We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great find!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abacus House

Cosy sunlit dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area Your stylish home in Ypres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
Cosy sunlit dining room
Spacious lounge area
Your stylish home in Ypres
Spacious patio
Lounging in the sunlit patio
View from the wintergarden
Bathroom 2nd floor
View from single room 2nd floor
Twin room 2nd floor
Master bedroom 1st floor
Bathroom 1st floor
Twin room 1st floor
Reading corner master bedroom
Entry hallway
Wintergarden
Dinner is served !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
linandmik...
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here as a group of 8 adults to commemorate a Liverpool Scottish action which took place in June 1915. ( 100 years ago). Almost daily one of our group would say how lucky we were to find this house. It is so convenient for the centre of Ypres, restaurants, museums, bars and especially the Menin Gate. It was also very convenient for visiting the numerous battlefields, cemeteries and memorials.
Parking is only a minor inconvenience until you get used to the system, we found plenty of free parking within a few minutes walk of the house.
The house is only advertised as sleeping 7 but Johan went out of his way to enable 4 couples to stay here in comfort.
All together we had an excellent week and will hopefully return. Many Thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fabulous house with so much space, each floor with a great bathroom and very comfy beds. Johan even made up a bed in the music room downstairs for my mum. Johan organised a wheelchair for my mum collecting before our arrival so it was there ready for us. The info booklet answered any questions but Johan was at the end of the phone or email if we had a question. We booked the house a year ago as we had a specific date for us to be in Belgium. Throughout the time Johan was prompt in his email reply. Money was completed via bank transfer and Johan let us know when the money had arrived. If you had more than the advertised 7guests I'm sure it could be accommodated! We would certainly go back as the house was 3 minutes from the menin gate and close to town for restaurants and bars. 6 stars minimum!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“bEAUTIFUL HOUSE, superb location and facilities.”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was my friends second visit but my first. All they had told me from their previous visit was true. The house is superb, the facilities were also excellent. We only cooked breakfast but everything we needed utensil wise was there in abundence.The bedrooms are just made for a restful nights sleep and the bathrooms are huge!! After several hip operations I am not the most mobile but even I didn't have a problem with the location being so close to The Menin Gate and the market square.I cannot finish this review without a mention for Johann the owner.I had corresponded with him for some time and he was always prompt and pleasant in his replies.In person he was equally pleasant and took the time to really welcome us to his house.A lovely man.We are hoping to go back later in the year if there is availablility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: there is so much, but the beds are just so comfy I dropped off to sleep right away.
Liked least: Nothing at all to do with the house but it is worth noting that street lights now go out at 11.00pm in Ypres so some may find it difficult to find their way back to the house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan B
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“weil priced, excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Three mates and I stayed here for four nights, whilst we toured the Salient. Very comfortable. It could easily accommodate 3 or 4 couples. Our host collected us from and delivered us back to, the train station and gave us a little impromptu tour of the town. Ask for soap for showers and toilet paper. There are a lot of stairs but that wasn't a problem for us. Very close to all the places you want to visit and restaurants/bars etc. Highly recommended.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monty-and...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very comfortable and well equipped but best of all was its position to the town of Ypres, within very short walking distance of the centre and the Flanders museum which is excellent.
Johan the owner is very helpful and met us on arrival he showed us around and explained everything the house was extremely comfortable with very good showers and lots of hot water the beds are comfortable and large.
It was obvious that the property had been very well cleaned and maintained between rentals probably one of the best we have visited. Thank you Johan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing