We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Le Chat Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chat Noir
Ranked #31 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Lovely town house on 3 floors. Three bedrooms (2 twins and 1 dble) with lounge (UK TV channels), dining room and kitchen plus a small private garden. It's just 5/10 mins walk to the town centre and there is free parking just around the corner. Alain and Caroline are lovely people and really look after you. There's lots of memorabilia in the house and Alain's personal tour was very good. There's also is good strong WiFi and we particularly liked the stocked fridge and honesty box, a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

Stayed for 2 nights with a couple of friends on a battlefield tour. Very central location. Beds very comfortable and the place was spotless. Wee garden area to sit in, and drinks etc in the fridge (pay using an honesty box. A very nice touch) Tv downstairs with UK channels. Alain and his wife were very welcoming.
Bring slippers as shoes are not allowed upstairs (would cause damage and wear on the painted floors)
A fantastic place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We travelled to Ypres to visit the WW1 battlefields in April. The accommodation is easy to find, only 5 minutes walk from the main square and 10 minutes from the Menin Gate. Everything in the accommodation was very clean, the mattresses ARE comfy and the wifi is fast. The owners have collected a small library of reference books about the area and the history. There is a peaceful garden at the rear for summer evenings. There are British TV channels and the kitchen is well equipped. I would recommend the property for groups/families/couples but maybe not small children/babies as the stairs are very steep. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Nichola98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
95
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Our family of two adults, two children stayed here in September. Alain was very welcoming even though we were two hours later to arrive then we had hoped. He ran through how everything worked in the accommodation (TV, dishwasher etc) and recommended places to eat. In the house it is requested you don't wear shoes up the stairs to preserve the paint, so slippers are recommended. We had so much room to spread out at such a reasonable price. It is a short walk into town. Free public parking is available a couple of minutes from Le Chat Noir. Ypres itself is a lovely town and people are really friendly. We would recommend a visit to Ypres, and staying at Le Chat Noir.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I don't know where the last person to write a review stayed, but it wasn't where we stayed! Our beds were extremely comfortable and the place was spotlessly clean. The kitchen is a 'galley' type, but the only way you would experience any difficulty in there is if you were drunk . The wifi was free and worked perfectly well ! The stairs are pretty steep, but most buildings in Ypres are built high and narrow in a Medieval style, so that is common in the town. Yes, the owners do ask guests not to wear shoes upstairs because all the floors are painted which they rightly want to keep clean and undamaged. Having mentioned the owners,they were extremely helpful and welcoming. We toured the battlefields and Alain, the owner, is something of an expert and gave us wonderful advice as to where we should visit and how to find it. I would say that as far as guest houses go, this is one of the better I have used and I strongly recommend it as a great place to stay when inYpres. ( I have stayed in many places in the City in the past )

Stayed: May 2016
Thank telf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.2 km away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,366 reviews
0.5 km away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,453 reviews
0.6 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
349 reviews
4.3 km away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
240 reviews
0.9 km away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 7 in Ieper (Ypres)
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chat Noir

Address: Diksmuidestraat 91, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and clean house in Ypres Town Centre, with full equiped kitchen. Terrace and garden. 2 Minutes walk to Flanders Fields Museum and 3 minutes to the Menin Gate. Different rooms and bathrooms available. Garage available. Free Wifi. Discounts in all Museums and in some restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chat Noir Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing