We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Chambord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chambord
Ranked #122 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed 17 February 2017

As with other reviews here, my experience was mixed and not quite what I expected. The staff were very good, they found me an adaptor to borrow and supplied me with a map. The hotel is very close to the tube. But the lift is the smallest lift imaginable. You could only fit 2 people in and made me feel quite claustrophobic. The room superficially looks good but close up is lacking. The bed was uncomfortable and there was no tea or coffee making facility which is a fairly basic thing. The hotel breakfast however was quite good, nice dining room, very clean, self service breakfast with a good choice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have long wait for miniscule lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LesleySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

28 - 32 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017

Hotel Chambord is well-situated. It's an easy walk to the lovely Saint-Boniface quartier, which is pretty, and has some lovely bars and restaurants. It's a 15-minute walk to the mediaeval centre of Brussels, and it's an easy journey to the European Commission, as well as being in the main shopping area of the city.

It's also reasonably well appointed - the rooms are much the same as you'd find in the big chains.

So far, so good.

But the stay itself left a lot to be desired. It was cold in Brussels in early January - down to -4 at night. Most of the rooms have big windows - which are great in the summer, and afford good views. But they lose heat like nobody's business on a cold winter's night. And, alas, although there are radiators in every room, they don't work. Not a joule of heat out of them. This means that all the heating comes from the air-con unit just above the door. Which is controlled from Reception (there is a portable remote control - just one for the whole hotel).

In the first room I had, they'd also installed an electric heater. Even with everything going full-blast, the room was only just warm enough - and there was no hot water. So I moved to another room, which, although it had hot water, was much bigger, and without the benefit of an electric heater.

It's quite a tall hotel, and the lift is minute - rather like being in a coffin. Some modernisation is definitely needed.

I spent a miserable couple of nights, I fear. The staff were helpful, and did what they could, but the problem is one of infrastructure.

Just get your heating fixed!

Room Tip: Don't stay in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St_Ogpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

The stay at this hotel was a mix of good and bad.

On the positive side, the hotel is located directly next to a train station so it's easy to get to. The staff is nice and helpful if you need directions for where to go. Also, there are different places to eat and shop nearby and you can easily walk to the main attractions in Brussels. It has big rooms divided into a place to sleep and a place to sit. The breakfast has many choices and is delicious.

However, the condition of the hotel itself is not optimal. We visited in January where there was a bit of snow and it was cold but the heating was not working anywhere in the hotel. So the hallways were really cold as well as the rooms, even though a small electric radiator was put there. But it's easy to imagine it couldn't heat up the room so well, and definitely not the bathroom! The bed and the office chair were good but generally the furniture seems old and too used. Some replacement and reparations are needed if I should consider coming back to this hotel.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Reasonably good but service hours and furniture maintenance should be improved. Cleaning ladies stampede out at noon, bathroom required three fixes, heating settings were a mess and one of the reception clerks was in a permanent bad mood. HOWEVER, "Baboo" spoke several languages and was overall delightful even working on New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: Check ALL the facilities before accepting a room, including furniture, door locks, bathroom -- every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kamil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My visit to this place was only based on the need of a hotel room since my usual place in Brussels was completely booked.

To make a long story short: you should stay away from this place as far as you can since it is old, dirty and unsecure.

I was welcomed by a highly desinteressted receptionist who told me when I asked him whether the hotel had a gym, that I could run around the block if I would like to do sports... The room itself - you can only reach it with an elevator out of 1947 (!) which carries maximun two persons - was equipped with furniture that had seen its best days probably 20 years ago. The carpet was full of spots and the smell in the room was moldy and old. Mold in the corner of the bathroom came on top. The door of the room was a ridicoulus wallboard with a simple-to-break-lock. So I had to take valuable belongings always with me.

The "high point" of this non-service and non-comfort experience was that the aircondition could not be operated by myself but I had to call the reception every time when I wanted to have it warmer or colder in my room.

In the end I cut my stay one day short just to escape this place as early as possible.

No recommendation whatsoever.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 km away
Aqua Hotel Brussels
Aqua Hotel Brussels
#68 of 198 in Brussels
478 reviews
1.2 km away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
#103 of 198 in Brussels
1,276 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#125 of 198 in Brussels
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Atlas Hotel Brussels
Atlas Hotel Brussels
#63 of 198 in Brussels
647 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#7 of 15 in Ixelles
681 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#157 of 198 in Brussels
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chambord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chambord

Address: Rue de Namur 82 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $129 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chambord 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Art Deco hotel features a first-floor atrium, a bar and rooms which include breakfast. Chambord has a 24-hour front desk and is a 5-minute walk from the Magritte Museum.Cable TV and a desk are provided in the sound-proofed rooms at Hotel Chambord. The breakfast buffet features a selection of warm dishes, pastries and fresh fruit salad.Porte de Namur metro station is only 500 ft from Chambord. The Royal Palace is a 10-minute walk away and the famous Grand Place is one mile from the hotel.Ll fountain statue of Manneken Pis. On the main square of the Grand Place you can admire Brussels' remarkable Gothic Town Hall or visit the City of Brussels Museum. More Gothic grandeur is to be found in the St. Michael and St. Gudula Cathedral at the Treurenberg hill. For shopping, the centre is also an excellent base. Browse around the large City 2 mall or discover the charming little boutiques and brasseries of the Royal St. Hubert arcades. Part of the EU Quarter, Brussels Park is surrounded by the Royal Palace of Brussels, the Belgian Parliament and the U.S.A. Embassy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Chambord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambord Hotel Brussels
Hotel Chambord Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing