We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
25
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
3
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering small private garden uk tv channels home from home town centre great location main gate free parking cloth hall alain guesthouse cemetery lounge rear knowledge accommodation fridge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Stayed for 2 nights with a couple of friends on a battlefield tour. Very central location. Beds very comfortable and the place was spotless. Wee garden area to sit in, and drinks etc in the fridge (pay using an honesty box. A very nice touch) Tv downstairs with UK channels. Alain and his wife were very welcoming.
Bring slippers as shoes are not allowed upstairs (would cause damage and wear on the painted floors)
A fantastic place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We travelled to Ypres to visit the WW1 battlefields in April. The accommodation is easy to find, only 5 minutes walk from the main square and 10 minutes from the Menin Gate. Everything in the accommodation was very clean, the mattresses ARE comfy and the wifi is fast. The owners have collected a small library of reference books about the area and the history. There is a peaceful garden at the rear for summer evenings. There are British TV channels and the kitchen is well equipped. I would recommend the property for groups/families/couples but maybe not small children/babies as the stairs are very steep. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Nichola98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Our family of two adults, two children stayed here in September. Alain was very welcoming even though we were two hours later to arrive then we had hoped. He ran through how everything worked in the accommodation (TV, dishwasher etc) and recommended places to eat. In the house it is requested you don't wear shoes up the stairs to preserve the paint, so slippers are recommended. We had so much room to spread out at such a reasonable price. It is a short walk into town. Free public parking is available a couple of minutes from Le Chat Noir. Ypres itself is a lovely town and people are really friendly. We would recommend a visit to Ypres, and staying at Le Chat Noir.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Travel614593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I don't know where the last person to write a review stayed, but it wasn't where we stayed! Our beds were extremely comfortable and the place was spotlessly clean. The kitchen is a 'galley' type, but the only way you would experience any difficulty in there is if you were drunk . The wifi was free and worked perfectly well ! The stairs are pretty steep, but most buildings in Ypres are built high and narrow in a Medieval style, so that is common in the town. Yes, the owners do ask guests not to wear shoes upstairs because all the floors are painted which they rightly want to keep clean and undamaged. Having mentioned the owners,they were extremely helpful and welcoming. We toured the battlefields and Alain, the owner, is something of an expert and gave us wonderful advice as to where we should visit and how to find it. I would say that as far as guest houses go, this is one of the better I have used and I strongly recommend it as a great place to stay when inYpres. ( I have stayed in many places in the City in the past )

Stayed: May 2016
Thank telf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Very disappointed after reading the reviews. The beds are rock hard not just firm. The wifi is non existent, (unless you hover out a window on the top floor). The towels are very poor quality, very thin. Galley kitchen is tiny, it also has a protruding step which is very annoying, you cant get close to the worktops. The boiler rattles through the night in the bedroom cupboard, you definitely need earplugs in there. You cant wear shoes anywhere in the house, apart from the ground floor. So bring your own slippers or you have to go around in stocking soles, not ideal climbing a very steep and narrow staircase. Not the place to relax in after a day out in the battlefields. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Very top room, to get any wifi. Not the room with the boiler.
Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank smokybandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews