We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
A wide variety of treasures.

We thought it was interesting. They may not all be antiques but there were many collectibles... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
jeffl652
,
Lakeville, MN
Girls trip antiquing

Even in the damp weather we came away with some great deals. It is a bit of a drive for us. However... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
good2btheking
,
Hutschenhausen
via mobile
Read all 185 reviews
  
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
99
67
17
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
67
17
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday morning parking garage antique shops girls trip rain or shine fun trip amazing antiques wide variety under cover spoke english stuffed animals an early start vendors furniture quality flea items
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This was a long drive to Tongeren in Belgium, but I have to say it was all worthwhile, we filled our Suv with pieces of furniture, Oil paintings, Mirror and Glassware. The hotel Huys van steins is right next to the market and was outstanding,Lucie and Jimmy`s restaurant is one street away and both are a must if you visit here. The town centre is next to you and worthwhile wandering the streets, as it is Belgium`s oldest town and steeped in history.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank james1849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We went on a Sunday morning expecting to see a flea market, what we saw has been described as the largest antique fair in Belgium. It went on for ever, down both sides of the street, around the corner and then more streets,into shops and the underground car park. The range and quality of items on offer was staggering, it took a massive amount of will power not to overload our suitcases.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank SuandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We visited the market Oct 1st, 2017. It is a good one. Full of stalls with different items. Really huge variety. It is well organzied and people are very friendly. Good prices and it's always worth trying to bargain.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Orna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

One of our only outings with our 4 month old baby while in Belgium, we were impressed by the extent and quality of the market. The atmosphere was relaxed and it was perfect to do with our son who slept most of the way.
There was also a local craft market nearby with local producers that was worth trying although I don't know how frequent it is.
We will be back!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We have bought many items from this wonderful city that opens its doors EVERY SUNDAY (except for Christmas, and possibly other official holidays that fall on Sunday). You will find antiques from vendors from various countries: England, France, Germany, and Belgium--probably others as well! Depends on what you are looking for, but we have bought GREAT wood furniture pieces: tables, Minty bookcase, French chest of drawers, nesting tables, chest-similar to cedar chest--without the cedar; unique traveling writing box (see one that Alexander Hamilton used at Ft. Ticonderoga), or wooden stationary desk organizer, holds paper, pens/pencils & has the date cards--possible used by stationary salesmen (the last two were from England). Today first Sunday of August 2017 we have returned with garden items to use for flowers (or such is my plan); from zinc washtub, to enamel pots - old chamber pot, or washstand with wash pan, a cute bicycle to hold three flower pots. As others wrote the haggling is part of the fun of getting the best deal, but don't go too low to insult the dealer! I had a total blast today and came home with more than expected to include a milk can with strainer & lid! Color me exuberant!! I even found an oil painting from a dealer that also sells on E-Bay - what a wonderful and fun day!!
They do this rain or shine, they have a large building for inside vendors, as well as in a parking garage lower level for those bad weather days. Otherwise the vendors sets up on the streets and square of town from 0600-1400, but you had better get there early, because many do start packing up around noon! There local antique shops in town, that are open during this time as well--check them out too!

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Tabby42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews