We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just an outstanding meal”
Review of Watervale Hotel

Watervale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Watervale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$15 - AU$125
Cuisines: Australian
Description: Winner of Corporate Livewire Best Hotel Restaurant IN THE WORLD 2023, RCA Best Restaurant in an Australian Pub or Club 2022, Best Wine List in an Australian Pub 2021, with the 2022 SA Chef of the Year in the kitchen. All day Dining 11am to 9pm, every day of the year. Degustation dining with or option for iconic wine or mocktail pairing. Seasonal restaurant menu featuring fresh local produce from the organic and biodynamic Penobscot Farm in Watervale. A full range of Clare Valley Fine Wines by the glass selected by Sommelier Warrick Duthy including back vintage Wendouree, Grosset and Kilikanoon. Wine Masterclass and Farm Tours offered daily. Cocktail list includes drinks using Penobscot Farm ingredients. Amazing Beer Garden with BBQ. Private rooms.
Restaurant details
Description: Winner of Corporate Livewire Best Hotel Restaurant IN THE WORLD 2023, RCA Best Restaurant in an Australian Pub or Club 2022, Best Wine List in an Australian Pub 2021, with the 2022 SA Chef of the Year in the kitchen. All day Dining 11am to 9pm, every day of the year. Degustation dining with or option for iconic wine or mocktail pairing. Seasonal restaurant menu featuring fresh local produce from the organic and biodynamic Penobscot Farm in Watervale. A full range of Clare Valley Fine Wines by the glass selected by Sommelier Warrick Duthy including back vintage Wendouree, Grosset and Kilikanoon. Wine Masterclass and Farm Tours offered daily. Cocktail list includes drinks using Penobscot Farm ingredients. Amazing Beer Garden with BBQ. Private rooms.
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

We did a package of farm tour, degustation dinner at the hotel, overnight in Penobscot farm cottage then breakfast next morning at the Watervale General store.
The farm tour was very interesting, the co owner and chef conducted the walk through the trees and beds, picking some baby beetroot and chard that she used in our dinner later.
The cottage was charming, had everything you needed

The degustation dinner at the hotel was outstanding. Excellent cooking skills, exquisitely presented knowledgeable service.
Breakky next morning at the Watervale General store.
Wonderful experience planning a return visit.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank pammD8156QK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warrick Duthy, Owner at Watervale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Thanks Pam. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our complete one night indulgence package at Penobscot Farm Cottage. Warrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2024

Had heard good things about Watervale Hotel and certainly did not disappoint! It’s a must do in the Clare Valley!! We were greeted the minute we arrived & staff were amazing from start to finish. The food was exceptional and will definitely be revisiting on our next trip to Clare!! Thank you

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deonie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warrick Duthy, Owner at Watervale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Thankyou Deonie. I am very pleased to read this review. We are indeed blessed with great staff.
Warrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024

I have booked and fully prepaid $1100 for a degustation and accommodation package 8 months in advance. I have been trying to make an alteration to the booking for the last 3 weeks. I received no response to email 15/1, they phoned after I left a voicemail 24/1 and said they would look into it and email to confirm, no email has been received. My follow up voicemail 30/1 & email 2/2 have received no response.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warrick Duthy, Owner at Watervale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Nikki, It was good to talk today to resolve this issue. As we discussed over the phone and email we are devastated by this poor communication and have immediately put new practices in to manage accommodation guests remotely as we do our hospitality guests in house. This includes my taking personal responsibility. Without your intervbention I would not have been aware of these issues. We look forward to seeing you in August. Warrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2024

One of the most delicious meals I have ever eaten. Beautiful food, wonderful venue and friendly service. The degustation dinner was full of vivid flavours and fresh ingredients. The courses were well balanced and memorable. Wow. What a fantastic dinner!

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warrick Duthy, Owner at Watervale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Thankyou so much for your review. The degustation is designed to be a complete meal building in flavour and intensity, and with farm produce taking a hero role in the flavour profile of each dish. Warrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Hard to believe that the renowned Watervale Hotel does not offer a selection of balanced vegetarian dishes. If you are sick and tired of having to settle for either risotto or pasta, do not go to there. I was offered a ‘vegetarian option’ to the main courses which meant, for example, that instead of half a chicken I could have haloumi. Really? I did opt for that in the end and the three slabs of haloumi were well…haloumi, these overwhelming the meagre vegetable accompaniments. With little protein in the main course to satisfy my hunger (it was a late lunch), I selected a slice of pecan pie for dessert which was disappointingly dry and bland. In short, I will not be returning to the Watervale Hotel.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Warrick Duthy, Owner at Watervale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Juno,
I am sorry that you were not happy with our range of vegetarian options. We always have 5 or 6 vegetable dishes on the menu which included a buffalo mozzarella, beetroot cigars, honey roasted beetroot, broccoli salad with pine nuts and pecorino, plus a broad bean risotto and a vegetarian pasta that includes blue cheese. We are also quite happy to respond to requests as we did for you. The haloumi is made fresh in house and was served with organic mung bean salad. The haloumi is creamy and light. We also offer our degustation dining experience as vegetarian.
Warrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Watervale Hotel also viewed

Auburn, South Australia
Sevenhill, South Australia
 
Sevenhill, South Australia
Auburn, South Australia
 

Been to Watervale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.