We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place for a family gathering in the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakerthorpe Manor

The stunning Manor building from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea! The games room with pool table and quiz machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea!
The games room with pool table and quiz machine
The gold room has a bath with a view over the garden
The dining room can comfortably seat 24 people
The Well Equipped Kitchen has the Original Servant Bells
The first floor bathroom - contemporary and luxurious style
The garden bedroom on the first floor has views over the garden
The Master bedroom luxurious and spacious
The drawing room is large and opens directly onto the lawn
The hallway and stairway showing the original carved staircase
The Manor is full of original features
The master bedroom en-suite has matching sinks
The master bedroom en-suite has Victorian bath and large shower
The master bedroom in red and gold - luxurious and spacious
The master suite has stunning views of the grounds
The dining room is a great space for a celebration!
The bedrooms are large, light and airy
The games room has oak panelling for a club room feel
The entrance door has the original Victorian door bell and glass
The Manor House from the grounds - large and imposing
The drive down to the Manor from the gates
The Manor and lawn from the grounds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
South Wingfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire_St...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a family gathering in the Peak District.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I was looking for a house to accommodate a large family group coming over from Australia for my wedding and Oakerthorpe turned out to be the ideal choice. Like previous comments have stated, you have the atmosphere and grandeur of an large country manor but it also feels very comfortable and unstuffy.

It's very relaxed there are some top spots to gather together and party.

We found some great walks leaving from the house and we also made good use of the local pub, The Peacock. This has recently been renovated and it made a big difference to have a nice pub within walking distance.

The dining room table is massive and provided a great setting for some memorable dinner parties during the week.

Much better value than hotel rooms for everyone and much more fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and the character of the residence.
Liked least: The drainage in the showers was slow.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Claire,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It is lovely that you managed to get your family together in one place and We love that you really enjoyed your stay.
we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hen Weekend Venue!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Myself and 14 other ladies booked and stayed at Oakerthorpe Manor, South Wingfield over the later May Bank Holiday weekend. The reason for the weekend away was for my sister's Hen party.

This house is an ideal place for accommodating the numbers we had both bedroom and catering wise.

Having read the previous reviews I was a little split on what to really expect (BBQ issues etc) but neither myself or any member of our party had any real reason to complain. The grass in the main garden could have been mown before our arrival and maybe some better garden furniture, but if it hadn't have been such glorious weather we probably wouldn't have noticed.

The house and grounds has such great potential but for the purpose of our weekend, it ticked all the boxes.

Some of the furniture could do with a bit of upkeep, but as a past reviewer said, we didn't feel so guilty about partying.

The grounds, field/forest walk near the property and local pub were lovely too.

The jewel in the crown really for this venue, is the member of staff that really made our weekend, Paul. We had pre booked some catering services, informal on the Friday night and formal on the Saturday evening. The food, service, table dressings, attention to detail really was second to none. Paul is such a credit to this business, they really should sell his skills more on their website. Nothing was too much trouble, and the setting of the table on the Saturday night was wonderful, all with wild flowers etc.

If you are looking for a venue to accommodate a large number of well behaved ladies or gentlemen, then this is the place to book.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property and the catering facilities.
Liked least: The main garden could have been mown and some nice garden furniture.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Abigail,
Thank you so muck for your feedback, it really is important to us.
We have taken your words on board and are looking in to new garden furniture for the summer.
I will pass your review over to Paul, he will be delighted by your kind words.
We are so glad you had a lovely time at the Manor and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It accommodated the no. required
Liked least: There were too many faults which should should have been rectified prior to my arrival . .
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Nov 2012
We seek to provide a first class stay for our thousands of guests staying at the Manor. We very rarely suffer any damage at the property. Unfortunately, Mr Peter Ellis caused significant damage to our beautiful 1840 property by making 2 large holes in the ceiling. Mr Ellis initially demanded compensation from me for his stay, as a smokescreen for the damage caused to the house. I visited the house following a phone call from him on the Saturday morning and resolved his reported issues within 2 hours. I refute all the allegations in his review, other than the leaking ceiling in the games room, which is awaiting repair. I have placed this matter in the hands of our solicitors, who have been in contact with Mr Ellis. Although never a preferred route, we are more than happy to meet Mr Ellis' legal action.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old english feel
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Russell,
Thank you for your feedback it is important to us.
We are glad you had a lovely time at the Manor.
We would love to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jon K
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for large get together”
Reviewed 20 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We went as a group of 18 for a long weekend and had a fantastic time. We were given an extremely warm welcome and owners were more than happy to answer any questions/queries we had. The house is ideally located off the M1 in a lovely rural setting. The property was in excellent order with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedrooms. We went as group reunion with partners and children and loved it from the word go. Plenty of room in the living room area for everyone to relax together and the open fire added to the experience. There is a large dining table which also allows for everybody to socialise together. Plenty of mod-cons; TV, DVD, Stereos, Pool table, WiFi to keep everyone going. Would definitely recommend and we'll all be coming back next year. Many thanks Jon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern amenities and space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Dear Jon,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, your feedback is important to us. We try and keep everything fully equipped to make our guests stay as easy as possible.
We are glad you had a lovely weekend and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Grace
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing