We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last time !”
Review of Effen Grijs - CLOSED

Effen Grijs
Price range: USD 9 - USD 45
Cuisines: Gastropub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 September 2015

This might have been an off-day at Effen Grijs, both for service and the chef. We selected it for dinner with some friends from abroad and ... just a big disaster. The service was slow and and indifferent. The food was poor, curious taste and weird choices of combination, small portions. Wine was good. The creme catalane had nothing in common with the well-known dessert.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

Very original nice beautifully served food in the center of haarlem with friendly service ! I would advice to anybody!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank pbelgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We stumbled on Effen Grijs and what an amazing restaurant we found! Food was fantastic - tasted wonderful and looked beautiful. Stylish setting. Great wines. The service was perfect - a great mix of attentative and informative but without being too much. The staff were very knowledgable about the menu and also brought small starter samples of gazpacho cups and homemade bread and pea hummus. In our group we had two meat-eaters, a vegetarian and a gluten-free-, soy-free- vegetarian of which we were all extremely impressed with our food. The later of which had a special meal created for her. Highly, highly reccommend and already planning a return trip to Haarlem from Amsterdam just to eat at Effen Grijs.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015 via mobile

Great food, exceptional service, all round a very impressive experience.

My wife also has some food allergies which they were extremely accommodating for.

We will definitely be back next time we are in Haarlem.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank tgarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Effen Grijs is one of those new, quasi-trendy restaurants in Haarlem with a quite interesting menu card offering gazpacho to lamb rumps.

After the plainly poor & dead aperitif, the starter of monk fish salad came with so-so texture and mediocre flavour. The main dish of sea bass was better without being exceptional. The borracho was just OK.

Service was acceptable and the bill came close to 40 EUR including a glass of Affligem beer.

Not bad at all, but with ample room for improvement.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Effen Grijs also viewed

Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 
Haarlem, North Holland Province
Haarlem, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing