We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ariane hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
USD 155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 138
USD 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albion Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))
USD 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ambrosia Hotel(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
USD 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel Ieper Centrum(Ieper (Ypres))
USD 161
USD 144
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Flanders Lodge(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 80
USD 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Old Tom(Ieper (Ypres))(Great Value!)
USD 173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
24
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
3
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from hometown centregreat locationmain gatealainguesthouserearloungeaccommodationfridgewifitvsquarehistory
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2014

Beautiful, clean, close to the town centre, good price and the accommodation is owned and run by two of the most lovely people you'll ever meet: Alain and Caroline are great hosts. If you're in the area then this is the place to stay.

Alain also has a passion for the WW1 historical sites in the area and for a small fee will be happy to take you on a tour of the local memorials and sites of interest. He's a gold mine of information with a phenomenal knowledge on the subject.

I can't recommend Le Chat Noir highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014 via mobile

Situated just several minutes walk from Ypres town centre the guest house is ideally located for a visit to the town. The house is rather quaint, the staircase to the bedrooms is quite steep, but the rooms are large and comfortable. The bathroom / toilet facilities are well appointed. The kitchen is small but adequate for our visit. The fridge has beer, fruit juices, water etc that is paid for via an honesty box, a nice touch. The TV has lots of UK satellite channels including BBC ITV. There are many interesting WW1 books and mementos to keep you occupied. This was my second visit to Le Chat Noir and i was delighted with the reception that we received from Alain & Caroline the proprietors.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank derrycityleedsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014

Can't add much more than the other recent reviews, this is in an excellent location and we were well looked after by Alain. The accommodation was perfect for a group visit, and we were provided with everything that was needed. We also took the opportunity to rent the optional garage, so that was somewhere safe for the bikes. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dfriel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not our first stay at Le Chat Noir so we knew Alain of old. The house is narrow but tall with four floors: ground floor with large reception / dining area, lounge & kitchen; one bedroom & two bathrooms on the second floor; two further bedrooms each on the third & fourth floors. Mind the stairs as they are steep & narrow, characteristic of most contemporary accommodations in Ypres. Rooms are clean and hold three beds with sufficient wardrobe & drawer space. There is a small garden to relax in and satellite TV with several English channels. Alain keeps the fridge well stocked with bottled water, orange juice & a small range of beers for which you pay a relatively cheap price. Location is excellent, 3 minutes away from the Grand Place and with two patisseries & one new bar (Te Hopperie = Tom's Belgian Beer Bar, with over 300 brands of beer!) situated closer in Diksmuidsestraat. Alain also has vouchers that allows you a free beer in a couple of the more popular but upmarket restaurants and cheaper admission to local attractions. It is certainly somewhere we will stay again.

Room Tip: If you are uncertain on your feet, or like a tipple, don't stray above the first floor as the stairs will be a challenge.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gardinermarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is a good quality, clean house with spacious bedrooms and comfortable mattresses. Lots of shower gels, hair shampoo and towels to keep you going. The little terraced garden was a shady spot with table and chairs for alfresco dining. Menin Gate is a 3 minute walk away. The surrounding area is full of museums', churches, lots of war memorial to take you back years....

The cemeteries are beautifully looked after and is super respectful. We visited Passendale, Hooge Crater Museum, and the local hotel next door has an underground tunnel which is very close to the real thing. Essex Cemetery houses the body of the 15 year old boy who lied about his age to sign up! Unsurprisingly, covered in lots of flowers and teddy bears. The trip was a lovely reminder of what people gave up and can thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: the bedrooms are at the front of the house so you will experience some traffic noise, along the cobbled streets....but its worth it!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bayliss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews