We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
112
7
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
7
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf buggy facing the ocean hotel golf an amazing hotel small hotel playing golf golf holiday boutique hotel lovely pool rooms are large peace and quiet fantastic stay minute drive stayed for nights comfortable beds meia praia swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Lovely modern comfortable clean hotel, peaceful location with great views out over the golf course and sea, from bedrooms, dining room and terrace.
Service good during the daytime, all willing helpful and kind, nothing too much trouble. Shuttle if needed up to the club house,
Breakfast was lovely lots of choice, and will provide alternatives if you ask. Again good service.

Unfortunately the dinner was very very poor, we ate in the hotel for 3 nights and in Lagos twice (Lagos is a 10 min taxi ride). First night ate from the menu, I thought the tuna had been frozen, as did others, we felt several of the options were not fresh. Second night we opted for a portuguese special, completely over cooked my guess was had been sitting in the warmer for a significant length of time - as had been the starter. Third night they asked if we wanted a special, we specifically said no as we preferred the menu options. At the point the menus were brought out, they announced they had cooked us another portuguese special! This put us a very awkward position as we didn't want to cause a fuss (in retrospect we should have done) we ate the chicken dish which again was grim, overcooked and in my view the chicken had been frozen. We felt they had bulldozed us into a very uncomfortable position and we couldn't understand why they would do this. Service was brusque.

We were a group of 8, playing golf, course are fabulous, all 3 nines were well kept, greens in great condition and just the most amazing views.

I can absolutely recommend this hotel on the basis of B&B and the golf. I have already communicated all the above to the manager so I really do hope they sort out the kitchen as this is a hotel which definitely deserves to succeed.

Room tip: I think all rooms look out to sea
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank The_Cycling_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccaoGeral, Diretor-Geral at Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity, you have given us to welcome you in the Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel during your last stay in Lagos but also for your feedback about our services.

It was with great pleasure that we received your comments about your experience at our hotel and the reception received by our teams.
We are sorry that some of the food was not up to your standard, however I can completely ensure you that everything was cooked fresh, except the cod, that you had the first day, it was not tuna, and cod in Portugal is traditionally slated and dried, and then soaked and cooked, therefore it cannot taste fresh.

We would like to once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is extremely important to us.

Hopefully we will see you soon in your house by the sea.


Warmest regards,
Pedro Coelho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We had a great time in this small hotel . The setting of the hotel, the beautiful and comfort of the hotel rooms and the stunning views. We saw pictures of the place and read reviews before but practically it is much more : the service , the friendly team, the wish to make you feel good. You feel that you are welcomed from the first moment of checking in till checking out. We really had hard time to leave the place.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AFrankel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccaoGeral, Pedro Coelho at Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference in our Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel and for choosing us while spending your holidays in Lagos.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and that it was so hard for you to leave us. Knowing you have felt so comfortable and welcome while staying with is amazing.
We are absolutely looking forward to welcome you back in your house by the sea.

With my kindest regards,

Pedro Coelho
Hotel Manager
Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Possibly one of the best hotels in the whole Algarve!! If you are a golfer surely the best with a magnificent 27-hole golf course at your doorstep. Great breakfast overlooking the ocean and simple but yet top quality oversized rooms. Top! Top! Top!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank fchampalimaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccaoGeral, Pedro Coelho at Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear guest,

What a pleasure to read such nice comments.

We are very glad to see that you found our golf course as amazing as we do.
We look forward to have you once again in your house by the sea on your next visit to Lagos.

Warm regards,
Pedro Coelho
Hotel Director
Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel with my wife for four nights but it was not enough. What a beautiful hotel and setting, very quiet and tranquil. after golf we sat on the balcony overlooking the golf course with a glass of wine with what must be the best views in Portugal. If you want a beautiful setting and peace and quiet then this must be the best golf hotel in Portugal.
All the staff ultra friendly and helpful made this the best golf holiday we have had. We will be back in 2018 for sure
Roger& Carole

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank roger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccaoGeral, Pedro Coelho at Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your preference in our Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel and for choosing us while spending your holidays in Lagos.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us and that you will be back.
We are absolutely looking forward to welcome you back in our house by the sea.

With my kindest regards,

Pedro Coelho
Hotel Manager
Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Booked Onyria after seeing a couple of photos, nothing prepared me for what we got - great comfy bedroom with the most stunning view ever. The service was five stars, and the varied selection at breakfast was one of the best ever.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccaoGeral, Pedro Coelho at Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you in our Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel.

We truly appreciate your very nice comments to your stay with us and are very pleased to know that our rooms, service, breakfast and views exceeded your expectations.

We hope to meet you once again in our house by the sea.

With my kindest regards,

Pedro Coelho
Hotel Manager
Onyria Palmares Beach House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews