We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delight.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa do Farol

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Carvoeiro, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stephen L
1 review
“A delight.”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Myself and my family stayed in Casa do Farol last week and I can thoroughly recommend this five-bedroom villa with private pool.
The five bedrooms suited our family perfectly, particularly as two are downstairs as my father has limited mobility.
The villa is kept very clean and has a charm to it - lots of space as well.
We didn't use the TV but the WiFi is excellent.
The pool is well maintained and just large enough to swim a few gentle lengths, if you want to chill it's a great area to hang around reading and swimming.
We know Carvoeiro and particularly Rocha Brava very well so were happy alternating between eating locally and heading into Carvoeiro, about 3km away. Both boast good eateries with the town obviously having much better choice.
The owners of the villa are very helpful, we had a super time and would happily return.
Good memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Dear Stephen L, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and holidays. Thank you for the review and hope to see you and your family in a near future.
Best Regards
Casa do Farol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

You always worry when booking a villa and you have small children, that there are going to be steep stairs and marble edges everywhere and untold dangers all around but this is certainly not the case here. With a 2,5 and 7 year old we felt very relaxed here from day one. Once you drive in and close the front gate the place is secure and kids are safe to run around. The pool is also gated which is a big plus.
The house has loads of character and feels very relaxing to spend time in. Ok it's not the fanciest but it's lovely and clean and well equipped and so private you can happily sit by the pool all day and not see a soul.
We didn't know much about Carvoeiro but it proved to be a great location. The town itself has a lovely little beach and lively atmosphere with everything you could need. We went to Zoomarine and Slide and Splash and both are only a short drive away.
The only thing the villa lacked for me was a few bits of information about the local area. At least a list of emergency numbers would be reassuring. Otherwise we had no complaints, really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Great Vacation at Casa do Farol”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the third year in a row that we have rented Casa do Farol for a week in April. It was almost like we had only been away for a couple of weeks. The house was just the same as we had left it 12 months ago, just as comfortable, well equipped and just as homely as we remembered it. On this occasion there were eight of us, so we used all of the bedrooms and there was plenty of room for us all. We also had a two year old with us on this occasion and the house proved to be very safe for a small child, with both the pool and the property as a whole being securely fenced and gated. We really enjoy Carvoeiro at this time of year. The many excellent restaurants are all open for business, but there is no problem getting a table. The beaches aren't crowded. We checked out the spectacular beach at Praia da Marinha for the first time and I can quite see why it is considered to be in the top ten beaches in Europe. The extensive walks in either direction from the Alfanzina lighthouse along the cliff tops are very enjoyable and even a simple stroll around the Rocha Brava complex is very pleasant way to pass an hour or so. It is always a pleasure dealing with the owners, Joao and Nuno, who are always very helpful and quick to reply to any queries by email, before during and after our visit. The neighbors are also on hand in the case of any urgent problem. I would definitely recommend this villa. The fact that we keep going back each year is proof of that.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic villa, wonderful holiday ”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at this villa for a week as our friends were getting married nearby. There was 8 adults, 2 toddlers and a baby. We had more than enough room and it met all our needs.
The villa it's self has a homely feel and the kids loved the pool. It was so nice to have a gated pool and not having to worry about any accidents.
Joao (the owner) was very helpful as the pool started to make a funny noise. He responded straight away and we had the pool man around the next day (we had figured it out before he arrived that the water level was low).
Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denisemar...
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday to celebrate significant birthdays!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The villa was everything we expected,a lovely location with good restaurants closeby and within easy reach for everything we needed,
The housekeeper was excellent and unobtrusive,The linen and towels changed regularly.
I had excellent communication with the owners from start to finish.a small problem we had whilst there was sorted immediately.
If I had to be critical the only thing would be the pool area it could do with some TLC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the villa
Liked least: the pool area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing