We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok price and close to train/bus station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residencial Afonso III
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here to be close to the Faro airport for an early flight out. It was not a terrible stay, but I also wasn't overly impressed. Clean sheets, fresh towels, hassle free check-in and proximity to the bus/train station were what mattered and this hotel had all of those things. I just wasn't "wowed" and compared to so many other adorable places in Portugal, this place only gets an average rating from me.

Good points:
-very close to the train/bus station
-friendly staff upon check in/out
-breakfast included
-cable TV
-modern bathroom

Annoyance:
-tiny, tiny "double" room for 45 euros a night!
-wifi did not work in our room
-breakfast was not too spectacular
-across the street from an old, derelict building and neighborhood felt a tad sketchy (although we were quite safe, it just has that "feel" to it from the old, abandoned buildings near by)
-gross smell in the hallway (room was ok)
-quite loud, could hear people talking in normal voices in the hallway and coming from check in.
-beds were alright but definitely a bit on the uncomfortable side. Fine for a night.

For a one night stop over, it was fine and I had no major complaints. However, I wouldn't use this as my primary hotel if I were to stay longer in Faro.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiska05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Residencial Afonso III
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

Stayed here overnight on our way to Albufeira to break up the weekend. We payed around £20 for the night including breakfast and had a clean, comfortable room in a good location - approx 5-10 mins walk from the shops, restaurants etc. Wasnt a great deal to do in the evening but found a great little ice cream bar near the harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jonesyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

the hotel was clean, staff pleasant and helpful, but the area in which the hotel is located is a bit worrying, particularly when you have to park on the street, which may not be outside of the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank mehall-leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I went to see Faro bike rally and this as the only place that had a room to get one night sleep. The rooms are spacious, beds are comfy and clean. The location of this place is great and it's very safe place especially for solo travellers. I have to say you can hear some street noise (if you stay in one of the rooms from the street side) - but its not bad and i wasnt bothered by it. Staff was really nice and friendly! Very good price!

Room Tip: Not street side
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PMAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for a 4 day break in April, was a very good value, as on a budget and we were very happy with the hotel, the room, breakfast but when you read what the hotel has to offer they get it wrong, it does not have wi wi, or for sure does not serve fresh fruit juice for breakfast but for what we paid we had a very clean room, good breakfast and within walking distance of the rest of Faro

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
3  Thank Inverness820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Faro hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Alnacir
Hotel Alnacir
#12 of 28 in Faro
171 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
1.7 km away
Hotel Ibis Faro
Hotel Ibis Faro
#4 of 28 in Faro
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Faro
Hotel Faro
#2 of 28 in Faro
973 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#3 of 28 in Faro
1,602 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sol Algarve
Hotel Sol Algarve
#10 of 28 in Faro
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Afonso III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Afonso III

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 64, Faro 8000-394, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Faro
Price Range: $52 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Afonso III 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Afonso III is situated on the banks of the Ria Formosa, near the city center, this unit, under family management, it is allowed it ideal for those looking for both relaxation and activity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residencial Afonso III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Afonso Iii Hotel Faro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing