We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with friends”
Review of Effen Grijs - CLOSED

Effen Grijs
Price range: USD 9 - USD 45
Cuisines: Gastropub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 February 2016

We made reservation for a group of ten. We were in Haarlem and wanted to meet friends and have a great dinner.
The crew at Effen grijs nailed it. We allowed the kitchen to prepare us a three course dinner; chef's choice. And we were not disapppointed at all!!
Great dishes and very fair priced at Euro 50 each for a full three course meal including drinks.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2015

This might have been an off-day at Effen Grijs, both for service and the chef. We selected it for dinner with some friends from abroad and ... just a big disaster. The service was slow and and indifferent. The food was poor, curious taste and weird choices of combination, small portions. Wine was good. The creme catalane had nothing in common with the well-known dessert.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Very original nice beautifully served food in the center of haarlem with friendly service ! I would advice to anybody!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank pbelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We stumbled on Effen Grijs and what an amazing restaurant we found! Food was fantastic - tasted wonderful and looked beautiful. Stylish setting. Great wines. The service was perfect - a great mix of attentative and informative but without being too much. The staff were very knowledgable about the menu and also brought small starter samples of gazpacho cups and homemade bread and pea hummus. In our group we had two meat-eaters, a vegetarian and a gluten-free-, soy-free- vegetarian of which we were all extremely impressed with our food. The later of which had a special meal created for her. Highly, highly reccommend and already planning a return trip to Haarlem from Amsterdam just to eat at Effen Grijs.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Great food, exceptional service, all round a very impressive experience.

My wife also has some food allergies which they were extremely accommodating for.

We will definitely be back next time we are in Haarlem.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank tgarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Effen Grijs also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing