We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
53
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread fresh eggs clare valley comfortable cottage riesling trail breakfast supplies local produce free range eggs wood fire minute drive bottle of local wine kookaburra cottage the location is perfect wonderful stay coffee machine yogurt general store
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2023

This is a boutique option for a stay in the Clare Valley. Located about a 2-minute drive from Watervale and a 15-minute drive from Clare, you’ll be staying in a with stone cottage on a country property. The grounds are beautiful, and the cottage is comfortable with a kitchenette/lounge/dining room and bathroom! Kerry is a wonderful hostess and stocks the cottage with ample breakfast provisions (fresh fruit, organic muesli, bread, a selection of jams, honey, yoghurt, bacon, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms) and gourmet snacks. We arrived to find a bottle of Riesling in the fridge, cheese, crackers, pate and olives – this was a wonderful touch. We really appreciated the gas BBQ because there is a fabulous butcher in nearby Clare. We stayed in the Kookaburra Cottage. The space didn’t work that well for us because we are on a long road trip with lot of luggage, but this is a lovely option for a weekend treat!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Comerford, Owner at Battunga Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Thank you Suzie, what a delight it was to have stay with us. We hope to see back this way again. Safe travels home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2023 via mobile

We have stayed at quite a few cottages in the Clare Valley area, but our most recent stay at Battunga Cottages has been the stand-out.
The location is perfect - a short walk to the ridge above the cottage and you are right on the Clare Valley Wine & Wilderness Trail. The award-winning Watervale Hotel is 5 minutes away by car. In the other direction is the picturesque road to the Blue Gum Lookout and the walking trails of the Spring Gully Conservation Park, one leading to the Cascades waterfall and panoramic views to the west.
We stayed for two nights in the one-bedroom Kookaburra Cottage (a kookaburra visited us on our last morning), which was very generously supplied with a fruit basket, grazing basket, with dip, olives, cheese etc, and bottle of local wine, as well as WARM homemade bread and all one needs for two hearty breakfasts - fresh eggs, bacon, tomatoes etc.
The wood fire was all ready for us to to light, with plenty of spare logs and was very effective which made our stay even cosier, keeping the cottage warm all night.
Thanks to owners, Kerry & Mark for their kind and generous hospitality.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gfc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Comerford, Owner at Battunga Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2023

Thank you for you lovely detailed review of your recent stay with us. We think it's the perfect location too, such beautiful nature bush around us, as well as the picturesque vineyards of Watervale and Leasingham. And very pleased we were able to ensure a visit from a local Kookaburra (we aim to please)! We do hope to see you again.
Warmest Regards. Kerry and Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2023

We could not have asked for a better country escape! The cottage was immaculate and Kerry's incredibly thoughtful bounty of local goodies meant we wanted for nothing the entire long weekend. Clean, peaceful and relaxing, we met kangaroos on the short sunset walk above the cottage and loved visiting the local wineries and restaurants. We can't wait to go back!

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Comerford, Owner at Battunga Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2023

Many thanks James for taking time to write review. So pleased your enjoyed your weekend in Watervale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2022

We had the most wonderful and peaceful stay at Kerry's cottages! Everything was exceptionally catered for and perfect. The warm home baked bread on arrival, the more than adequate provisions and all the homely touches made for a lovely and comfortable stay. Highly recommend! Will definitely be back.

Room tip: Bring your camera. The property is lovely!
Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Comerford, Owner at Battunga Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2022

Thank you Sue, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2022

I cannot say enough good things about our stay at Battunga cottages.
The cottage and setting was absolutely stunning. A beautiful little patio with seating area with grape vine trellis over looking a lavender hedge and the gorgeous gardens beyond. The bird life and bird song sitting on the patio in the evenings was like our very own concert!
The cottage itself is very beautiful and very well appointed and decorated with a French country theme.
The owner, Kerry met us at check in and handed us a freshly baked loaf of bread!
Then, when we got to the cottage we were stunned by the generosity of all the breakfast items
and extras left for us. Bacon, eggs, yoghurt, granola, juice, milk and so much more!
There was also a bottle of wine and cheese, crackers, pate for our evening sundowner and chocolate next to our bed!
We travel a lot and have stayed in countless Airbnb‘s and b&b’s and this was by far the best!
Thank you Kerry for a wonderful experience!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kerry Comerford, Owner at Battunga Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2022

Thank you for the lovely review. It was great to meet you, and I hope you come this way again. Enjoy your travels.

Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews