We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
8
14
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
14
11
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

My friend and mine booked hotel Hoogland in advance for a friends trip. Mainly because of the location, which is actually good, but that’s it. In fact there is nothing more positive to say about this hotel.

We felt uncomfortable when we entered the room already, because of the smell. A musty smell, although the window was open. The room was called the „pink“ room (no 17), which was more like a kids bedroom than anything else. It was full of strange accessories like pink metal elephant, several plastic piggies, pink plastic flowers and pink pillows. Some people might like pink, but the accessories were simply old and battered. The beds were saggy, small (80cm width) and uncomfortable. We had a little fridge, a radio and a small tv in our room, but again, everything was really old and it looked more like trash (see the pictures we took). With a girlfriend we would have left the hotel straight away.

The bathroom was very small, the towels old and washed-out. It was hard to control the heat of the water as everything was old and in need of renovation.

Downstairs in the entrance and breakfast area everything is decorated in a very strange way. Some stuffed animals, some kids toys and a lot of strange plastic things. We didn’t feel home. Neither in our room, nor downstairs.

The breakfast was okay, but very basic. Some white bread, cereals, milk, cheese, etc. Exactly The same stuff every morning.

Last but not least the owners (two guys) are very strange. It’s hard to describe, it was a mix of bored and unfriendly. We even had the impression they made fun of us that we had the „pink“ room as they were laughing each time they gave us the room key (wich you have to leave in the hotel when you go out). Really strange. Apart from the owners the staff was actually very nice and friendly though!

All in all the hotel is in urgent need for renovation. We paid 120€/night, which is by far too expensive for this accommodation. We both agreed it’s not even worth 40€/night.

We hope others won’t make the same experience and please have a look at the photos.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mitch135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a completely bonkers hotel. This is an idiosyncratic hotel that is well worth a visit.
Be well aware that this is not a standard hotel with the standard layout of the international chains, this hotel is different. It is privately owned and decorated in a style all its own. It is comfortable. It is clean. It is central. And it is busy.
Breakfast was a typical Dutch continental affair, well presented and plentiful. But the dining room is nuts, hand painted murals on the walls and nick knacks on the window ledges and hanging from the ceiling, who would expect to have a stuffed ferret beside a wooden parrot beside a plastic vine sprouting plastic strawberries beside you table - wonderfully bonkers. It sounds awful but it’s great.
Our en-suite Room was equally eccentric. Ours was the Buddha room suitably decorated of course. The room had everything you would expect of a hotel room, tea, coffee,mini-bar etc. The bed was very comfortable. If I one criticism of this hotel it would be that shower was a bit small for a big guy like me but I will certainly be going back the next time I am in Zandvoort.
What it may lack in classiness (is that the right word?) is compensated for by its wonderful eccentricity.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel good value, very Dutch furnishings. The host could not do enough to ensure that the stay was pleasant. Location is brilliant, short stroll to the beach and great restaurants
No children allowed, so would recommend this for solo travellers and couples Internet is free and quick

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good if you have a lot of luggage to handle. Great internet access very quick and free
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhondac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

You know the feeling waking up in a nondescript hotel room, and you got no clue where you are on this planet... Well, Hoogland is anything but that! When kitsch is the style and it is applied over the top all over, it almost becomes art. And I loved it.
The hotel is small and old which just adds to the atmosphere.
Our room was quite small but clean. Breakfast was plentiful with delicious warm bread rolls. Service was throughout our stay very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayVeeHaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Sorry, but the last poster just didn't get this place. We absolutely loved it. Yes there are shells and plastic things and outdated decor and complimentary cuppa soups and you eat breakfast in a recreated nature reserve (stuffed birds and all) and this is what makes it so brillant. It's quirky and random. If you like kitsch you'll love this place (the breakfast is superb too). Would definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chookychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews