We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit in the same hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Martin's Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Martin's Relais
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Second visit in the same hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Were here from 28 Dec to 3rd Jan 2012. It was the second time in this hotel.
What was suprised - hold extra 50 euro per day for gaurantee that we wouldn't break anything. It was said at the reception. But. Neither at booking.com, nor at the hotel's site, there is no a word about such feature. So, prepare for hotel's hold more money at your card, than you saw it on the booking list.
Other things stayed the same: expensive wifi and breakfast, noise in rooms with canal view.
But. It is beautiful place in old style design. I hope, they'll resolve their problems and I can visit the hotel next time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    360
    104
    41
    10
See reviews for
132
536
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Boutique hotel booked from reviews from Trip Adviser, got a taxi from the station who took us to the wrong Martin Relais so be aware. Asked for a high floor room with a balcony facing the peaceful garden which they kindly accommodated (room 25). The room was 'cosy' but authentic with wooden beams (beware serious concussion if you forget they are there), shower didnt work properly, the reception staff did ask if we wanted to move rooms but we liked our balcony so waited two days for the shower to be fixed but that was a small flaw but unusual for a 4 star! We ordered breakfast once but felt it was not worth the money again 40 euros for both of us. We used the 'Bean around the world', American coffee shop across the road, the girl appeared low most days so i made it my project to cheer her up and leave big tips, plus there are amazing bakeries and a fridge in your room so picnic breakfasts were fine with us. The hotel was just 10 minute walk to all the major sites, excellent location could not fault. Two restaurants i would recommend are Argentino Steak House (huge slabs of tasty cow, expensive but worth it) and Kanikama Sushi, superb sushi boats (and im picky about sushi). If im honest not sure i would choose this hotel again but dont think i would return to Bruges you can do everything in 5 wonderful beautiful days.

Room Tip: High floor, with terrace facing the garden, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nippyems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here for a short break and had a great time, centrally located only ten minutes from the centre of Bruge (everywhere is ten minutes) right beside a canal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room beside/overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

4 of us (2 couples) went for a long weekend to the Xmas markets. (16-19th dec 2011), we arrived from the Eurostar , around 8pm, - cold and wet ( heavy rain) reception was excellent and helpful. We had rooms facing the garden, sleeped perfectly in a quiet room, the room was excellent and very clean. Breakfast is 15euro if u book the night before, which seems expensive, but includes champagne and excellent food - hot and cold. There is any excellent coffee shop across the street, and a great bar along the street (both advised by the reception) . Very close to everything, and BBC2 on the tv !!!. Perfect experience and excellent staff , clean rooms and nice location

Room Tip: Canal side for the view, garden for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonic434343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The only thing I can really comment on is the room, as we had practically no interraction with reception other than to check in and out (both very effecient), and we never used the breakfast room as there is no way as long as my [--] points downwards that I will ever pay €20 for a breakfast. (not with the little "Bean around the World" cafe just across the street)

So, the room was fine. It was large, and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was large, with good shower pressure and a nice range of free goodies. The TV worked fine (shame we couldnt get BBC though so close to the coast)

I kind of liked the (intentionally) 'shabby chic' decor, it lent itself perfectly to the time of year, The darker colder afternoons, and having a nice glass of wine before venturing out into the christmas lights in the evening.

My only complaint at all, (and I do think this is unforgiveable in a supposedly 4 star hotel), is, why no kettle in the room, and no tea and coffee......come on, really!!!

Location-wise, the hotel is perfect. Literally a 5 min walk from the Markt and the Burg, and local shops and restuarants just a few steps away. You really couldnt get much better.

So in summary, absolutely fine EXCEPT for the kettle. Wasnt happy about that at all

Room Tip: Book a Eurostar package and you can get upgraded to a superior canal view room at no extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Littletinca54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 km away
Martin's Brugge
Martin's Brugge
#38 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Jan Brito
Hotel Jan Brito
#27 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 km away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#35 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin's Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin's Relais

Property: Hotel Martin's Relais
Address: Genthof 4a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price range (per night): $130 - $298
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Martin's Relais 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Relais provides rooms with original features and antique furniture in 5 historic 17th-century canal houses. The hotel benefits from a peaceful rose garden, several comfortable lounges and is only 450 metres from the Grote Markt.Satellite TV, a minibar and work desk are provided in the rooms at Relais. Each of the rooms has been uniquely decorated and include a modern bathroom with luxurious toiletries.Situated along a scenic canal in the historic centre of Bruges, this hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Groeninge Museum. The Concert Hall is a 15-minute walk away.The cosy bar serves local Belgian beers both inside and out on the terrace in summer. Martin's Relais also offers a breakfast buffet with Cava in the grand breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Martin's Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing