We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
116
322
148
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
322
148
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view of the castle great location breakfast room main building air conditioning old town hotel is located tram stop would highly recommend this hotel first floor top floor weekend break mini bar cold meats tea and coffee within easy walking distance visiting ghent
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

I had an wonderfuel stay with your hotel,the location is wonderfuel.

The staff is very polite and friendly,we had a drink at the bar and Mihai the guy at front desk whom served also at the bar was very polite and friendly,we had an wonderfuel time there,we joke,we laugh etc...

We had an experience that we will never forget,the city of Gent extremly beautifuel and hope we will be back soon.

The hotel have a parking for 15 euro for 24h but they do not rezerve it,the location is gest in the city center,very clean and wonderfuel and friendly staff,i certenly give it 5 stars. .

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 116catalinr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, Hotel Gravensteen Team at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Dear Mr & Mrs Catalin,

Firstly we would like to thank you for this top rating and for taking the time to write this amazing review about your experience in Hotel Gravensteen.

We are glad to hear you’ve had a wonderful stay and could enjoy the service given by the staff.
We will tell Mihai about the compliments and send our colleague your regards for providing you with this amazing experience.

It’s so nice to hear you liked our city and enjoyed it’s beautiful sights.

We have a lot of returning guests and they already know where the parking is, so they can just drive to the parking without calling us beforehand to check the availability.

Hereby we thank you again for staying with us during your visit to Ghent and for your time to write this review.

We hope to welcome you again in Hotel Gravensteen in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice. Perfect location and clean. Breakfast above average. The rooms might need an update though (there was a red wallpaper that looked a bit oldish). Also there were a lot of smashed bugs on the ceiling (!)

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Y7306XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, Hotel Gravensteen Team at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review of your stay in our hotel.

We appreciate the comments on the breakfast and the hotel. We will take your remarks about the room into consideration and will do our utmost to provide an even better experience the next time!

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2018 via mobile

Great location and good customer service. Very helpful staff. Delicious breakfast with good varieties too. Small room but bearable, made better by their good bathroom. I’ll definitely book this place again!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank yuanlingtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, Hotel Gravensteen Team at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2018

Dear Ms Yuan,

Firstly we would like to thank you kindly for staying with us during your visit in Ghent and for taking the time to write this very nice review.

We are glad you liked the service and helpfulness provided by the staff of Hotel Gravensteen. You enjoyed the breakfast of our hotel; it's a well appreciated remark!
Gladly we accept your lovely review, referring to your room and renovated bathroom. If you prefer a more spacious room it’s always recommended to ask for an executive room which has a small extra charge per night.

Feel free to recommend our hotel to friends and family.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the nearest future!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2018

My mother and I spent a third holiday at the Hotel Gravensteen this August. As usual we had a superb stay . We are always happy to return to the beautiful city of Ghent.. We had a lovely spacious room in the annex . Enjoyed a lovely and relaxed breakfast catching up with our friends Wazer and Gerbert . All the staff who work at this hotel are so friendly and welcoming so much so we refer to Hotel Gravensteen as our second home. We would also like to say thank you to Thomas,Haetor and Ifan for everything during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel if anyone books a stay in Ghent where u will receive a warm welcome from everyone and they will do their upmost to ensure you enjoy your stay from start to finish.. We would like to wish all the staff at Hotel Gravensteen a very Happy Christmas and Health and Happiness for 2019. See u all next year ☺☺

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelferguson271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, Hotel Gravensteen Team at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2019

Dear,
First of all we would like to thank you for staying with us again this year and writing this astonishing review as always.
We’re delighted to hear we could be a part of you having another nice memory of your stay in Ghent. So nice of you catching up with your friends during breakfast after one year!
We’re glad we could give you the feeling you were at home while staying in Hotel Gravensteen and that we were able to give you this warm feeling we had been getting from you.
We are really looking forward to seeing you again next year so we can give you a warm welcome and another nice memory in Ghent.
On behalf of the whole staff we would like to wish you a Merry Christmas and a very healthy and happy New Year! Good luck in 2019 and we are looking forward to welcome you again!
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Thd hotel's location is great for exploring Ghent. Parking is an issue very limited at the hotel. Lots of on street parking restrictions. (One of our group had their car towed).
As a big group our checkout experience wasn't good. The hotel made a mistake on room allocation that they refused to take responsibility for.
Our room wad supposed to be an executive upgrade, but it turnrd out it wasn't!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank fulhamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grave1, Hotel Gravensteen Team at Hotel Gravensteen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2018

Dear,

Thank you kindly for taking your time to write this review.

It’s nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we are truly sorry your check-out experience was not as good as your stay in Ghent.

It seems some things went wrong when the booking was modified on booking.com, a lot of modifications were sent to us by booking.com on the last minute which caused for confusion while allocating the rooms.

We hope this did not undo all the good experiences you had in Ghent, but do apologize if it brought you any discomfort.
Parking and driving in Ghent is not easy so please follow the instructions on our website closely if you want to reach the hotel the right way and in the easy way. The parking restrictions aren’t something we can do anything about, hope our front-desk staff tried to handle it well and you got your car back quickly.

We will continue to strive for a good service and hope we can do better next time.

Warm regards,
Team Gravensteen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews