We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good place for a group gathering!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakerthorpe Manor

The stunning Manor building from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea! The games room with pool table and quiz machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea!
The games room with pool table and quiz machine
The gold room has a bath with a view over the garden
The dining room can comfortably seat 24 people
The Well Equipped Kitchen has the Original Servant Bells
The first floor bathroom - contemporary and luxurious style
The garden bedroom on the first floor has views over the garden
The Master bedroom luxurious and spacious
The drawing room is large and opens directly onto the lawn
The hallway and stairway showing the original carved staircase
The Manor is full of original features
The master bedroom en-suite has matching sinks
The master bedroom en-suite has Victorian bath and large shower
The master bedroom in red and gold - luxurious and spacious
The master suite has stunning views of the grounds
The dining room is a great space for a celebration!
The bedrooms are large, light and airy
The games room has oak panelling for a club room feel
The entrance door has the original Victorian door bell and glass
The Manor House from the grounds - large and imposing
The drive down to the Manor from the gates
The Manor and lawn from the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MidlandsR...
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok space but won’t revisit - issues with deposit return”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed as a group of friends with kids aged 1-8 in June.
The house is huge, bedrooms plenty big enough and more than enough space to absorb the noise of crying babies in the night!
There’s ample parking and a great dining space for large parties.
The welcome hamper was very sweet and a nice touch.
Unfortunately though the house is in need of some TLC. We all commented on how much potential it has, and how expensive it must be to maintain (!), but unfortunately it didn’t feel like a great quality let for what we paid for it.
The door handles in the room leading on to the garden fell off and the wood behind is rotten - I’ve just read a similar review from 2014 so that’s been there for a while.
The house is kind of child friendly in that there’s lots of space for them to run around indoors (the garden isn’t enclosed so they can’t be outside without supervision - a small picket fence around the lawn would be a good addition so that there is a semi-secure area). There’s no plastic cups, cutlery, plates - that would be a helpful addition.
The windows are large sash windows if I remember rightly, we were unable to open them upstairs with the children there as there was no way to make them child-safe. Some child safety latches would be helpful. It was warm when we stayed and we couldn’t leave windows open in the kids rooms.
Small things weren’t looked after - not all bedrooms had a lamp, a few of the lamp bulbs had gone and we couldn’t find any replacements.
My friend booked this and is having issues getting our deposit returned (despite no incidents). There’s a lack of communication from the owners who have now had the deposit for three months - from when they received it - for a two night stay.
Marie the housekeeper was welcoming and helpful when we were finding our way there but I understand that she is not the property owner.
We had a great weekend as we always do, and there wasn’t anything that ruined our stay but the lack of comms, non-return of the deposit and tired state of the property feels like a lack of professionalism/experience in holiday letting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Hello, thank you for leaving your review. We have had some issues with the management of this property - the housekeeper was in fact the manager. We have successfully rented this property for many years, without any problem of the deposit return - please do contact me on oakerthorpe@live.co.uk and I will look into this for you immediately. Kind Regards, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay but damages deposit not returned”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
5
people found this review helpful

The place was ok, a bit tired but clean and we really enjoyed the stay. Unfortunately its now over a month since they stay and I am still chasing for our damages deposit back - 4 emails unanswered. We had to place the £500 deposit circa two months before the stay which I challenged at the time but was told it was mandatory and we didn't want to lose the booking. They have now had the money for over three months for a 2 night stay which is completely unacceptable and there is still no sign of it being returned

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Hello, thank you for leaving your review. I am experiencing some issues with the manager of the property and this is leading to unacceptable delays in the deposit return.Please do contact me on oakerthorpe@live.co.uk and I will attend to any outstanding matters of deposit refund immediately. Kind Regards, Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rach M
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refund still not returned.. 8 months later”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in November 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Stay was fine. House was fine. The fact it is 8 months after our stay and our massive deposit has not been returned is frankly awful. We are the cleanest family ever, it wasn't like we broke anything, we even stripped all ben linen and left it down stairs to make it easier for who ever cleans, we washed and wiped up as we would do at home - it was my uncles 50th birthday, so not a crazy weekend therefore obviously nothing was broken and the house was left in a better state than we found it to be honest. There is absolutely NO reason why we shouldn't have had our money back. I am still working on trying to get this money back. I am never one to write a bad review I usually just never go back, but I wanted to share so others do not experience this as well. Avoid.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Hello, I am dumbfounded to read that you have not received your deposit back from October! Please do contact me on oakerthorpe@live.co.uk and I will look into this immediately. Kind Regards, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael_s...
Epworth, Nr Doncaster
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place for a group gathering!”
Reviewed 27 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a lovely weekend as a group of 5 families in October. There's a lot of space and the place was well equipped with everything we needed for our stay. We loved the open fires and servants bells!! The location is great too - lots to see and do within a few miles. The only issue we had was communication with the owner/person in charge of taking bookings. It took a while for them to get back to us whe we contacted them about booking, check-in and deposit refund. However, I would still recommend Oakerthorpe Manor for a family/friends get together.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Hi Michael and family. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niki H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great size for large groups-slow to refund deposit ”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Oakerthorpe 4 weeks ago & had a great weekend. This would have been a 4* review but after multiple messages we’ve still not received our deposit back & have had no contact from the owner or property manager.

I was concerned about some of the poor reviews so contacted the owner who called and talked me through the issues raised. I was reassured and we made the booking. The majority of the concerns raised in previous reviews weren’t an issue for us with the exception of the deposit return - which has been mentioned previously.

In general...

Pros...
- The house is a great size with plenty of indoor space so great out of season
- location; near lots of tourist attractions
- well equipped
- open fire
- lots of batbrooms

Cons...
- post stay communication
- single glazing so bedrooms were very cold
- beds were of variable levels of comfort & one collapsed whilst one of our party was feeding her newborn baby in it
- no outdoor space

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. We take on board all of our guests' comments with a view to improving the quality of your experience. Could you let us know which bed caused the problem so that we can investigate? If you plan to stay with us again then please do get in touch as we offer a discount for our regular guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing