We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible service ”
Review of Tante Marie

Tante Marie
Ranked #544 of 796 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Although the food was good, the service was just awful. Rudeness all over. Asked for two espresso, one of them long, but explain that it was still an espresso. She brought one coffee and one espresso. We said that it was two expressos. She took the coffee back and brought a long espresso. At the end she charged us for three coffees. We asked why, and she, with all the rudeness, responded that they had to make it anyway so they have to charge it. Not because of the money, but the attitude.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Joana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016

This is a Cafe Tea Room and Restuarant. We went twice for afternoon tea it was sooooo good real tea served in Japanese tea pot drunk out of fine china cups. The selection of Patisserie was fabulous all made on the premises. Food looked great but we did not have any meals. Very busy large inside and lovely long outside courtyard. Damme is a lovely village with a windmill great place to visit.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kimbearly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2014 via mobile

We came here after renting bikes in Bruges and cycling along the canal for the day. It is a lovely and quaint cafe that specialises in coffee and cakes but can serve perfectly nice main meals also. Damme is a lovely town and it made a nice change to the hustle and bustle in the centre of Bruges, as well as the mad prices at new year. My girlfriend had the foie gras and toast with onion jam to start, which was excellent. She had for main meal confit quail legs, they were very tender and flavoursome, and the plate was very large. I had the pumpkin soup to start, perfect food in the cold weather! I had foie gras with gingerbread for the main. Unfortunately this was soaked in port which completely overpowered the meal and was just tolerable. The coffee was excellent, as was the hot chocolate and the waiter very patient and polite. Overall it was a wonderful choice and highly recommended.

1  Thank kevinf419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Cold and tired after walking the streets of Brügge, we wanted to have a light lunch on the 26th december. Many of the cafes were closed, and we did not want to go for a hot meal. Then we stumpled upon Tante Marie, and it looked nice and welcoming. Two of us ordered hot goat's cheese salad with caramelised apple expecting something like a 'salat chevre' french style, but instead we had a big plate with 1, a small plate with a large chunk of toasted soft goat's cheese with balsamico and sprinkled with grated nuts; 2. a bowl with thick slices of baked, cinnamon dusted apple; 3. a mound of couscous topped by a parmesan crisp; a garnish consisting of marinated lentils, chicory salads and sprouts. And then, in a second bowl (large!) the salad itself: A mixed, nice salad with a splendid dressing. There was bread also, but that was entirely superfluous. The others in the group got similarly surprising and tasty servings.
Their cakes also looked absolutely delish - but there was no appetite left...
Probably reservation is recommended in summer...

Date of visit: December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SmallDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

my wife and I had a good light lunch here on our visit to bruges - a refresshing change from some of the nearby overpirced rubbish - i would probably rate it as good rather than very good but it deserves bette than average

Date of visit: October 2011
1  Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tante Marie also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Sint Andries, Bruges
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tante Marie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing