We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant location, value for money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Martin's Brugge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Brugge
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, value for money!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just got back from a long weekend in Brugges and am really pleased with my stay at Martin's hotel! Although we couldn't check in before 3pm, the staff kept our lugage, whilst we took a stroll. The location of Martin's hotel is fantastic, the front looks onto the walls of Belfry tower and through there it's straight onto the Markt, as in the main city square.
The hotel is nicely presented and very clean and our room was lovely, as we had a view of the Belfry tower. Considering my short break to Martin's Brugge was booked without much hesitation and was mainly based on price, (was booked through Eurostar breaks) I would definitely recommend this hotel! The only negative was that their breakfast buffet is rather expensive, (17 euro per person) but there are so many coffee shops or restaurants who do decent breakfast, plus they are considerably cheaper. If, on the other hand, you have the good fortune to book your room with breakfast buffet included, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    1,317
    411
    123
    37
See reviews for
340
1,557
75
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed at Martins Brugge for 4 nights. This is excellent location, just behind the belfort, so very easy walking distance to all of the sight seeing locations. The breakfast was lovely, continental with some warm food. but didn't have chance to eat at Arthie's (it was closed on a Tue). The rooms are clean. Staff helpful. There is a small bar which has happy hour and their local beers are half price. They did charge a nominal fee for 'city tax', which was only 8 euros, as we had already paid in full at the travel agents, we were told we have to pay this on leaving the room. I have yet to query this with the travel agents. Apart from this this is an excellent hotel for location. Ideal location as its walking distance from the markt, and within walking distance from the bus stop which drops you in the markt centre. We did have a ground floor room, so could be a little nosey from the odd cars which used the back streets.

Room Tip: I would avoid a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cgrant_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel itself was ok, the location is great, however the staff attitude needs improving.
I requested an early check in when i made my booking, after a 12 hour flight and 1 hour journey from the airport, we arrived and were informed that our room would not be ready until 12 noon...this was at 08:00. The staff told us we should walk around the city which of course is the last thing we wanted to do after travelling. In addition to this no shops or restaurants had opened yet.
During our stay we got stuck in the elevator for 10mins, i reported this to the staff who said they would fix it, the following day I used it and the elevator got stuck again on my floor. I reported this to the staff who said they would arrange for repair, yet they did not lock the elevator out of use.
Upon check out, i asked the staff what time i would need to check out in order to catch my flight. However when we left at the advised time we found out that it was actually too late and had to rush like hell to catch our flight.
Definately not impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank on_da_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We came back from the Martin's Brugge yesterday, and we were really impressed. We couldnt check in until 3pm, but they kept our luggage for us from 11am. We asked about check out time, and we were told 11am, we asked if we could check out late, and for a fee of 15 euros, we were allowed to check out at 2pm, which when you have come via p&o mini cruise, this is really handy.

their bar's happy hour is also great! the prices were great, and we got free nibbles!!

all in all, a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfcdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had a four night stay at this good value hotel. Even the room was so small that only one bed and a tiny working desk almost fill in the whole space, it's totally understandable as its location is in the middle of the historical site. And, despite of its size, the room was cozy enough. I don't remember what day it was but there was a morning market nearby one day during my stay. That's make this hotel even more attractive. I would give more points to the already high points if I hadn't heard some noises from outside during nighttime.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryOsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 km away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
2,052 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 km away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#43 of 97 in Bruges
2,183 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
Hotel Bourgoensch Hof
#53 of 97 in Bruges
629 reviews
0.6 km away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Brugge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Brugge

Property: Martin's Brugge
Address: Oude Burg 5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bruges
#34 Family Hotel in Bruges
#39 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price range (per night): $127 - $268
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Brugge 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martin’s is situated just behind the famous 13th-century Belfry and 50 metres from the Grote Markt. It benefits from a tranquil terrace, a trendy cocktail bar and all rooms have a flat-screen TV. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Air-conditioned rooms with a work desk and a minibar are offered at Martin's Brugge. The rooms have a rich decor and some of the rooms boast original features such as wooden beams. Brugge Railway Station is a 15-minute walk from Martin's. The brewery "De Halve Maan" and the Beguinage are both 10 minutes’ walk away. The Arentshuis Museum is less than 300 metres from the hotel. Guests can enjoy regionally inspired dishes prepared with local ingredients, such as fish from the Belgian coast, at Arthie's. During the day a range of light meals and snacks are served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Martin's Brugge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Brugge Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing