We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, great location, fabulous host.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
Ranked #7 of 44 Ieper (Ypres) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, great location, fabulous host.”
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We were met by Jo who made us very welcome from the start. The rooms are lovely, large and beautifully designed with modern themes and furniture and fittings which are of the highest quality. Beds are superbly comfortable and the whole place is spotlessly clean. The location is quiet and peaceful but just a few minutes walk from the lovely town centre. Breakfast was superb and plentiful with perfectly cooked eggs to your liking. Jo's own home made jam with fresh crusty bread finished breakfast off perfectly. Advertised as a B&B but is much more than that, self contained and more like a high class apartment hotel with a fabulous breakfast spread laid on. I will be back and I'm looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
66
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a one night stay with friends and must say how impressed we were.
Normally our preference would be to book a well known large hotel chain so you know what you are getting. However, this lovely B&B caught our eye especially with the fabulous reviews.
The proprietor, Jo, emailed me a night before to request what time we anticipated to arrive and provided a mobile number so we could contact her should we have any concerns.
Jo offered a very warm welcome and showed us around the property and I must say we were not disappointed, the rooms were absolutely spotless, lovely comfortable beds and an amazing bathroom that housed a seperate toilet, large bath and massaging shower! Our friends were also very impressed!
Jo left us asking her to contact her if we had any problems and we had the run of to the hotel. We found that Jo showed ultimate trust in us and allowed us access to the mini bar (first drink free to welcome us) we just needed to be honest and advise her of what we took so we could be charged on departure - she called it 'The Trust Bar' (not sure the same idea could be used in Britain).
Breakfast was continental and in addition Jo offered a selection of eggs, tea and coffee. The dining room was clean, petite and over looked a small courtyard, that I am sure would be lovely in the summer.
Check out was quick and easy and in the sort time of our stay I felt we knew Jo a long time...very lovely, friendly and welcoming - definitely the heart of the B&B.
The location of the B&B was great...a very short walk into the centre of Ypres. We attended just before Christmas, so witnessed the beauty of such a beautiful town with Christmas lights making the cathedrals even more breathtaking. A lovely choice of restaurants to suit all tastes and not to mention the famous belgian chocolate shops.
I would love to return to Belgium and if we do we will most certainly be staying here again and would definitely recommend this B&B. Thank you Jo x

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Msanderson1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Lovely B&B. Rooms are very trendy and very spacious. Bed linen and towels are beautifully clean and of lovely quality.
Continental breakfast was more than adequate and they will cook you egg’s to your liking if you wish.
The owners Son and Daughter who looked after us at breakfast were lovely, friendly and a credit to their parents.
Of the 4 rooms 2 are to the back of the house and 2 to the front and If I went again (which I definitely would) I would request 1 of the back rooms for quietness as the road outside is cobbled resulting in the vehicle noise being quite loud and we found we needed to have the windows closed for sleeping, it was hot whilst we were there and although the fan provided was of good quality and quiet the addition of a small air conditioning unit would have undoubtedly allowed a better night’s sleep in terms of room heat. In terms of road noise there seemed very little traffic during the night but the road became busy after about 7:30am and taking a nap before getting ready to go out in the evening was a little difficult having said that if it’s cool enough to have the windows closed this wouldn’t be an issue. My husband is able to wear ear plugs and he had no problem sleeping at all!
This B&B is in a superb position with everything very close by and plenty of free parking nearby. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wishing to stay in Ypres.

Room Tip: Back rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrooke
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week to work on forging a new cenotaph in the grote market. Jo made us entirely welcome from the moment she picked us up at the station. We wanted a comfortable place with lots of space for a long stay and saBBajon was spot on.
Her house is beautifully renovated with a large dining and lounge room downstairs opening onto a pretty leafy courtyard. There is a well stocked honesty bar. Jo is only a phone call away if anything is needed.
We had the orange delight room on the 1st floor. Again just beautifully done and luxuriously appointed throughout.
The bathroom is open plan and spacious with a great shower and separate bath.
The rooms are large, light filled and airy. The windows into the garden open up for lots of fresh air. They are well kept, clean and tidy.
The breakfasts are great, being met each day by Jo or Astrid's wonderful smile is a brilliant way to start the day. There is a large selection of tasty treats along with eggs cooked anyway.
SaBBajon is very central, yet tucked away nicely.
Jo gave us absolutely excellent recommendations for meals and helped us with finding all the things we needed around town.
I recommend saBBajon to you as an excellent place to stay.

Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank I2925GRstepheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Absolutely delightful hostess Mrs Jo provides welcoming hospiitality. Excellent large modern rooms with comfortable beds and great bathroom products. Fantastic breakfasts and great tourism advice. Thoroughly recommend this B&B we had a wonderful 3 night stay

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabbajon, Eigenaar at Bed and Breakfast saBBajon, responded to this review, 28 August 2016
Hello Varina and Ron,
thank you so much for your nice words and comments, I miss you already, I love the friendly Australian people, bringing the sun into the house like you did!
Hopefully I can welcome you again in the future,
Kindest regards,
Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ieper (Ypres) hotels
0.5 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#3 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
809 reviews
0.5 km away
Novotel Ieper Centrum
Novotel Ieper Centrum
#5 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,386 reviews
0.5 km away
Ambrosia Hotel
Ambrosia Hotel
#4 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Ariane
Hotel Ariane
#2 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
1,286 reviews
0.8 km away
Main Street Hotel
Main Street Hotel
#1 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
411 reviews
4.4 km away
Kasteelhof 't  Hooghe
Kasteelhof 't Hooghe
#6 of 8 in Ieper (Ypres)
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast saBBajon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast saBBajon

Property: Bed and Breakfast saBBajon
Address: Boezingepoortstraat 6, Ieper (Ypres) 8900, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Ieper (Ypres)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ieper (Ypres)
Price range (per night): $176 - $225
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed and Breakfast saBBajon 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in the shadow of the St. Martin's Cathedral in the centre of Ypres in West-Flanders, a great little place to discover, called B&B saBBajon. 4 Spacious guestrooms (40 m²) with massage shower, en-suite bathrooms, free WiFi. Free parking 50m. Lounge-area and breakfast room with great view of the garden. Charming and cosy, friendly and enthusiastic, contemporary design and boutique -style luxurY. Welcome in our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bed and Breakfast saBBajon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast SaBBajon Ieper (Ypres), Belgium - Flanders

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing