We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome apartment in old town Ghent”
other travellers have booked this property
master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
master bedroom
pooltable in living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
master bedroom
pooltable in living room
kitchen
bedroom
kitchen area full  oak
bedroom louise
bedroom 3 Jérôme
bedroom 2 Sophie
artwork in living room
bedroom jerome
the full oak kitchen
antique details in living room
scottish lambswool blankets on beds
winter on the terrace
high quality bathrobe
bedroom 1
japanese design lighting in living room
marble rainshower with silver nickel taps
welcome!
polished nickel kitchen tap in kitchen
lovely antique radiators
the kitchen again
free use of bed- and bathlinen
free use of shower gel
antique radiators
relaxing rain shower in marble
income hall
highest quality cotton bathrobes
combination oven
the master bedroom Louise
view from bedroom 2
boattrips
towers
sunrise
Vrijdagsmarkt
Gravensteen
atmosphere
medieval
lovely restaurants around
sunset
christmas in ghent
Gravensteen Castle
exquisite restaurants in ghent
towers of ghent
exquisite bike stores!
the graslei in the summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ghent, East Flanders Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
punckass
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome apartment in old town Ghent”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We visited for a weekend in January and loved this cosy, clean, plush apartment. Very conveniently located a few minutes walk from Gravensteen Castle in the old town of Ghent, on a tram route so very easy from the railway station. Well equipped kitchen with coffee machine, great bakery very close by for breakfast and other shops in the vicinity for all self-catering needs. Massive fridge, more than enough room for a big selection of tasty Belgian beer! Also a nice terrace that caught the sun even in winter.

The bedrooms were like boutique hotel rooms, very stylishly decorated and furnished. Beautiful bathroom, huge walk in rain-head shower and a double sinks. Plenty of space for luggage and enough storage to unpack completely and get settled in.

Bernard was very welcoming and helpful on arrival, his office is located on the first floor along with the kitchen, the bedrooms are upstairs. In this sense it is not completely private but that didn't pose a problem for us.

We had a brilliant time, our group was 3 couples and we all loved the place and Ghent itself. By far one of the best accommodation options in one of my favourite cities in Europe. Brilliant value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable
Liked least: Can't fault it!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2014
Thank you Liam, I am glad you liked it ! Always welcome back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve K
Toddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent place for a weekend in Ghent”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed here for my 60th birthday weekend (note I am not one of those you see around the kitchen table in the pictures below - I am always behind the camera, it seems). We love Ghent and this was ideal for us. It is just down the road from Gravensteen Castle, which makes everything in the centre of town within walking distance of the apartment. We had a wonderful weekend. The apartment suited us really well. It was very comfortable and we were very relaxed there. Looking forward to having the opportunity to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzyGirlW...
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nothing But The Best”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Wow - I have stayed in quite a few holiday rentals in the past, but this one probably tops them all.

The Location - The 'flat' is above a bank (so very easy to find - and secure!) on a main road about 5mins walk from the centre of Ghent. One of the best bakeries in Ghent (delicious, reasonably priced bread/cakes) is a few doors down and in the other direction is a very handy small, but well-stocked Carrefour Express.

The Interior - Wow, Bernard the owner has pulled out all stops to furnish/decorate the flat to the highest standards! Everything he has used is of the best quality and it gives it an opulent, luxurious feel. It is exceptionally clean and very warm. The bathroom is to die for - as is the kitchen!!! All three bedrooms are good-sized doubles, with only the third one a little smaller than the other two. I could quite happily make this place my permanent home - I wish! The flat is up a flight of stairs and then organised over two floors, with the kitchen and a toilet on the first floor (plus a lovely patio area) and the three bedrooms, bathroom and second toilet on the top floor. Bernard's insurance office is also located on the same floor as the kitchen and there is a common hall that leads to both doors. At first, this was a little disconcerting, but as soon as you arrive the doors leading to his office are shut and the blinds drawn, so unless someone is going through the shared hall privacy is maintained. On a Saturday and Sunday the office isn't used, so this would only be an issue during the week. To be honest, it is not a huge problem - you just wouldn't want to walk down to the kitchen in your night attire during the week, though once inside the kitchen nobody would see you!!! There is also no lounge room, but plenty of chairs around the kitchen table and we found this more than adequate. Not that we used either, but there is also a television in the kitchen and one in one of the bedrooms.

The Landlord - Bernard, who has good English, is an incredibly hospitable and friendly host! He ensures that you are left with loads of useful tips/hints, plus maps of Ghent, a list of recommended restaurants and an extensive "what to do if . . ." document. He is genuinely keen for you to enjoy the flat and all that Ghent/Belgium has to offer. The day after leaving, my security bond was also returned - very prompt!

The apartment/experience was so good that my partner and I may even hire it just for ourselves if going back to Ghent - even though this would prove much more expensive than hiring it with friends!

Thank you - Bernard

PS: My partner and I also got engaged while there, so it will always have special memories!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife
Reviewed 10 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
uk
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing