We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-world charm, lovely food”

't Huidevettershuis
Ranked #144 of 796 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: USD 25 - USD 49
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch and stumbled across this restaurant in the old tanners' guildhall at one of the most scenic spots in Bruges. The leaded glass windows gave us a good view over the canal outside as we settled down to delicious traditional Flemish food. For starters we had shrimp croquettes, which were crisp outside and creamy inside. I had a Flemish beef stew, which hit all the right notes, and my partner enjoyed a rabbit dish. The portions were satisfying and ample, so we skipped dessert. There was a good selection of beer.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Alfie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimitrit216, Manager at 't Huidevettershuis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Alfie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Was looking a place to rest our feet, chanced upon this large restaurant with a tiny front door. Jos was attentive and pleasant serving us. Had delicious food -mussels with garlic butter , fillet with lobster sauce , creme brûlée and strawberries with ice cream.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank umg2s3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimitrit216, Manager at 't Huidevettershuis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Everything was excellent from the welcome the staff the wine the food best we've had so far in Brugge then to top it all an impromptu sing song loved it definitely go back highly recommend .

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Wimbledon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimitrit216, Manager at 't Huidevettershuis, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

My wife and I found this restaurant somewhat by chance. We had intentionally not had a large lunch as we wanted to have a nice dinner in Brugge. We had spent a week doing a bike and boat tour and wanted to experience the beautiful evening that we had this day. ‘t Huidevettershuis is a gem of a restaurant. My wife had the fish soup and I had the Shirmp Scampi pasta with lobster sauce that was very tasty. It was delivered piping hot, the lobster sauce was creamy and delicious. We were lucky enough to have veranda seating overlooking the canal that was absolutely spectacular on this very pleasant evening. If you are looking for great food, nice atmosphere, and wonderful wait staff, you can’t beat this restaurant. It was great value for all that it offered.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank blrev4nw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimitrit216, Manager at 't Huidevettershuis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

thank you sir,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch here on a recent trip to the city and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner/ maitre de was really friendly and he let us have a lovely window seat overlooking the canal in an area of the restaurant not in use as the main area was full. The menu was good and the ambiance was lovely. My wife chose the very reasonably priced 3 course lunch menu ( Flemish stew option) which she said was delicious and I had a steak which was cooked to perfection and was very tasty. It came with some lovely “frites” and a very fresh salad. We shared the shrimp croquette starter and these were as good as we had eaten anywhere in Bruges. The drink menu was good and my wife had a very nice glass of red wine. Overall a great experience and we are sure an evening meal here would be just as good. The upstairs area which was closed off for lunch had some stunning views of the canals and city and if open would be a lovely setting for an evening meal. We will try this option when next in the city for sure.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Trotty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dimitrit216, Manager at 't Huidevettershuis, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 't Huidevettershuis also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Huidevettershuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing