We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagos and Vilas DDinis”
Review of Villas D. Dinis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villas D. Dinis
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The traditional DDinis Villa is set around a charming pool palm tree garden. It has the advantage of being very close to Praia Dona Ana and also the the old town of Lagos.

The staff was very attentive from the begining until the end of our stay there. We have visited Lagos in high season(July-August), therefore the free parking place prooved to be a great asset.

Lagos has many highlights: from the beautiful and tiny beaches to the old town of Lagos.

Since the trip to the Grottos is a must to when visiting Lagos we have requested the hotel staff to arrange for us this trip as soon as possible. The lady at the reception was very kind and she has arranged this in less than 15 minutes.The trip to the Grottos itself was really a dream and the way the soft rocks are modeled and rising from watter can easily compete with the greatest world architects.The feeling is hard to explain or capture in words or photos since the lights reflecting in watter, the rocks, the smell offer an image beyond the possibility a camera can capture.

When visiting the Grottos we have also had the chance to see almost all the tiny and beautiful beaches of Lagos:Meia Praia, Praia Solaria, Praia da Batata, Praia dos Estudantes, Praia da Dona Ana, Praia do Canavial, Praia de Camilo but since our stay was rather short we have spend afterwards some time only at Praia da Dona Ana.

Lagos can also offer historical sites like: the Old Town, the oldest slave market in Europe,the Fort of Ponta da Badeira where the origins of the sailing voyages of discovery can be seen in a small museum or the St Athony's church ornated with gold leaf, wood carvings and lovely trompe l'oeul ceilings.

Besides all this a trip to Lagos will never be complete without a walk on the narrow streets with beatiful coloured tiled houses .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zamfir_m_andrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We spent a week in Vilas Dinis with our two children ( 14 and 10 ) and we just loved it! Our economy appartment had everything we needed and looked really nice. ( ofcourse it was very clean and everything too) The complex was very quiet and when we were there our children were often the only ones at the pool. There are two pools. (They were big enough for our kids) and lots of green.

The best things however about the Vilas were the really friendly stuff and the location. Everything is withing a walking distance. The closest Beach down the street ( 5-10 minutes walk) , Donna Anna Beach I think was called, was amazing, just like on postcards. This beach was so close, we used to walk back to our room to get something or use the bathroom and go back to the beach. We just couldn´t believe there was such a beutiful beach so close by.

Up the street ( 10 minutes walk) there is the Camillo beach. Also beautiful but a bit even smaller thatn Donna Anna beach. There is a beach restaurant looking down the ocean, which our hotel stuff recommended---very good food and amazing location!

To the town we walked about 10 to 15 minutes, which was really o.k. On the way to town, there is also Supermarket . About 100m down the street there is also a small shop. We used to buy water and ice creams there. The Vilas Dinis is on the hill. So families with small children might need strollers.

For us it was absolutely not neccesarry to have a car.

We would definately go back to Lagos and to Vilas Dinis, but probably not during the high season. The beaches I have mentioned are rather small. During our visit in October it was just perfet, There were never too many people there.

We had very warm October but the water was, both in the pool and ocean, rather cold. My kids still went into the water. But for smaller children it might have been too cold.

I went to the farmer´s market on a Saturday morning close to the central bus station. If you want to cook in your appartment you should certainly visit the market. It was just fun to see all the local products. Everything ( compared to Germany where I live ) was ofcourse extremely cheap. Besides vegetables and fruits we also bought lots of olives.....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Futtsu1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was marvelous. As a couple we had the studio apartment, which was the perfect (roomy) size for us. The room was well maintained and very modern and comfy. The pool and garden area were the perfect retreat from the busy beach. We spent most afternoons there lounging. The villas are located within a short walking distance from the beaches and about 10 mins from Town. A great store and pub are right beside. Highly, highly recommend this place!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mswan058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We chose Vilas Dinis on the basis of Internet booking reviews, most of them stating how lovely the gardens were and how friendly the staff. And indeed in this respect we were not disappointed. The welcome was great and staff was very nice. The gardens are lovely and we enjoyed the general atmosphere of the place. However, when it comes to the apartment the overall impression was a mixed one. The room was rather good while the bathroom and the kitchenette were very old and poorly equipped. There is no washing machine, no dishwasher and no ice compartment in the fridge. This is inconvenient if you stay with kids in summer more than a few days. The bathroom had a broken wc tablet, dim lights and old, stained sanitary appliances.
It is a pity because with some targeted investment this place could become really charming and worth its current 145 euros a night.

Room Tip: Some apartments are right on the little swimming pool, others have terraces. Ask for location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beatrishelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The Staff is great, location perfect as very close to all the best beaches in Lagos and just 10min from the Historic centre!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lagos hotels
0.4 km away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#1 of 53 in Lagos
440 reviews
2.7 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#9 of 53 in Lagos
1,466 reviews
0.3 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.8 km away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 53 in Lagos
3,295 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas D. Dinis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas D. Dinis

Address: Estrada Ponta da Piedade, Lote 25 | Dona Ana Beach, Lagos 8600-544, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Lagos
Price Range: $101 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas D. Dinis 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Villas D. Dinis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilas d. Dinis Hotel Lagos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing