We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!”
Review of Effen Grijs - CLOSED

Effen Grijs
Price range: USD 9 - USD 45
Cuisines: Gastropub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We have visited Effen Grijs again after more than a year. The food is delicious! Surprising combinations of ingredients. The dishes are made with care, love and look beautiful. Although the restaurant was full, we were able to get a last minute reservation after 20.30. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The surprise menu is a must! The wines are good, but a bit (over) priced.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank VydraNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016

We were recommended this restaurant by a local. The chef is Australian and prepared some unusual dishes. We had carpaccio of swordfish, samphire, dill and sauce, followed by barramundi fish filets with razor clams, then selection of cheeses.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank JohnN0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

To describe it with one word; SURPRISED. You can choose to select a surprise set menu but also a la carte. The combination of ingredients are so put together so nicely. I chose the surprise menu; tomato sorbet with parmesan and basil, sword fish with garlic and capers, Flank steak and as dessert a peach sabayon with hazelnut crunch and yoghurt.

The interior is quite dark, but they have really nice light bulbs everywhere.

The waiters are very kind and thoughtful. I really enjoyed my visit and will definitely come back again

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank somy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We made reservation for a group of ten. We were in Haarlem and wanted to meet friends and have a great dinner.
The crew at Effen grijs nailed it. We allowed the kitchen to prepare us a three course dinner; chef's choice. And we were not disapppointed at all!!
Great dishes and very fair priced at Euro 50 each for a full three course meal including drinks.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

This might have been an off-day at Effen Grijs, both for service and the chef. We selected it for dinner with some friends from abroad and ... just a big disaster. The service was slow and and indifferent. The food was poor, curious taste and weird choices of combination, small portions. Wine was good. The creme catalane had nothing in common with the well-known dessert.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Effen Grijs also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing