We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Canalside paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room with veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The living room with veranda
The sitting room has a kitchen area with all modern appliances
The bathroom, with shower, wash basin, toilet and washing machine
Upon arrival you will find an extensive Dutch breakfast waiting for you
The fridge contains ham and eggs, cheese, milk, yoghurt and orange juice
If you want to do your own cooking, there are some basic ingredients available
Pride of Leyden is located in a quiet residential street
A view from the veranda
A view from the drawbridge near Pride of Leyden
Leiden's Galgewater with historical ships
Morspoort, one of Leiden's two remaining city gates
Bulb fields in the spring
A typical Dutch polder landscape, great for cycling through
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leiden, South Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Hasted
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Alround nice, but ...”
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a house on the water, rather than a boat, as you can see from the photographs.

On the plus side -
It was surprisingly spacious, a great view onto a typical Van Gogh bridge, very peaceful with only bikes and boats going by as you sit on the little terrace eating. Leiden's has beautiful cafés & shops, about 15 mins walk from the boat. The owner supplied breakfast on the first day, but there was a lot of standard stuff already in the kitchen cupboards from previous tenants.
There were also vast numbers of towels available.

On the minus side -
the washing machine didn't work as the owner said she was unable to find out how to clean out the filter ... disappointing and not a very good excuse.

Though the bedroom is of a good size the enormous, very high bed is set into a recess, leaving no space on the side, so that one has to crawl onto it from the foot end, as if it was a kids play corner. That would be a bit of a challenge for an older person. It also makes it tricky to make the bed properly. A better solution would be a narrower bed which leaves just enough space to be accessed from both sides.

In the shower room the fittings and the tiling really have seen better days. Even a really good clean of the wall tiles and the fixing of broken handles etc. would be a great improvement.

Though the kitchen was ok. the cooker was not clean, the controls were sticky with grease and needed a really good clean, so much so that I didn't really want to touch them. I left a note to that effect, as my personal view is that if you charge customers to stay in your property, everything should be absolutely clean, even if the equipment is not new.
Though Jacqueline the owner was charming and gave very helpful instructions and information about everything, she needs to fix these problems.
So if you can overlook the above comments re: cleanliness, I would still recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and views
Liked least: lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your criticism of the stove is entirely justified and I offer my unreserved apologies.

Re the bed, one has to make allowances for the fact that this is a houseboat, where space is at a premium. I did ask my guests whether they preferred a wider bed or easier access. On the whole the wider bed got the most votes. Furthermore, there is a recess on one side which allows for slightly easier access for the person on the left.

I had someone in to check the washing machine. As it turns out there was nothing wrong with the filter. Since the cost of trying to find the fault wasn’t justified, I have replaced the machine. I’m very sorry that this happened just when you were counting on using the machine.

The bathroom is given a thorough cleaning with every new guest. I have tried to bleach the grout to give it a whiter appearance, but it stays a greyish colour. This is not dirt or grime, however, and I’m certain the bathroom will pass any bacteriological test.

On the whole I’m grateful for your comments as they help me provide a better service to my guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topcat024
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Canalside paradise”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Tranquil location and beautiful spot. Slight disappointment that it was a fixed "boat" not built for sailing but greatly compensated by its superb equipment and the magic of having expectant ducks bobbing below the open window and a deck outside for basking. Will look forward to making another visit. A magical place where you feel like you are really in the true spirit of the Netherlands

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and general ambience
Liked least: The bed could have been better but was acceptably comfortable. Wouldn't stop us going again.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2012
Thank you for your comments. I hadn't been aware that the bed left something to be desired. I will certainly look into it and take steps to improve the situation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladybentl...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in this charming houseboat and really enjoyed the experience of staying somewhere ‘different’. The houseboat is surprisingly spacious with a good sized and well furnished living and dining room with a well equipped kitchen across the back. Jacqueline provides a very generous ‘big Dutch breakfast’ and there are pantry staples in the cupboards. There’s a functional washing machine in the bathroom which also has a roomy shower. It was fun watching the ducks swim by and people cycling to and from work.

Leiden is a lovely town – great for walking around and an excellent twice-weekly market. It’s a perfect central point for touring and Jacqueline provides lots of tourist information. There’s free wifi in the boat and a good selection of TV channels together with some English DVDs and books. We certainly recommend the houseboat if you’re looking for a great experience combined with comfort and convenience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The chance to live in a real Dutch houseboat.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LFroese
Morden, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Time in Leiden”
Reviewed 27 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights at the 'Pride of Leyden' house boat in early May. Everything was just as described and we were very comfortable in this unique accomodation. Special moments included watching the cyclists pedal by on their way to work or school as we sat on the veranda with a morning coffee. The kitchen was well stocked with breakfast supplies as well as staple foods that might be needed to prepare almost anything you could think of. We appreciated the fruit and stroopwaffles when we arrived. There were very helpful suggestions and directions available to help plan holiday activities as well as books and dvds for those rainy evenings when you might just want to relax inside. Jacqueline, the owner, greeted us when we arrived and was available by phone for any concerns or problems. Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will certainly recommend this place to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location near the central part of the city but on a quieter street and the personal service of the owner.
Liked least: could be tricky finding parking close by during busy times.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aime_voya...
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Leiden is a very nice city and just a quick train ride to Haarlem, The Hague and Delft, and some 30 minutes ride to Utrecht, Amsterdam and Rotterdam. The houseboat was really a fun experience, very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The fridge and pantry were stocked with food and there is a great market in town, not to be missed. It was very quiet and we slept well. In the morning we would open the kitchen window and feed the ducks. A great experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I’m always happy when people enjoy the beautiful Pride of Leyden as much as I do. That is why I cater especially to tourists from abroad, for whom this is a totally new experience. I hope you liked the stroopwafels, chocolade hagelslag and Senseo coffee machine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing