We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big portions of tasty food”

Les Halles Marktcafe
Ranked #14 of 135 Restaurants in Ieper (Ypres)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 28
Cuisines: Belgian, Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We had been in Ypres for 5 nights and we chose this restaurant on our last evening. The decor is very nice and makes it feel very cosy. We all had flemish stew which was served in individual stainless steel bowls and was very tasty and a huge portion - none of us could finish it (and we all have pretty good appetites!) It came with cones of chips which were very hot, and a good side salad. We were far too full for a dessert.

It isn't the cheapest place in Ypres but is pretty much on par with the other restaurants around the market square, but the food is very good and big portions.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018

Les Halles has a nice location and the Pork Cheeks were really yummy, thank goodness served with mashed potato! (about the only restaurant that does, otherwise its fries all the way in Ypres)! However overall, not great value for money and service was just OK. Got the feeling that the locals are really sick of tourists and it shows. Smiles on faces and dining courtesies would be nice - and that goes for most places we ate in, in Ypres. It's a beautiful city, with extraordinary history and tourism is strong, but it is the face to face experience that matters

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodFang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

we were a group of 19 visiting the WW1 cemeteries. i had been emailing Charlotte at the restaurant from the UK for a while ..she was an absolute star..she had our table ready for us..the service was quick and efficient...the food was extremely good and a very reasonable price. I would absolutely recommend this restaurant..thank you Charlotte for making our experience in Ypres excellant
Gen

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Genbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Having just arrived we were looking for a sit down and a drink and couldn't have chosen better. The waiting staff were friendly and efficient, bringing a menu in English. We only had drinks but it was a very pleasant experience. When we return we will try the food which looked plentiful and well presented.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Service
Thank rover901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Had a walk around Ipres and then stopped here for a late lunch before a walk around the ramparts. We had a cheese croquettes salad, a goats cheese salad and a spicy chicken wrap. All excellent food an good value. Would definitely recommend a stop here.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JayneyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Halles Marktcafe also viewed

Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
Ieper (Ypres), West Flanders Province
 

Been to Les Halles Marktcafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing