We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant Location, Authentically Portuguese, a...”
other travellers have booked this property
The fantastic sea views from the terrace across the beach and bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The fantastic sea views from the terrace across the beach and bay.
View from bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
The fantastic sea views from the terrace across the beach and bay.
View from bathroom
Bedroom through to lounge area
lounge area
Bathroom
View from terrace across bay
Sunrise on the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Albufeira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
emo-9
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pros and cons....”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Got transfers to and from airport which was great. The house is situated in a great location close to everything but not too close so its quiet at night apart from cats! Close to lovely beach but you need to get there early as its very busy. Lovely indian across the road the best! Found the house very warm as it was about 30 degrees during the day and a fan didn't really do alot. It could also do with a lick of paint and a good deep cleaning it was quite dusty . Linen change during week was just towels could do with bed change also in such heat. The bathroom was very nice loved the tiling a,few small improvements would make all the difference as the price is a little high for what you get.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
To date,we have never responded to client reviews,positive or negative,but feel we should in this case.On the Accommodation Voucher that every client receives it very clearly states that if there is anything that needs attention or that a guest is unhappy about to please contact our agent,Janet asap as she will sort things out promptly.If the maid forgot to leave bed linen we are sorry but it's the first time we have ever known that to happen as she is very reliable.A call to Jan would have resulted in whatever was needed.
As for the comments re the temperature inside the Casa,as it's been one of the hottest summers on record with outside figs of 39/42 being recorded an inside fig of 30 is not that bad and a testament to the way the Casas were built to cope with that.
Due to being directly in front of the sea the breeze usually keeps the Casas pleasantly cool inside and previous guests have remarked on this in the past.
The decor is traditional and an annual repaint is standard pre season every January.
We cannot do much about the nocturnal habits of the local cat population,sorry.
Post booking email volume of questions from this client and these comments suggest that a 5 star modern hotel with full ice age air con would be a better venue if a peak summer visit to the Algarve was planned rather than a traditional old cottage on a self catering basis at £35 a night per person in that peak period.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blonde-v7...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Location, Authentically Portuguese, a complete one-off”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my husband for 4 nights and I'm so glad we picked this amazing property.
Adrian, the owner, is a lovely guy who was very helpful with his advice on the local area. He arranged for a friend to pick us up from the airport (return journey too) for a very reasonable price. The lady who picked us up was very friendly and pointed out the best routes to take when driving around.
The location is perfect. You are literally a few steps from the lift that takes you down onto the most amazing beach, so you can swim then wander back up to your room soaking wet if you want. A 5min stroll takes you into the Old Town which is just lovely for shopping and eating out at night. There's load of night-life - too much for us! and it's really friendly with families still out with little ones well past midnight. We did have a walk (about 30mins from the room) to "The Strip" which unless you have no class at all should be avoided like the plague. It's all English Breakfasts and tacky nightclubs. Not a nice place at all, and why you'd go there when Old Town is so bustling and busy I have no idea.
We rented a scooter from Vespa Rent which is just off the strip, and they were great. We rode from one end of the Algarve to the other in 3 days and it was amazing - stopping at all the little villages and coves you wouldn't otherwise find. Can't stress the fun we had with the scooter, would definitely recommend hiring one - driving is easy and the road system is simple to follow.
The apartment itself is like a little Fishermans cottage. You could possibly squeeze 2 kids in if the sofa is a bed-settee (not sure if it is), but I'd say It's better suited for two, as it's very cosy and romantic, although you could have a cot for a little one if needed.

Bathroom is lovely - really Portuguese, with a view to die for, and a very good powerful shower. Garden is great with sea views, only suggestion I'd make is to spend a little money doing it up as it's a lovely spot but a bit neglected.
The street you're on is wonderful, not touristy at all, you feel like a local for the few days you're there which is lovely.
Listing says free Wi-Fi which is true but you need to know how to get it! The agent didn't seem very clear but we did figure out on the second day that you must need to go for a drink next door (at the very lovely restaurant) and ask for the Wifi password, which you can then continue to use from your room for the rest of your stay!

Overall, can't fault this place, and although we have never yet been to the same place twice, I may break my rule to stay here again...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and the authentic feel of the house
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ed b
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful holiday let!”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I can't recommend this quirky little cottage enough! My girlfriend and I spent a week here, and the only regret is not booking it for another week. The decor is in a very beautiful and traditional Portuguese style, with every utensil, appliance and furniture you could ask for.
Boasting an incredible sea view from the terrace was what made it for me, perfect for a quiet evening meal and a cold beer. It's only a minutes walk to the beach and less than 5 to the old town square full of shops and restaurants. For me everything that surrounds this cosy cot is utterly picturesque, and truly romantic for a holiday.
Also, the property owners/mangers are very kind and helpful. We forgot to pack our cameras memory card, and after panicking thinking we had lost all the holiday photos, they got in touch after finding it and posted it to us here in London!
We will certainly be going back here next time we visit the Algave!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my fiancé stayed at the Casa Cantora for 11 days in the beginning of July 2014 and really enjoyed the place. We took a ride with Liz from Lisboa Airport, which was great - but I recommend taking the flight to Faro Airport if possible - since the road trip from Lisboa was almost three hours (Although, with good company)

The Casa consists of three floors, where you enter the kitchen from the street, the bathroom is upstairs - the bedroom and living room is situated on a floor below with the terrace which has a very nice view of the sea and with sun good parts of the days (untill 17-18.00 in our stay).

The place is cozily furnished with all amenities needed to have a nice stay. i believe the place has much more space than you get sense of while looking at the photos presented, the space is fitting for two persons. The bathroom is nice, with both a bathtub and a shower. On the really hot days the casa got warm, but fortunately the bedroom is equipped with an air drier that takes away surplus damp, and by letting air flow through the casa it was really comfortable.

The casa is close to a couple of restaurants, including a nice indian restaurant (Indian Ocean) which provide good take away food for enjoying on the terrace or in the casa. There is also several mini- and super markets in the area which provide all foods necessary to make food at home and the kitchen is supplied with kettles and frying pans.

The beach is only a couple of minutes walk thanks to the elevator to the beach placed nearby. The city centrum is a short walking trip away. And restaurants where of suprisingly good quality all around Albufeira.

Would recommend to all couples that prefer the relaxed atmosphere of living in an apartment instead of a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and decoration
Liked least: Somewhat damp on hot days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Makes you feel like you are in Portugal”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This little row house is far too well decorated and personal to be a rental property. It fronts onto a narrow street in a typical Portuguese neighborhood and backs onto a bluff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. People stop to photograph the old tiles set in the wall by the blue-painted front door. Small old-fashioned kitchen and dining area, steps up to incredible bathroom, a fantasy of blue and white traditional Portuguese tiles, with views to the sea. I want to say "museum quality" for the many decorative objects and fittings Down narrow stairs to bedroom and on out through tiny sitting room to terrace. Wood beams and cane ceilings. It is also very sexy, one wall of bedroom lined with mirrors. More than a place to stay, I would call this little house a destination in itself.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing