We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very welcoming apartment and fantastic location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Het Blekershuys

living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
living room
living room living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
living room
view from the window
toilet
living room - fire place
view from the window
view from the window
corridor wih staircase
kitchen
kitchen
the facade of the appartment
bathroom
bathroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
suble
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming apartment and fantastic location.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the apartment for one week, 2 families both with teenage children. The moment we arrived we just felt at home. The apartment was very well prepared for our stay, very well equipped and the location couldn't be better. The view of the canals from the front of the apartment was lovely and although we were only a 10 minute walk from the centre the immediate area was quiet in the evenings.
There are 2 small supermarkets nearby as well as the local shops and pubs. The oldest pub in Bruges is just down the road, almost on your doorstep, and definitely worth a visit for beer and/or food.
Great walks in all directions, and cycling is a must. We hired very good bikes from Bruges Bike Rental, 10 Euros per day for an adult, 8 for the kids, and had the bikes from 10am to 8pm. Dads and kids also had a go at the Segway tour and spent a fun hour being guided round the city by Charlie, a real character.
We can't wait to go back and would love to stay in the apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt at home straight away, great location.
Liked least: Didn't need microwave in the kitchen, takes up too much room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve M
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware you may end up paying more than you think!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 9 teachers who were visiting Bruges for a cultural experience. The house was lovely, but beware of the landlady who kept our £200 deposit! She claimed we had stolen pictures, wrecked the walls and a rug and trashed the property. I wouldn't mind if that were true, but we are a group of mature responsible teachers who treated the property with respect. In fact we left it cleaner than we found it, having purchased a large range of clearing materials to do this. We did leave a number of wine bottles in the glass recycling box, there were 9 of us after all and we had a couple of bottles with dinner each night. We feel conned and cheated by this money grabbing person. Yes it is a nice house, yes it's a great location but I have no confidence recommending this house to anyone unless you are prepared to pay extra to stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2014
Dear guests,

I really prefer not to keep the deposit but the appartment was so dirty left with vomit and stains all over , I didn't have the choice.
I had to clean 2 times more than normal in a very unpleasant situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorrainef...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation in a fantastic position”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We just spent a week here and had a fantastic time. I was one out of a party of eight people and all said how they liked the apartment.
The only problem we had was the lift failed to work on the third day but I emailed the owner who arranged for a repair man to fix it. Unfortunately we did not know he needed access to the apartment as the lift cupboard was in one of the bedrooms and I think we missed him initially but was rectified later in the week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: One of the bathrooms was off the downstairs bedroom which left six of us queuing up to use the upstairs one.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelJK...
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in a Good Location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our brief, two night stay in Bruges at Het Blkershuys, located right at the intersection of two of the canals in Bruges. This spacious apartment occupies the top two floors of an old building, but the apartment had nice modern facilities, including a dishwasher (but no washer/dryer that we found). Bedrooms were comfortable and we appreciated having a nice living room to hang out in (there were six of us). it is in a quiet area that is an easy 5-7 minute walk to cafes, restaurants and the main market square.

Just two concerns to note.

We needed a cash payment of 700 euros for two nights, requested to be paid on arrival, which was challenging to get from our bank accounts with 200 Euro/day withdrawal limits. We were able to use two different accounts over two days to gather 800 euros and make the payment - but travelers should better plan ahead for this than we did. Requiring large cash payments like this seems more common in Europe than we are used to in the US; we are continuing to an Italy apartment which requires 680 Euros on arrival.

The second issue to be aware of is while there are two toilets, the top floor toilet apparently has some plumbing limitations and so cannot be used for solid waste - no toilet paper is provided there and there is a somewhat cryptic sign next to it reading "little toilet only" - combined with the lack of toilet paper, we decoded the meaning of this before encountering a more dire situation. One of the tradeoffs of being in a charming old building!

But despite these minor issues, we would recommend Het Blerkershuys.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location near the center
Liked least: Hassle of large cash payment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathyB58
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful apartment with a view to match”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We loved staying here while in Bruges. The apartment is near everything yet in a quiet residential area. Well appointed and clean. Nice to open a bottle of wine at night after a long day touring and enjoy the view of the canals out the window of the living room.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing