We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house, equipped with everything...”
other travellers have booked this property
The house as seen from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house as seen from the beach
Front of the house The back porch and boot room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The house as seen from the beach
Front of the house
The back porch and boot room
The view from the kitchen/diner
Dolphin and sunset watching from the front terrace
Sunset from the kitchen/diner
Jumping off Sheep Rock
The view from the front door
A calm Tresaith day
The waterfall onto Tresaith beach. Not many beaches boast a waterfall...
Autumn Day in Tresaith
Cartrefle in the centre of the photograph
and we know you will too...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Tresaith, Cardigan, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kathy m
1 review
“Amazing house, equipped with everything, wonderful views, incredible sunsets, dolphins, walking distance to pub & beach.”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

After a weekend break with friends at Cartrefle earlier in the year, I fell in love with the place and immediately booked a week with family and friends for August. It was a huge hit with all.
After driving down in pouring rain, we arrived in Tresaith to sunshine, followed by the most beautiful sunset, a couple of dolphins swimming across the bay and a Tesco delivery which saved us wasting precious holiday time in a supermarket. There was no squabbling over rooms as 5 out of 6 of them enjoy a sea view, so everyone can drift off and wake up to the gentle lapping of the waves on the shore.
The kids barely came out of the water/ off the beach, enjoying the use of the wetsuits, body boards, kayaks, buckets and spades that Jo leaves for guests to use. The outside shower to rinse off the sand and get warm is brilliant. There's also an extra fridge/ freezer in the outhouse and a washing machine that I wanted to take home with me! Far better than mine. The house really does have everything! A rare find, the kitchen in a house for 12 has pans big enough for you to cook for 12, great knives and everything you're likely to need. Jo has thought of everything. When we weren't on the beach, we spent most of our time in the kitchen, round the island, table, or on the window seat, window open chatting to the people outside on the amazing outside table (it has 2 hidden chillers for wine/beer/juice). I look forward to a winter break there to enjoy the living room with the wood burning stove, board games and great CD and DVD collection. Despite a reasonable amount of rain for August, we spent most of our time on the beach this trip, and I would love to head back in cooler weather to enjoy the rest this house has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The window seat with incredible views and the sash window which means you can warm up after a dip and then chat to the people still sitting outside on the big table outside the kitchen.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
So lovely that you had a great week at Cartrefle with your family and friends and looking forward to welcoming you back one day soon. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so glad you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the location. Sorry the weather wasn't kinder for you guys.. not much we can do about that though!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location location location
Liked least: poor phone reception
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
So glad to hear you had a great family holiday at Cartrefle and that you found the house well equipped for your little ones.
We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cafeundku...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, in a great location, run by a great family.”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the moment we enquired about staying at Cartrefle the owners of this superb house did everything that they could to make our holiday as perfect as it could be.

The information that they provided about the general area was perfectly pitched for families, the facilities of the house itself were great for our group (three couples with five kids between us) and the equipment provided in the house meant that we could make the most of the beautiful beach on our doorstep.

This is clearly a desination house; whenever we said we were staying in Tresaith, we were always asked if we were lucky enough to be staying in 'the big house; Cartrefle?', even by people as far afield as Cardigan itself and being right on the beach meant uninterupted views of the sunset as we ate our evening meals and waking up to the sounds of the crashing waves.

Importantly, the housekeepers were available and on hand if needed. This was a great help if there was anything in the house we couldn't find etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that Cartrefle ticked the boxes for you. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty fantastic”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We've just returned from one of the loveliest holidays we've had. The three young children on our trip each professed great sadness at the prospect of going home and the grown ups felt pretty much the same. In the car on the way home, we made a booking for summer 2016.

The house is beautiful and is really well set up for children, and the owners seem to have thought of things that we didn't even know we needed until we arrived, but the real winner is its location. Every night when the children went to sleep, we each politely and surreptitiously angled for a spot in the window seat (or, at least, I did - maybe everyone else was more mature) and had a glass of wine looking out over the sunset. The beach is so close that you can pop over there just for an half-hour spot of sandcastle-building, if the mood should take you, and return for toddler naps/snacks/the requisite hourly rendition of The Gruffalo. We went and returned twice a day and everyone seemed so cheery about this that we needed relatively little other entertainment, which meant that the week was good value as well as relaxing. When our daughter (1) had spent her third afternoon of the week chatting to the snails in the rock pools, my husband signed contentedly and declared that this was what childhood holidays should be. When we left to go on holiday, her newly-discovered linguistic skills extended to words such as "cat" and "ball". Her most frequently-used word is now "wetsuit". There are tractors on the beach to wave to (they pick up the sailing boats when they come in to shore) and a pub situated less than a minute away where you might be able to escape for a grown up dinner if you can persuade the other members of your group to babysit. (Good food, but variable service.)

There isn't a supermarket particularly close by so it may be worth arranging a supermarket delivery before you go. The only other thing which may be worth mentioning is that if you are bringing large numbers of cars then, due to the rather narrow road, you may spend the evening trying to squint and imagine how beautiful the view would be if it were not punctuated by your own car. There is apparently a public car park elsewhere in the village which we could have used if we'd felt strongly but it really wasn't enough of an issue to actually make us get up from the aforementioned window seat and do anything about it...

All in all, we can't wait to go back next year.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I can just picture the fight for the window seat (we did exactly the same thing tonight!). Wetsuit is an essential word in the Tresaith vocabulary... or wetsoup as our 2 yr old prefers to say!
Granny has a three car rule when we come with the extended family so that there is no view blocking! Now you know how little you use your cars maybe the car park is something for next year! Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 387
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing