We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,106)
Filter reviews
4,106 results
Traveller rating
1,739
1,676
493
120
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,739
1,676
493
120
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky bar sea view private beach stunning location excellent hotel the cliff breakfast room fantastic views the air conditioning plenty of sunbeds pool area half board relaxing holiday bars and restaurants sun loungers town balcony
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 4,106 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel because A) our current hotel was a joke, and B) those views.

Location: easy to find and ample free parking. The walk down to the beach is about ten minutes and really not bad. Even the uphill back isn’t bad (although I am quite fit, read with caution).

The pool area and caves were gorgeous .. but completely packed early in the morning. The usual when people put out towels over sun loungers to “book” them.

The hotel is massive though. So big you have to be helped to find a breakfast place. That’s was one definite downside - I prefer smaller hotels and this place was massive.

Did not use the spa. Gym was good enough with treadmills, weights and a Smith machine.

Indoor pool was empty but we did not use.

The rooms though... amazing bed, amazing balcony and great bathroom. The toiletries were lovely and th bathrobes and slippers are laid out for you at night. Nespresso machine in the rooms.

Breakfast was decent. Very VERY busy but good variety. Just felt a bit intimidating competing for food with 200 other people.

We did not have our luggage collected, nor an offer of this at any point. Not that it’s important but just to mention areas the service fell through.

The town is quiet but decent little beach and great food options.

We ate at a tapas place on the hill down towards the beach, near the gin place (can’t remember the name) but it was EXTRAORDINARY!

So lovely hotel just wish it was smaller. Note the reception is at level 5. Our rooms were level 6 - you don’t want do go too low or you will have a room next to the pool noise or with pool traffic coming past.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SouthAfricaLilly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioCustodio, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear SouthAfricaLilly4,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Carvoeiro.
I appreciate your kind comments and description regarding our facilities, service and location.
I regret, that in some points we were not able to meet your expectations, and for that, kindly accept our most sincere apologies.
However I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in the future for another enjoyable stay.
Best regards,
Mário Custódio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

The Tivoli now has a stunning roof top cocktail bar. The views are absolutely stunning. Unfortunately the staff are more interested in themselves than looking after the customer.

Our first visit we enjoyed the views but failed to get a drink. We were seated and presented with cocktail menus, we waited and waited for our order to be taken. Having enjoyed the view we left without s drink.

We returned several nights later for a second attempt. Staff took our order promptly this time, it is great having a stunning view as you have lots of time to appreciate it as we had a very long wait.

Cocktails average served in glasses you would get in a Uk pub. Not impressed for something that could be so good.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 5star199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioCustodio, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear 5star199,
Thank you for your visit and for your sincere feedback regarding your experience.
We regret to read that we could not respond in a timely manner to your order. There is a pre dinner time of big turnout and we are transferring some Team Members from other outlets of the Hotel to support and assist in a smoother service and hope that from now on you can see the improvements.
We hope to have another opportunity to have you back.
Best regards,
Mário Custódio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

As nearly everyone has said, this hotel is in a great location and has fantastic views. Our room was garden view but had an easy view of the ocean too, nice and quiet. Room staff were very good. The pool was lovely and cool and surprisingly bigger than expected. Some of the decking needed fixing as I and some other guests nearly tripped over on loose boards. Pool service was pretty much non existant but going to get our drinks from the pool/garden bar was no problem. It is great to report that there are plenty of sun loungers and still plenty available by 10am, so no having to get up at 5.30am and bag your place, people start arriving in small numbers from about 8.15. Breakfast was superb, they have everything you could want and in abundance, including bottles of the fizzy stuff. We were on bed and breakfast so we eat out every night but reports were that the in house restaurants were very good. The Sky Bar was spectacular and has some great photo oppportunities. The Azur Bar was pleasant enough and the outside area was comfortable for evening relaxing. Small problem with staff in here, at times they were very slow which was frustrating but a full explanation was made to me by the lovely Maria and things improved. The town centre is a good 15 minute walk apart from the first 400 yards, mostly downhill, so remember coming back will be mostly uphill. There is a small supermarket about 400 yards away, along with 8 or so restaurants and a bar. We spent most evenings in this area and can highly recommend Villa Medici, it's a lot bigger inside than it looks and food and staff are brilluant. Ask reception in the hotel to make a reservation. The other restaurant I would suggest is Onze in town, again make a reservation. We took a taxi to and from town about 5 euros each journey, we were more than happy to pay this. All in all a great holiday, beautiful hotel, lovely staff especially the young guy at the pool bar, he eventually got the joke when I ordered 32 Pina Colada's and as mentioned before the very helpful Maria who had some kind of supervisor/manager role. Will go back to this special place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MrNick211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioCustodio, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear MrNick211,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and your kind comments towards our facilities, services and also our Team Members. Your words will be shared and much appreciated. Thank you for your special mention to Maria and our colleague at the pool bar.
Your comments are very important for us, as it allows us to improve the guest experience and kindly be informed that they have been shared within the Team, for improvement measures. We appreciate your sincere feedback.
We look forward to have you back.
Best regards,
Mário Custódio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

The location and setting is unbeatable with breathtaking views but this ambience is spoilt by the noise of kids screaming in the pool. There should be an adults only pool and a separate kids pool. The air conditioning didn't cool the room and the front desk made no effort to accommodate my request for a fan to make the room more comfortable. On Monday nights the only dining option is a buffet - the other hotel restaurants are closed.Finally, the internet was so slow that I could take care of a few urgent business emails. Taking theses items into account the hotel doesn't not deserve a 5-Star rating!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank Stewart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioCustodio, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Stewart P,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We do regret to learn that in some points we were not able to meet your expectations, and for that, kindly accept our most sincere apologies.
Allow us to inform that the hotel is changing the provider of wifi and tv and in the next days we will have an improved service.
Our Team takes your comments into our greatest attention and will dedicate efforts to improve in the quality and consistency of our service. We truly hope that you can consider visiting us again in the future for a flawless experience.
Best regards,
Mário Custódio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Beautiful hotel with the detail all looked after. As we only visited for a short break we didn’t use all of the facilities but service was great and would return. The beds and linen were amazing !!!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank emmabeattie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarioCustodio, General Manager at Tivoli Carvoeiro Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear emmabeattie2018,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Carvoeiro.
We are delighted to read that we were able to fully meet your expectations during your stay.
Hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay and some memorable moments.
Best regards,
Mário Custódio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews