We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't be with the one you love, love the one you are with...”
Review of De la soul

De la soul
Ranked #32 of 322 Restaurants in Leiden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 17 - USD 23
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Leiden's only soul food restaurant is located at the Morspoort. De la Soul has a broad menu for lunch, dinner or drinks. Soul food, delicious food that emerged in the southern United States and was influenced by Creole, Cajun and Caribbean cuisines. Enjoy lunch or an evening meal at an intimate table, or order real soul food finger snacks at the bar. What's more, the sunny pavement terrace will make you want to stay longer for a lingering taste of Leiden soul!
Reviewed 15 September 2016

I went here after being told that there was a "Cajun/Creole/Soul food" spot in Leiden.

I had the Cajun shrimp and the crab cakes and while inauthentic (sorry fellas, I'm a Cajun...and what you guys are doing is not how we cook our food), it was still REALLY REALLY REALLY good. The crab cakes, in particular, I would recommend to anyone.

I work in Leiden now and will probably make this place a regular lunch spot.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank darrylbarthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Manager at De la soul, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Darryl,
Thanks for your review. Sorry that we're not originals, can imagine that you can taste the difference. But; great that you are that enthousiastic and hopefully we see you again for the lunch (or dinner)! Don't hesitate to give us a suggestion about how to perfectly cook your food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Great place! I've been here a bunch and can definitely recommend it. Soulfood classics in tapas portions, friendly folks and decent prices. This is a great place for both a hearty meal or a 'terrasje pakken'

Thank 88Fleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Manager at De la soul, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thanks! Hope to see you again soon for a 'terrasje pakken' :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

A classical gezellig eat place like there are many in Leiden. Situated on the Moorsport , one of the many beautiful sites of Leiden. The food is just Ok and too expensive for what it is. There are many better value for money in Leiden.

Thank Jean-Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Manager at De la soul, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Hi Jean Marc L,
Thank you for the review. Maybe you will come back and try our new menu. Or even better: the LOUISIANA CRAWFISH BOIL.
Kind regards,
Team De la Soul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

The restaurant was recommended by our hotel, and it did not disappoint. It is conveniently located at the edge of the old city quarter (parking is near). It serves soul food - ribs, corn, mash potatoes, etc.
The waiter told us that the food is a bit heavy and therefore the dishes are intentionally small, so it is recommended to order 2 per person.. But we ordered one per person plus one side and it was enough. The food was delicious, and the atmosphere is great.
Service could be a bit better, we had to "chase" our waiter a couple of time, but we did not mind. Also, I really wish the had some music on... especially live music... I asked, they seemed to be missing a permit... But overall, we had a great night out

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oananiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Manager at De la soul, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi Oleg,
Thanks for the review. Indeed our food is a bit heavy, luckily you didn't order too much. We can take care our service, but nice to hear the atmosphere was great enough you didn't mind!
Hope to see you again one time, when you're in Leiden.
Team De la Soul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We visited on a sunny day and sat outside on the terrace. Service was somewhat slow but otherwise polite and helpful (it was quite busy). The menu consists of smaller size portions of American southern type food which can be mixed & matched. The waiter suggested taking 2 to 3 selections per person. Two each is probably enough for most people. The food was excellent and looked good as well. We had a 6 year old child with us and they made no problem about getting extra fees which were not on the menu. The restaurant is situated in interesting surroundings by one of Leiden's historical city gates. Well worth a vist.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulsXperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva H, Manager at De la soul, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Dear Paul,
Thank you for the review. Sorry to notice the service was a bit slow, luckily they were helpful for you. And off course good to know your food was excellent!
Kind regards,
Team De la Soul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De la soul also viewed

Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 
Leiden, South Holland Province
Leiden, South Holland Province
 

Been to De la soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing