We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“city break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Groeningemuseum

Groeningemuseum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 148.20*
and up
Amsterdam Super Saver: Bruges Day Trip plus Zaanse Schans Windmills, Marken and...
Ranked #14 of 152 things to do in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Groeninge Museum provides a varied overview of the history of Belgian visual art, with as highlight the world-renowned Flemish primitives. In this museum you can see, amongst other masterpieces, The Virgin and Child with Canon Van der Paele by Jan van Eyck and the Moreel Triptych by Hans Memling. You will also marvel at the top 18th and 19th-century neoclassical pieces, masterpieces of Flemish Expressionism and post-war modern art.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Some amazing works can't miss Bosch's last judgement, old masters outshone the modern works

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    571
    429
    134
    30
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was a bit reluctant as I'd always had the impression the Dutch masters were a bit austere and foreboding, but I went along because my wife loves art. I was very pleasantly surprised - almost blown away - by what I saw. The art is thought-provoking and challenging. You really have to wonder what people were thinking at that time. The museum itself is spacious and inviting. I would highly recommend it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ccftripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Flemish primitives. plenty of seats so you can sit and gazwe at paintings. It could use a coffee shop!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank tresure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“My guilty pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I love paintings. Alot of the museum was closed when I visited and there was a lot of religious paintings which were a bit monotonous but this was mixed with some more modern pieces that I loved. Maybe not worth a visit if its still partially closed though.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank RinaBina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

Great art gallery which is small enough so you can concentrate more on looking at the paintings. We were there during the 'Imperial treasures' exhibition which was fantastic showing great works from Jan van Eycke, Bosch, Van cleve, Pieter Bruegel the Elder (my favourite) etc... Entrance fee was 8 euros and we took and english audio-guide for an extra 4 euros. Staff was polite and helpful, there are lockers available so you do not have to carry coats, bags etc... Nice shop and clean toilets.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank LondonConstance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Groeningemuseum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Groeningemuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing