We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Centre For everything in Ypres.”
Review of Le Chat Noir

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ieper (Ypres)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chat Noir
Ranked #28 of 43 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I don't know where the last person to write a review stayed, but it wasn't where we stayed! Our beds were extremely comfortable and the place was spotlessly clean. The kitchen is a 'galley' type, but the only way you would experience any difficulty in there is if you were drunk . The wifi was free and worked perfectly well ! The stairs are pretty steep, but most buildings in Ypres are built high and narrow in a Medieval style, so that is common in the town. Yes, the owners do ask guests not to wear shoes upstairs because all the floors are painted which they rightly want to keep clean and undamaged. Having mentioned the owners,they were extremely helpful and welcoming. We toured the battlefields and Alain, the owner, is something of an expert and gave us wonderful advice as to where we should visit and how to find it. I would say that as far as guest houses go, this is one of the better I have used and I strongly recommend it as a great place to stay when inYpres. ( I have stayed in many places in the City in the past )

Stayed: May 2016
Thank telf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2016

Very disappointed after reading the reviews. The beds are rock hard not just firm. The wifi is non existent, (unless you hover out a window on the top floor). The towels are very poor quality, very thin. Galley kitchen is tiny, it also has a protruding step which is very annoying, you cant get close to the worktops. The boiler rattles through the night in the bedroom cupboard, you definitely need earplugs in there. You cant wear shoes anywhere in the house, apart from the ground floor. So bring your own slippers or you have to go around in stocking soles, not ideal climbing a very steep and narrow staircase. Not the place to relax in after a day out in the battlefields. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Very top room, to get any wifi. Not the room with the boiler.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank smokybandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We recently stayed at Le Chat Noir as part of a family group. Its better than it looks on the website! Its very clean and spacious with home comforts with a few extras which you don't normally expect... Its absolutely ideally located within Iper to short walk to the main square and Menin Gate. Easy to park and idea for visiting the surrounding areas of Iper. Also easy to find when arriving with a friendly welcome!

Room Tip: Relax, all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015

This little guest house is just 5 minutes walk from Ieper town centre, and is a great place as a centre for touring the area, and quite close to the Menin Gate as well.
The house is fully equipped and although the staircase to the bedrooms is quite steep, the rooms are large and comfortable. Plenty of toilets and bathroom
There is a nice little kitchen and lounge with telly. The host, Alain, will look after you and explain everything, and is available at the end of the phone for any queries. Great place to stay, and holds about 10 people, you can get your whole family in!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mickandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Beautiful, clean, close to the town centre, good price and the accommodation is owned and run by two of the most lovely people you'll ever meet: Alain and Caroline are great hosts. If you're in the area then this is the place to stay.

Alain also has a passion for the WW1 historical sites in the area and for a small fee will be happy to take you on a tour of the local memorials and sites of interest. He's a gold mine of information with a phenomenal knowledge on the subject.

I can't recommend Le Chat Noir highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 km away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,440 reviews
0.9 km away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
437 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western Flanders Lodge
Best Western Flanders Lodge
#7 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ariane hotel
Ariane hotel
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,348 reviews
0.6 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
848 reviews
4.3 km away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chat Noir

Address: Diksmuidestraat 91, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and clean house in Ypres Town Centre, with full equiped kitchen. Terrace and garden. 2 Minutes walk to Flanders Fields Museum and 3 minutes to the Menin Gate. Different rooms and bathrooms available. Garage available. Free Wifi. Discounts in all Museums and in some restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chat Noir Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing