We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
9
13
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
13
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night's sleep flat screen tv street parking good size first floor breeze business
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I stayed at Hotel Ravel for 2 nights while visiting my brother in Hilversum. As I was travelling alone, I was looking for something basic, cheap and clean. The minute I walked into the room up the dangerously steep stairs I knew I had made a mistake. The mustard coloured room smelled of something like damp and stale smoke. The worst thing, however, was the noise that came through the paper thin walls all night from other people's TV's, followed by wake up alarms that went on from 5am until 7.00am. If you can possibly find somewhere else then my advice would be to avoid this place like the plague.....it really is awful.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UkFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oazelf, Manager at Hotel Ravel Hilversum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Very sorry to hear you did not like our hotel at all. We nearly have the impression that you stayed in a totally different hotel than ours. We do not have any mustard colored rooms and the hotel is smoke free?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Very rude 'welcome' from hotel owner.
Old & dirty hotel: steep dangerous stairs.
Not family friendly.
Very noisy on road side.
No parking (they say you can park in one of the crowded backstreets).
Awful breakfast.
No wheelchair/baby pram access (and nobody to help when you arrive with luggage/pram)
Blocked sink in bathroom
A metal piece of the shower detached and fell not far from our toddler's foot
No AC: very hot on last floor when weather is nice.
Gives a very bad image of Dutch hospitality.

Room Tip: Check in other hotel
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oazelf, Manager at Hotel Ravel Hilversum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your recent review, which in our opinion does not do full justice to our hotel. Upon arrival, when you walked in with your toddler in tow, we immediately noticed the child was no baby anymore (which made you angry) and was not able to sleep in our babybed (your own babybed turned out to be broken as well). We immediately offered a quiet room in the back of the hotel, with an extra full bed (since the child was obviously to old to fit into a proper babybed). Since the available room was on the top floor we immediately pointed out where you could store your pram (a storage room next to the reception) and informed you, if you needed a hand with your luggage, which you declined.
In general there is ample free parking space within the direct vicinity of the hotel (street parking only). Since we never saw you in the breakfast room we wonder how you were able rate our breakfast (awful), nor were we informed your room needed extra attention of our housekeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights on business. This is a small family owned hotel with good sized rooms which are a little dated, but comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful.
The small garden is pleasant.
The restaurant only opens for a basic buffet breakfast, no evening meals, but there are lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance.
There is no air-conditioning, but usually that is no big problem in northern Holland.
I have stayed in a number of hotels in the town, and none are fantastic but this is the one I have enjoyed most.
There is no car park, but plenty of on-street parking nearby.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oazelf, Eigenaar at Hotel Ravel Hilversum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank your for your nice review. Good to hear you like Hotel Ravel Hilversum best. We try to keep the hotel up-to-date and make changes (big and small) every week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on a work trip. When you arrive parking is difficult but in the neighbourhood you can park on the street. The whole hotel has an old B&B feel to it. The staff was friendly and in the morning there was a simple breakfast. The only odd thing was the when taking a shower the whole bathroom flooded.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oazelf, Owner at Hotel Ravel Hilversum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your nice words concerning your stay at Hotel Ravel Hilversum. In the meantime we had a good look at the drainage problem in your bathroom and the problem has been solved now ;-)

Trusting to see you again on your next visit to Hilversum,

Best regards,
Hotel Ravel Hilversum

Oebele Anema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Very clean and efficient hotel. Parking a bit difficult but you can park on the road. Breakfast simple but fresh. Staff very friendly and caring. Bathrooms small and it does get wet all over but the squeaky was useful. Watch how y get there the first time - the gps is not enter lay right stay on the main road

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Marco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews