We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service ”
Review of Portobelfino

Portobelfino
Ranked #2 of 4 Dessert in Sint-Niklaas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 67 - USD 136
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sinds chef-kok Ritchie De Clercq, gastvrouw Lina Vanhese en gastheer Rony dit restaurant twee jaar geleden nieuw leven inbliezen, vinden steeds meer fijnproevers de weg naar dit uniek eetadres. Portobelfino verwijst naar een kwaliteitschocolademerk. Vaak gaat het om subtiele accenten zoals gerechten die op een creatieve manier in cacaoboter gebakken worden. In de keuken wordt de lat almaar hoger gelegd en dat vertaalt zich in hoogstaande culinaire gerechten, suggesties en menu's. Een van de specialiteiten is de 'Bouillabaisse':gemaakt met o.A. Langoustines en king krab. De vis is vooraf gegrild wat voor een bijzondere smaak zorgt. Ook het supermalse en smaakvolle Australisch vlees van met graan gevoederde runderen is een ontdekking waard. En heeft u iets te vieren, dan staat een feestzaal klaar (tot 30 personen). Een prima excuus om een volgend bezoek niet te lang uit te stellen.
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

This restaurant is located in the centre of Sint Niklaas just off the main square. It has a very elegant interior. It is possible to choose from either an à la cart menu or a tasting menu. There is a good wine list and knowledgeable and professional front of house staff. The menu is only in Dutch but help is readily available.
I had fish and my partner had a meat dish, both of which were cooked and presented to the highest standard.
This is an excellent restaurant, highly recommended, we will definitely return.

Date of visit: April 2016
4  Thank LauraDaveJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent service and really tasty food. Will come back to try the other dishes on the menu but the set menu dishes we had for our Company dinner were delicious.

Date of visit: April 2016
2  Thank 266Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Very friendly staff that's serving excellent food. Nice thing about this restaurant is the changing menu. Almost weekly they change the menu and they try to be different in the choice of ingredients. I visited this place 3 times now and this wasn't the last time, for sure! Also like what they did with the interiour. The previous owners had everything in dark wood, small windows,...the owner now just painted everything in white. Really nice job, nice atmosphere. I can say it's my favorite resto in the region.
Only "minus point" is maybe the price vs portion. If you are a regular to good eater, you will need the three course menu as the portions aren't always that big.
But...you pay for the excellent quality.
I also always ask a suggested wine and all 3 times they came up with an truly perfect wine.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TCBelgium2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Good service, nice and polite people! Superb food and a nice location! We visited the restaurant during the Villa Pace festivities without reservation. First floor was occupied and the owner gave us a nice place on the second floor. We had a fantastic evening and we enjoyed the excellent service.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Very nice fresh food, good balance of tastes, friendly people, no nonsense service, quiet terrace, correct prices.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank luc r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portobelfino also viewed

Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
 
Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
 
Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
Sint-Niklaas, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Portobelfino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing