We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short break”
Review of Hotel Ter Duinen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ter Duinen
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect short break”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Ter Duinen for 2 nights and were so pleased we'd picked it. The personal service is what gives it its distinction. We had room 24 overlooking the canal - perfect - nicely decorated and a good bathroom (could do with updating the hairdrier though - not enough oomph in it!). We loved the communal areas - lovely breakfast room and the breakfast was ample - breads in a basket - fresh orange juice etc. (Michael Winner would be pleased!) and boiled egg - as well as cereals etc. on the side. Marc couldn't have been more helpful with his restaurant recommendations. Hopefully we will return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    358
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
347
1,323
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed a night at this hotel in February, in a family room for 4. The room was spacious and lovely, decorated on very good taste, with a view on the canal. The owners were very welcoming - particularly with our children - and the breakfast was as plentiful as described. The location is really good for those coming by car as you can park across the street at least to unload. It was also close to the center, about 10 minutes walk from markit square.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondieintunisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Have just returned from a third stay at the Hotel Ter Duinen. Also motivated by the negative post below, with which I heartily disagree.

If you are looking for a five-star luxury hotel, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate attention to detail and stylish surroundings at a good price, look no further.

Bruges is a beautiful, interesting city and hotels in the center are very expensive. The Ter Duinen, just slightly outside - and by that I mean a ten minute walk rather than a five minute walk - is an excellent value. The owners, who have run the hotel for 29 years, live there, which is why they are not at the front desk at all hours (there is a bell or phone extension should you need them).

Twice we have stayed in Room #40, a 'family room' with a double bed and two twin beds for children. Most recently I was there with a friend and our young kids. Everything was done to make our stay as convenient as possible - including treats for our fussy kids and bus tickets to get back from the center of town. We were allowed to stash our bags until we were ready to leave Bruges hours after checkout, and to keep the parking garage space (paid) because nobody else needed it. That's not marketing - that's just KIND.

The rooms are not super luxe but they are extremely tasteful. The framed antique posters around the hotel must have cost a fortune. And the breakfast room, with two fireplaces, is quite simply a delight. It's hard to understand how one could complain about the choice of egg when the offerings are among the best I've experienced anywhere (breakfast is included in the room price, which is not always the case in Europe).

Again, this is not a five-star InterContinental, and if that's what you want, go elsewhere. But I love this family-run hotel, for the service and the atmosphere (and the breakfast, did I mention that?), and look forward to visit number four.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamarmotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelterduinen, Owner at Hotel Ter Duinen, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Love it.
Thank you for this kind review.
Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Canal view room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the owners recommended places to visit and to eat. Breakfast had fresh fruit and breads and eggs were offered cooked however we wished. Breakfast room was very pleasant with open fireplace. Hotel is a ten minute walk from centre of Bruges, buses stop by regularly to take you around Bruges or to the train station. Overall a very pleasant hotel and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a canal view room which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rooonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here on the 25th of Feb. for 1 night. On arrival the owner seemed in such a rush to get me checked in indeed never saw him again till the next morning.Was told breakfast started at 8.30 in the morning this seemed as if it was timed to suit the owners rather than the guests.
Was told the room I booked was at a special price so it would have to be paid in cash.( looks like he does not want the revenue to see all his business ?)
The room itself was so small just basic for 129 euros I have stayed in 5 stars for this price.
The bathroom walls were paper tin and you could hear your partner doing all their bodily function even brushing their hair and the door closed.
The pillows on the bed were small and rock hard very bad nights sleep from them.
There was no bar in the hotel just a counter and if you wanter a bottle of water even it came from behind a press.
Breakfast next morning was a shambles .Yes we got some grapes and pineapple but they were portioned controlled 4 or 5 grapes and a few pieces of pineapple on a small plate each.
We asked for a fried egg and were told only option was boiled egg.
The lady owner came to talk to us she seemed very pleasant and seemed interested in talking time to talk to us.
Our total bill for our stay was 149 Euro with car parking so I handed over 150 euro but got no change from the owner which I felt was not forgotten about just another slip of his hand.
Have stayed in hotels all around the world at every price scale and have to say this is the worst because of the owners manner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelterduinen, Owner at Hotel Ter Duinen, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
We feel sorry to read that you did not enjoy your short stay so much.
Which is a pity because we always try to do our very best for our clients.
.
When you arrived in the early evening we knew that you had driven all day long all the way from Marseille to Brugge (about 1075km !) and we knew you were going to be tired.
Your car was parked on the wrong spot just outside the hotel and as the police is very severe
and quick in giving tickets (it’s as they are waiting round the corner) we thought the best we could do is not to load you up with all the information we normally
give but to show you the way to the room as quickly as possible.
Especially because your partner had arrived long before you and was already waiting for you in the room a greater part of the day.
Upon arrival she had been provided with a map of the town, she had received all the information needed and we were convinced that she was going to pass it on to you.

Being a 3 star hotel the reception is not always manned but as we live here ourselves we are always around and at your disposal from let’s say around 08.00am till we close in the evening.
And even afterwards you can still reach us (even in the middle of the night) by telephone.
There is a hotelbell on the reception and upon arrival we have explained that you can ring this bell in case you need anything at all.

We don’t understand that you call our breakfast a shambles. Most guests regard our breakfast as a delight with lots of variety of breads, drinks, cerials, home made jams, meats and cheeses and esp. lots of fruits. It astonishes us that you claim there was no fruit : we always start with a small tray of fresh fruits (every day different selection) and a fresh (!) orange juice (squeezed only moments before) brought to the table.
Apart from that, that day on the buffet there was still passionfruit, fruitsalad (not out of a plastic box – freshly made every day by us) , a bowl of fresh fruit with kiwi, apple, banana,
orange and a nice selection of dried fruits and nuts.
We have no cooked breakfast but we offer a boiled egg which is boiled at the moment you ask it and how you like it best.

We have a nice sitting area/lounge in the conservatory where there is no obligation to drink anything at all. It’s just an area to relax and to enjoy but of course it’s always possible to enjoy a drink there. Also there you can ring the hotelbell.
We only work with bottled water and it does not come out of a kind of press but out of the refrigerator which is behind the counter.

We’ve done a lot of work in our hotel to avoid noise from the outside and from other rooms.
We haven’t done anything special against the noise that the clients make themselves inside the room they are staying in.

That we have forgotten to give you back the one euro we don’t remember and if we did we apologise for that.. But this cannot have been on purpose !.
We even feel offended when you write “another slip of his hands”.
This is certainly not the way we are and the way we work.

Twenty-nine years ago we started our hotel and since then we are here every day to provide our guests a pleasant stay and to let them leave with good memories of their stay in Bruges .
And although we have tried to do our very best we find it a real pity to find out that you have left our hotel unhappily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.9 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
1.1 km away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
377 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ter Duinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ter Duinen

Property: Hotel Ter Duinen
Address: Langerei 52, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#4 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price range (per night): $178 - $321
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ter Duinen 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very charming hotel along a beautiful canal in medieval Brugge. Superb buffetbreakfast, free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ter Duinen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ter Duinen Hotel
Ter Duinen Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing