We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit slow for a lunchmenu”
Review of Maison Blanche

Maison Blanche
Ranked #6 of 235 Restaurants in Hasselt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 28
Cuisines: Diner, Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our concept Want to socialize with couples, with your family or a business partner extensive and original breakfast, stylish lunch or afternoon enjoying the extensive coffee cake then you're in the Hasselt Maison Blanche is the right place. Delicious seasonal suggestions with fresh products! This is really "eat a la carte". Saturday from 19:30 you can enjoy a cozy evening menu: enjoy guaranteed! The sober but fashionable interiors, terraces and a custom lounge or classical background bring you immediately in a relaxed atmosphere. We forget certainly not the super-friendly and "chic" service. Maison Blanche Hasselt is the place for relaxing start of the day or a fun shopping or work breaks in.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit slow for a lunchmenu”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

First the decoration. A bit simple, design (white walls), no intimity since the tables are really close to each other.
We choosed the lunchmenu (21€, drinks not included) which consisted that day in a soup for appetizer, some chicken with mashed potatoes and a few peperonis cut in tiny pieces for the entree. One small ball of ice with chocolate mousse for dessert.
The service was much too slow, we had to wait at least 35 minutes before we could get the soup. After that, add 25 minutes for the entree. To me, a lunchmenu should be cheap and fast. The check showed an amount of 60 euros (we took 2 glasses of white wine and a small bottle of water) and it last 1h20...
You feel that this restaurant wants to give his best but my experience was not what I had expected.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    93
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bit overpriced”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I went to Maison Blanche for breakfast. The breakfast was very nice, service very good and the portions were more then enough. It costs €16 per person. We had a breakfast with champagne (gift voucher) and that was an extra €9 per person. €9 for one glass of champagne is bit over the top!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederik85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt
Level Contributor
144 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent place for the lunch menu”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Maison Blanche is hard too describe. The place is more than 'just' a coffee house, but it's not yet a 'real' restaurant. It closes daily at 6 pm, but on Saturdays you can have dinner here as well.
It's definitely not an inexpensive place: coffee (and all other beverages), waffles and pancakes seem overpriced. Then again, service is perfect, and your pancakes and coffee will come with some nice extras (chocolates, some fruit on the side, ...).
At noon Maison Blanche serves an affordable lunch menu. They don't offer the cheapest menu in the area by far, but they do serve real quality food. Portions were okay in size, taste was outstanding. Three courses took about one hour and a half.
Maison Blanche has a real nice terrace for lunching outside. The interior (expect a lot of 'white') is quite modern, yet not too cold.
In sum, this is a comfortable place with outstanding service and excellent lunch menus, but it is not very cheap.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MyT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value for money”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Granted, one of my girl friends and myself had a Groupon deal (= half price) for lunch at this restaurant but even at the full price this would have been a great deal. We had a business appointment in Hasselt on this day and had arranged to have lunch here afterwards.
We were lucky enough with the weather so we could sit out on the back terrace. We were served a fixed menu of excellent quality. Okay, maybe I would have preferred a salad instead of the (excellent) soup on this hot day, but the fish dish as a main course was fantastic and cooked to perfection. The desert afterwards was absolutely divine!
The presentation of all these dishes was top notch and worthy of a much more expensive restaurant.
The servcice was not just good, it was excellent , with a warm personal touch. Both my girl friend and I agreed we had had an outstanding deal, but would definitely go back to this place even without the promotion deal.
Zeer warm aanbevolen!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romasupebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Blanche also viewed

Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 
Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 
Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 

Been to Maison Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing