We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,899)
Filter reviews
1,899 results
Traveller rating
630
814
310
81
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
814
310
81
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool marina view top floor old town the bus health club lovely hotel reception staff flight path short break recommend hotel buffet breakfast double bed hot and cold food lovely view explore faro mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,899 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for three nights, in room 203 overlooking the marina. The room was clean, tidy and with all the facilities you would expect, a small shower room/toilet, very small TV - and a brilliant balcony. Air conditioning worked really well given the extreme heat, and sound proofing was excellent too.

Breakfast is fairly standard, but enjoyable. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant, which I have reviewed separately.

We used the rooftop pool daily. It is a good size for swimming and there’s lots of seating- although it can get very busy. The atmosphere is relaxed, but not relaxing - because of the loud “club” music from the bar. Indeed it converts to an open air club at night, and is open to the general public.

A particular thanks to the wonderful, friendly and efficient reception staff.

I would recommend this hotel to all: the location is perfect for a short break in Faro.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JKB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Hotel Eva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear SophieBee

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments and interest in sharing your experience.

The opinions of our guests are of great importance to us as part of our recognition program and service quality improvement process.

Every comment and evaluation is shared with our team members. They deserve the success of a knowing they have contributed to their guest’s experience and satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your contribution and we hope to welcome you back soon in Hotel EVA.

Best regards

Luis Miguel Catarino
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We were in transit so this hotel fit the bill. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and on balance the place ticked most of the right boxes. In house restaurants and bar are really very good and the views from just about everywhere are fabulous.

My only gripe is reflective of a trend I see in many hotels these days. No ironing facilities - darned annoying after a long trip and you just want to get the wrinkles out of your shirt. The laundry services offered are both too expensive and too slow. Otherwise, great place to stay.

Room Tip: take a travel iron
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercianknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Hotel Eva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Mercianknight

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments and interest in sharing your experience.

The opinions of our guests are of great importance to us as part of our recognition program and service quality improvement process.

Every comment and evaluation is shared with our team members. They deserve the success of a knowing they have contributed to their guest’s experience and satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your contribution and we hope to welcome you back soon in Hotel EVA.

Best regards

Luis Miguel Catarino
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Lol at the people who start off reviews with the phrase "hidden gem". This isn't the case - Eva is possibly the most prominent building on the Faro marina. Views and atmosphere are excellent, I think it's worth the extra cost of the Marina view rooms.

The rooms are very good for the cost, lobby and communal areas as well as facilities are fine - although space at the rooftop pool was rather limited, with the usual absentee sunlounger tenants. I would add that in common with Faro generally, the water temperature even at the height of Summer is lower than one might expect.

Breakfast was very good and the hotel catering is generally fine.

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Marina View is worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GaryYam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Hotel Eva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear GaryYam

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments and interest in sharing your experience.

The opinions of our guests are of great importance to us as part of our recognition program and service quality improvement process.

Every comment and evaluation is shared with our team members. They deserve the success of a knowing they have contributed to their guest’s experience and satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your contribution and we hope to welcome you back soon in Hotel EVA.

Best regards

Luis Miguel Catarino
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

hi all....

we booked this trip a while ago and it was a end of summer trip, so looking forward to it.
arrived early evening, TAXI FROM AIRPORT AROUND 12 EURO,...

first impression of the lobby and entrance was, very nice and relaxed.

we checked in, and this was smooth and quick....UNTIL THE GIRL ON THE RECEPTION SAID....PAY NOW...NEVER BEFORE HAVE WE BEEN ASKED TO PAY UPFRONT.
THIS WAS A FIRST.

anyway we paid....

we went out for the evening into the lovely faro town....superb for food and drink.

the day after we had breakfast and although there is a lot of selection, I found the hot section, rather poor, the eggs, fried were good ,but omelettes were bland, bacon....if you can call it bacon was fatty and of a poor quality, and the sausages....my dog would refuse them.

they had pots for tea.. but the actual fact of filling them was a hard task...kettles were there, but the water was not....just for gods sake put a urn there full of boiling water like most Europe has, such a hassle at breakfast.

breakfast overall was good, but it could have been so much better, please say thanks to the piano man......superb.

never had dinner in the restaurant.

roof top pool...……….
we first went up there on the first full day, and first impressions were wow...
trouble is...if you want to sunbathe forget it...…
we went to the far end and got 2 sunbeds....then 2 staff put 2 circus tents up....so large were the canopy's they stopped most from the sun. its a sun deck for gods sake....
I put the canopy down, and a hour later , a woman decided to put the huge canopy up.
it put us in the shade and even though I protested , she was ignorant, and just ignored me. so damn rude
we never used the roof top shade again, and another reason was …..a beer was 5 euro....forget it.
go to the beach bars from the ferry and give the local bars the money, a beer is 1.2 euro...

another note....

pool has NO access for disabled people.

my wife has a issue with her shoulder and is due surgery, she could not access the pool. its 2 feet from the floor level.
the room was on the small side, not the double bed we requested months ago by email...the bathroom was a shower which had no riser rail.....and water could go everywhere...bit poor standard...mould and bad quality workmanship, lead to a bad score.
the bed area was pokey....not much room between beds and furniture..FURNITURE WAS DAMAGED
facilities of a average quality, fridge went warm one evening….and before you say door was open....it was not.
my wife needs insulin and we need a fridge, it was barely good enough....and on check out , we got reminded....HAVE YOU HAD ANYTHING FROM THE FRIDGE. ffs cant fit much in it. 5 euro for a 10 c bottle of water.
all in all...would I stop here again. MAYBE.....

the location....the best
the facilties….must be improved.....listen , your not the best ….improve

thanks for a good stay, but things sour the visit.

Room Tip: marina view....but expect a cost
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ceciliamjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Hotel Eva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear CeciliaMJB

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments and interest in sharing your experience.

The opinions of our guests are of great importance to us as part of our recognition program and service quality improvement process.

Every comment and evaluation is shared with our team members. They deserve the success of a knowing they have contributed to their guest’s experience and satisfaction.

We will pay close attention to your comments and details that did not please you. Hotel EVA is renovating it´s facilities and the pool area will be also renovated. All the issues will be solved as well as the renovation of the remaining rooms.

I will send this review to the Chef so he can check the quality of the products at breakfast.

Thank you once again for your contribution and we hope to welcome you back soon in Hotel EVA.

Best regards

Luis Miguel Catarino
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Eva for one night on our way home. It’s a really lovely hotel, the room was good with a balcony overlooking the harbour, lots of room and a good shower! Breakfast was an amazing buffet with loads of choices. The rooftop pool is great too. There’s no car park at the hotel, and although they’ll give you a ticket for a space nearby, it’s really busy during the day. This hotel is about ten minutes from the airport by car.

Great place to stay, but there doesn’t seem to be much to do in Faro at all (but maybe it’s all about the nightlife, and our kids are not ready for that!!).

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SophieLBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisCatarino, Gerente at Hotel Eva, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear SophieBee

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments and interest in sharing your experience.

The opinions of our guests are of great importance to us as part of our recognition program and service quality improvement process.

Every comment and evaluation is shared with our team members. They deserve the success of a knowing they have contributed to their guest’s experience and satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your contribution and we hope to welcome you back soon in Hotel EVA.

Best regards

Luis Miguel Catarino
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews