We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious casserole”
Review of Du Progres

Du Progres
Ranked #14 of 1,005 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 22 - USD 29
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Du Progres is a real family restaurant. Nowadays, the third generation of the family De Baets commits to giving their clientele the best value for money. The restaurant serves unadulterated Belgian classics and is famous for its mashed potatoes, honest tastes and the unsurpassed price/quality ratio. We accept: visa, mastercard, amex, bancontact, sodexocard, Monizze
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We had the Flemish pork stew and the chicken casserole. The portions were very generous, the food was delicious and the service was friendly, polite and efficient. This place had such a nice atmosphere.

Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Du_Pr0gres, Owner at Du Progres, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Emily L,
thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visist to our restaurant.
Hopefully wa can have you again as our guest sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Johan De Baets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I along with our student daughter and her friend had supper at DuProgres. It was exceptional! The service, friendliness, busy ambience, food quality and value , are first grade. We enjoyed a delicious appetizer tray of cheeses, and the four different pasta dishes were all expertly prepared, presented, and wonderfully delicious! So much so that we returned the following evening for supper. I gladly give this restaurant a strong recommendation. The portions are a nice size and the service attention is excellent. The quality of the food is very high. All dishes were delicious! We are Canadian and travel extensively, and I can wholeheartedly urge everyone to give Du Progres a visit. It is a real treat!

Thank calgarypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Du_Pr0gres, Owner at Du Progres, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear calgarypat,
thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
We are grateful and happy that you enjoyed our restaurant during your visit to our City.
My team diserve all the credit for this review.
hopefully we can have you again as our guest sometime in the future .
kind regards,
Johan De baets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

What a lovely place! Very friendly staff with a good command of English. The Star was Joke a lovely lady who treated us as family. We had the Plat du Jour, great value! and catered for all appetites. Beer was very good (Well we are in Belgium!). The atmosphere remained friendly throughout our visit. Highly recommended for lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Du_Pr0gres, Owner at Du Progres, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear John W,
thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed you visit to our restaurant and I will definitely tell Joke the lovely words.
Hopefully we can have you again as our guest sometime in the future.
kind regards,
Johan De Baets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This Restaurant has the perfect location to watch people and to be seen, while sitting at their outside tables and enjoy good wine and food.
When my brother and me arrived without reservation for lunch on a sunny Saturday, we were lucky enough to choose a free table outside. The attentive service brought us the menu immediately and it did not take a long time to find something appetizing out of a variety of dishes including Pasta, Salads, Steaks, some fancy Appetizers like Tataki and desserts. The Wine selection is also big enough to appease your thirst.
The food was brought within 15 mins and looked appetizing. The quality and taste were good, too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank YvonneHey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Du_Pr0gres, Owner at Du Progres, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear YvonneHey123,
thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant and hopefully we can have you again as our guest sometime in the future.
kind regards,
Johan De Baets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Dropped in by good fortune as other chosen restaurant was full. Had great service and very good reasonably priced food and drink. Will definitely go back next Time in ghent

Thank wrayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Du_Pr0gres, Owner at Du Progres, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Wrayson,
thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we can have you again as our guests sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Johan De Baets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Du Progres also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Du Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing