We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Red House

St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
137 reviews
St Janhuismolen our local windmill
Romantic master bedroom
Lounge
Lounge, kitchen and dining area
Downstairs
Kitchen
View from the kitchen
View from the terrace door
Entrance hall
Master bedroom
Twin bedded room
Twin room
Single bedroom
Monk stairs to Master Bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
The Red House
Bruges Folk Museum. 20 paces from The Red House
Dining area
Dine alfresco
Winter wonderland from master bedroom
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 137 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LeipzigCa...
Leipzig
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed this very well and thoughtfully equipped house. The street is central, really 2 mins walk to the Market Place, but very quiet.

We enjoyed using the bikes to cycle around the countryside. The Belgians understand what a cycle path can be, safe for small kids! The coast and canals are easy!

A week without internet or tv was hard but the dvd's available were great and the pub round the corner has wifi for the price of a beer!

The stairs, especially to the exquisite main bedroom require care.

Many thanks to the owners

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivien C
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful base for a break in Bruges”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our second visit to The Red House, this time with our son and his family. Once again we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, both to Bruges and The Red House. Everything was clean and to our liking, and the property is so convenient, being only a short walk from the centre of Bruges and it's many attractions. Thank you once again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelshGeor...
Bristol, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a fantastic house in a fantastic location, easy to get to especially with the one way system around Bruges and being able to park the car in the secure garage was a definite bonus.

The walk into the centre of Bruges was a pleasant 10 min stroll through residential streets with different architecture in each one.

I would highly recommend this property and we hope to come back again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAQ_72
Wednesbury
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed he with my family in May 2014 and had a great time.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Booking was easy and details before we traveled were provided in a timely and friendly manner.
On arrival we found the accommodation easily using Satnav, access was easy with the electronic keypad and garage parking was close by and easily found.
The house was clean and comfortable inside with a vast array of DVD's and books should you find time with all the sight seeing on your doorstop.
All facilities worked fine, shower was hot and beds were comfortable. Stairs are tight and narrow so care to be had with youngsters.
All in all I cannot fault the accommodation, Richard was pleasant and friendly to deal with before we arrived and the accommodation was everything we hoped for.
When searching for properties in Brugges this was priced at the lower end of the scale so there was a fear that there was a reason for that but glad to say that it turns out to be excellent value.
Hope for a repeat visit soon....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poodleby
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Lovely House - Great Value”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I've stayed here about 4 times. We love the Red House. The English owner (Richard) is extremely helpful, efficient and professional. A pretty, quiet area. An authentic experience of staying in an historical building. It's cheaper than a bed in an Ibis! Modern kitchen, heating, 3 bedrooms. The bikes are free of charge to use. One day we rode beyond the Dutch border. No cars. Just a cycle path next to the river flanked by tall trees. Stunning and very flat for those who dislike hills!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the fact that it is always booked!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing