We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
25
69
74
52
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
69
74
52
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel facilities bus stop read the bad reviews villamoura marina full size fridge slamming doors older guests a stones throw ceiling fan daily maid service bed linen fantastic week plenty of hot water nice balcony restaurants and shops min walk hired a car
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the new name Alfamar beach resort which is roughly 10 miles from Albufeira and if using a taxi from the hotel is €17 each way, however you can get a bus into the old town and use a town taxi to get back for €13.45. When I booked it only showed the 2 storey blocks however we was allocated a 4 storey block right at the bottom of the long driveway up to the hotel which was very basic and outdated and smelt foisty, would not book again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed here in a group of 5 friends and honestly it was perfect for us. We had 2 villas between the 5 of us pretty near to each other. The decor was kind of outdated and only one was air conditioned but we didn’t spend a lot of time in the room anyway. Kitchen furnished with everything you need for self catering, bathroom was fine. It was clean and the cleaners visited regularly which was great. We didn’t use the pool but there was always space there. The beach is right outside the hotel, so near it was fantastic. It was nice and quiet and the rocks were good to explore. There’s a little cafe by the beach too which is good for ice creams. Hotel staff were helpful, we booked taxis and a kayak trip through them. There’s a supermarket 5 mins up the road with everything you’ll need and a bus stop outside that took us to the strip with Albufeira Old Town 10 min walk away if you fancy that. There’s a couple of cafes and bars but we went to the strip at night or one night we went to a square of restaurants and bars about 20 min walk away where more hotels are. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, can’t complain for the value for money. Really happy.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
6  Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

This is the worse studio I have ever stayed in The room looks like something from the 1900s the kitchen is terrible and even though staff come in everyday to clean it reminds be of the old saying you can’t make a silk purse out of a sows ear. The smoke alarm is not even full and doesn’t work and the outside is just as bad. The patio door glass is broken and the tv is great if you feel safe using something that is held together with parcel tape. I have attached photos as proof of the damage.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bramble1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Have attached photos to show how awful the studios are. They are gloomy, dismal, with ancient dilapidated furniture,& an unusable "kitchen". The table & dining chairs in the kitchen are a health hazard. Chairs ripped & stained.
Smell of dirty drains from kitchen & bathroom.
The kitchen is open, off the bedroom. No sitting area. 2 single beds, with very thin, rock hard, mattresses. Wardrobe was so awful, didn't even unpack, kept clothes in suitcase.
There is no air conditioning. Not even a fan.
No wifi. Had to go to Alfamar hotel to use theirs.
No lift...had to haul luggage up 3 flights of stairs.
No pool.. Algarve Gardens residents have use of Alfamar hotel pool, away up the far end of the grounds, past the "villas"

Perhaps the villas are better; they look okay from outside, but give the studios a miss !
The area is lovely & quiet, & the beautiful beach is accessed via boardwalk from pool area of Alfamar hotel.
I'm pretty sure if these studios weren't part of the 4 star Alfamar hotel complex, they would be unrated. They wouldn't even get 1 star.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
5  Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

I wish I could leave zero stars for this place. The apartments were tired and completely worn out. The beds were as comfortable as rocks with springs stabbing us all night, every night; not to mention the noise they made when we made the slightest movement. The kitchen didn't have an oven; the two forks we were provided were bent; there were no bags in the bins; we weren't given enough toilet paper even after the maids had been in; one of the chairs on the balcony collapsed as soon as one of us sat on it; there were no lights in the communal lobby area (we were in one of the tower blocks of apartments) and it honestly felt like we were in the same room as everyone else - the walls were so thin! And the cherry on top was the fact that we had absolutely no wif-fi! Honestly, the place was diabolical. Would highly recommend NOT staying here. It is definitely not a 3 star venue. The only good thing was that the area was quiet and not filled with lager louts and the sunsets from our balcony were magnificent. But neither of these things have to do with the actual apartments so do yourself a favour and just avoid this place. Should also mention that the Alfamar Hotel, where you check-in and check-out and pass through to get to the beach, use the bar,etc, is a 4 star venue; from what we experienced whilst passing through and using the bar and the toilets and the wi-fi on our way to the beach it is also not worthy of its stars. There is no way this entire resort is a 4 star, unless of course you like to be greeted by poo in the toilets at reception and caution tape around the fake trees in the lobby. Not to my taste though. Also - cannot check in until 2pm - or in our case 2.20pm because they didn't have our room ready. Staff were lovely and cannot fault them; pity they are stuck working in this dump though.

Room Tip: Don't book this place.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 162travellerreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews