We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,575)
Filter reviews
2,575 results
Traveller rating
1,250
1,002
228
62
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,250
1,002
228
62
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera travel light switches good size train station lovely hotel cobbled street minnewater park tea and coffee minute walk reception staff perfect location star hotel short break hot and cold food triple room within easy walking distance buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 2,575 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We went with a coach trip to visit the Bruges Christmas Market and stayed at this hotel. It was lovely. The staff were great. The room was good. The breakfast was amazing.
Only 10 mins walk to the markets.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank EssexScubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inge_De_Ketelaere, Front Office Manager at Hotel Academie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear mr/mrs

Thank you for your review! We are very pleased that you've enjoyed your stay with us and in Bruges. We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kindest regards

The Hotel Academie team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

We had a room as the photo, warm, clean & tidy.
The check in was swift, with cosy lounge areas, Xmas decorations - very festive.( It is a bit of a lottery how soon your cases arrive depending on where your coach is in the queue.)
This hotel has an excellent breakfast/breakfast room, plenty of choice and friendly staff. (pink champagne, smoked salmon, plus an array cooked/cold/cereal/fruit, and enough variation for the most fussy of eaters.
Situated in a very convenient area of Bruges, close to the Xmas markets, (you must try the bratwurst & fresh cream/fruit waffles - a possibility for 8.50 euros, because you may not find a space in the restaurants, which were "rammed" and over priced) To get away from the hassle, The Academie has a pleasant bar area with a varied choice of ales/spirits. It is not surprising they do not do evening food, with the varied food close to.
We would definitely recommend this Hotel, it is close to the station (10min walk), shops etc.

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank Remarks4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Spent a lovely week in Bruges (Dec 5-12, 2017). The Hotel Academie was located in beautiful area near the centre of the city. Everything was decorated for Christmas and the effect was topped off by snow our final two days. If you are into museums and art galleries, recommend the 3-day museum pass (20 euros) to save some money. The Christmas Markets were interesting, with a large ice rink for skating!Getting around the city is easy, but you can also get a great ride on "GreenRides" (tel. 0032 478 51 41 15) which is a bicycle carriage for two, peddled by the delightful Lucy or Siegert. We can't wait to go back in the Spring/Summer to see what it's like in bloom! Also recommend nearby Maximilliians Restaurant.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elementalcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located in a great location and overall seems like a nice hotel. The hotel even has parking that you can pay per night to use. However, upon arriving in our hotel room there was black mold covering the window wall. The mold was quite excessive and clearly had not been cleaned.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ahamlett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We used the hotel as our base to visit Bruges and it was very comfortable and clean. It was bitterly cold when we went on 16th Dec but the heating in the room was very efficient and we warmed up very quickly. No complaint about the bedroom or bathroom apart from the bed covers went to the edge of the top of the mattress instead of extending down the side of the mattress, this meant you soon lost part of the cover when you slept and you were constantly searching to grab the cover and put it back over yourself! Tea and Coffee supplied but powered milk! The hotel was fairly quiet apart from one or two occasions when some very rowdy British people woke us up for five minutes!
I used the hotel underground car park for days at 20 Euro a day. booked in advance. A bit of a tight squeeze but manageable. There was an alternative car park a few minutes’ walk away at roughly 10 Euros a day but I didn't want the aggravation for a short stay. The hotel has a good location and there’s plenty of restaurants and bars nearby that cost less than restaurants etc near the market squares. The market squares / Christmas markets were a short level easy walk from the hotel. Staff at the hotel were very polite and helpful.
At the end of the stay I went to pay the bill and there someone had booked a breakfast against our room number! Understandably we were asked if we were sure we didn't have breakfast and when I confirmed we did not have breakfast the 'item' was deducted from our bill without fuss. Like everywhere else - always check, mistakes happen!
Bruges was more expensive than I anticipated (lack of homework) but the food is very good. In my opinion London is less expensive than Bruges – pick your places carefully! Our book guide stated that service charge was included in the prices but when I tried to confirm that on several occasions I was advised service charge was not included and it was up to me!

Room tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel but due to location all rooms should be quiet-ish.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crescends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews