We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Carvoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Superb Villas”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Spent a long weekend at Vale da Lapa Resort in March. The villas are amazing. There was just the two of us and we had this superb villa with large lounge, dining area, fully fitted kitchen with all appliances and downstairs toilet. Upstairs, two bedrooms, master with dressing area and balcony , two ensuites, it was just amazing. However once we took in our surroundings we realised that the complex is a distance out of Carvoeiro. We decided to walk down to the beach but unfortunately the map given to us at reception was not clear and we finally made if after an hour. We had planned to eat in Carvoeiro each night but due to the distance and it was obvious that there were not many restaurants and bars open in March we ate in the complex restaurant. An A La Carte menu was available but there was a table d'hote menu available at 13 euros and this was excellent value. The food was very good, as we were there for four nights it was fine however if staying longer we would have run out of choices. Items to note:
Good idea to hire a car - we did through reception and were impressed with price and service.
Remember to take bathing cap and flip flops as you are not allowed in the spa without them.
Having a drink in the bar at the beach as the sun goes down.
Visiting the beautiful beaches.
Driving to the most western point Cape St Vincent beyond Sagres absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteandWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    264
    80
    16
    8
See reviews for
320
304
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Visited Vale da Lapa with my wife last march and the stay was increadable. Great service, the staff was friendly and fast paced. Got a lot of info on the surrounding area and what to visit in rainy days. Overall a great vacation!!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing South are amazing and offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The holiday suites are second to none - beautifully clean, modern and with everything you need for a holiday including a dish washer, washing machine and tumble dryer. There are also two TVs (one in the bedroom and one in the lounge area) that have Sky. Apparently the accommodation was built to sell but due to the recession they decided to hire them out as holiday rentals. Because of this a restaurant was built as an afterthought. It's not very big and gets rather packed in the mornings. There are 15 villas that have all inclusive tariffs. The rest are self catering or bed and breakfast. There is no real bar area as such, only a few stools by the bar. There was no entertainment and as the complex is a good 25mins walk to Carvoeiro it's a bit in the middle of nowhere. You definitely need a car or you will be bored if the weather is poor. We went all-inclusive so once you've had a drink at lunch you are stuck in the resort. The food is very good and high quality, however, the menu is the same all week and you get fed up by the end of the week as there isn't enough choice. I also felt that the breakfast choice was quite limited. The staff in the restaurant are extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. We had a good time but the weather was poor. I would recommend the resort for self catering but not all inclusive. Also be careful if ordering cocktails - only the cocktail of the day is free. Otherwise you will end up with a bill for 7 euros a go!

Room Tip: Try to get one near the clubhouse and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saradavies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The place to be with your family or friends. Amazing kitchen, big living room, great location

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethanhadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A mixed experience

Vale da Lapa is located in a rural location so a car would be recommended unless you plan to stay onsite!

As others have said this is more of a complex than a hotel. The clubhouse at the gate contains reception, the bar & restaurant while the next building is the Spa with the outdoor pool between.

The smaller accommodation is closer to the clubhouse with the 3 bed villas to the back of the complex so a bit of a walk for breakfast!!

The Villa was exactly as in the photos on the website - minimal with cream tiled floors and a modern full kitchen with marble tops. There was also a small utility room with sink & washing machine & a downstairs loo. On the ground floor there are two bed rooms (double & twin) with en-suite shower room & direct access to the pool. The bedroom upstairs is large & has an ensuite bath room & both a balcony & terrace with outdoor stairs down to the pool area.

There are a few small niggles in relation to the accommodation - the only mirrors are over the sinks and there are very few sockets to charge phones etc. Also there wasn't a full set of delph - short some plates etc. Now I know this is very trivial but in a 5* accommodation this is not what you would expect. The beds a quite hard and I found the pillows lumpy - now I know this is personal preference so others may like this! The houses were cleaned briefly every day and we got fresh towels about every second day but the sheets were not changed during the week. This was not an issue for a stay in April but in summer with higher temps I would expect them changed at least once during the week.

The main disappointment was the food - we ate here on the first night only and spent the rest of the week glad we had only booked B&B!!! The service was adequate - my son never got his meal and the food overall was very disappointing. Breakfast was better though if you wanted tea rather than coffee you had to deal with a machine that served enough water to fill an espresso cup & couldn't cope with two requests for hot water - coffee drinkers got table service!!!

Facilities for young children consist of a slide & swing with climbing rope, a "rocking" (spring) horse & a sit on duck (the kind you put a Euro into for 60 seconds movement!!) There is a game room with a pool table & a couple of arcade games which may entertain older children.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would go back but would not eat there again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carvoeiro
1.2 km away
Vale d'Oliveiras Quinta Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Monte Santo Resort
Monte Santo Resort
#1 of 19 in Carvoeiro
708 reviews
2.9 km away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#5 of 19 in Carvoeiro
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#3 of 19 in Carvoeiro
628 reviews
33.2 km away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
28.3 km away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA

Property: Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Address: Estrada das Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 8400-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carvoeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Carvoeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Carvoeiro
Price range (per night): $139 - $424
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid extensive landscaped gardens and manmade ponds, this 5-star resort offers luxurious villas with free wired internet. It boasts an on-site 9-hole putting green and, outdoor pools and a Spa. All apartments are situated in 2-storey duplex villas that feature modern and stylish decor. Each unit has a large living room and a bedroom with a high ceiling and balcony. There is also a full kitchen. At Vale Da Lapa, guests can enjoy the exclusive clubhouse featuring a design restaurant and bar with outdoor terrace. Guests can sample regional flavours and carefully selected local products. Agua Hotels Vale Da Lapa also boasts a jogging trail, 2 paddle tennis courts, and a multi-use astroturf pitch. Children can have fun at the play area and children's pool. Vale Da Lapa Hotel has a private entrance to the neighbouring tennis club and several golf courses can be found in its vicinity. Caneiros and Carvoeiro beaches are less than 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Da Lapa Resort & Spa Hotel Carvoeiro
Vale Da Lapa Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing