all your care and attention

Room Tip: Garden room is private, large and cooler on the hottest of days
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portimao hotels
1.5 km away
Pestana Alvor Praia
2.3 km away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Pestana Alvor South Beach
2.1 km away
Pestana Dom Joao II
0.4 km away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tres Palmeiras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tres Palmeiras

Property: Casa Tres Palmeiras
Address: Praia do Vau, Portimao 8501-909, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Portimao
Price range (per night): $229 - $274
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on the Algarve cliffs, "Casa Tres Palmeiras" oversees a beautiful rock- lined bay and a sandy beach that invites for a romantic stroll. It is ideal for anyone looking for an unspoiled and secluded location, but nevertheless close to a lively seaside resort. The former private villa offers five spacious guest rooms, and provides a wealth of privacy, space and comfort. The exclusive atmosphere lends itself to celebrate special occasions like honeymoons and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Tres Palmeiras Hotel
Casa Tres Palmeiras Portimao, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing