We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for a good price!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Downtown Guestroom

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
84 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Japanese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alexxab
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for a good price!”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

If you are looking for an accomodation in central Amsterdam for a good price, this is the place to book! It is perfectly situated, at about 10 minutes walking distance from the central station and barely 5 minutes away from the main shopping streets. The guestroom which feels more like a studio is as the description says, basic but at the same time it´s quite cosy. The only problem we encountered was that the street was pretty noisy on saturday evening/night but on sunday it was quiet again. I suppose that´s the price to pay if you want to stay in the centre of Amsterdam. Overall this is a good place to stay at!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2015
Very nice to hear from you and that you have liked your home in Amsterdam. Thanks for your time of writing a review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annie w
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and i went to Amsterdam for my birthday, we were looking for an apartment very close to the centraal station and that's what we got! We were told that it was likely that we were not able to enter the apartment until about 2 o'clock due to cleaning; however we called once we had landed and Jaqueline (Owner) said that we can come straight over which was great! The apartment was a clean and cosy studio in an amazing location, had a massive bed, a comfy sofa and a television that had many channels, as well as a good shower and toilet. Moreover there was a cosy fridge, plenty of cutlery, towels and spare sheets, pillows and blankets. The ONLY criticism we had was that there are no outlets for which one can cook food, however there was a microwave and for us that was fine, however others may want a hob or oven. Jaqueline was very nice and insisted that not only was she available for help if ever we need it but also that we could smoke in the room so long as the windows are open, which was absolutely fine and understandable. She also gave us a map and showed us the places to get trams, buses and the metro. As mentioned that location was to die for, and the price was very reasonable. To say we loved our stay is an understatement to say the least, and we definitely intend on staying there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: No oven or hobs, but not a significant issue.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
podbuddy
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value, tons of character and best location”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I love this apartment. My husband and I stay here whenever we travel to Amsterdam, and we're never disappointed. Close to the center but nicely situated on a narrow, quiet street by the canal. Jacqueline is a lovely hostess, and the room -- though not luxurious -- is perfectly clean and comfortable for a few days stay. We'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andykazam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy and relaxing - the perfect 'Dam experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

When you're in Amsterdam there's so much to do you're barely in your apartment.

This studio covers the basics and has everything you need - wifi, fridge, TV and an extremely comfortable bed.

The owner (and his daughter) were very helpful and friendly, aboslutely no problems there.

You can walk into town in 5 minutes, to a tram stop in 2 minutes and the station in 10. Perfect location, just outside the busy part of the centre so it's never too noisy.

It is near a small red light district but that's Amsterdam for you - you're never too far from one. It never caused us any problems.

Only drawback was that the windows don't open fully and need a wooden block to hold them up. Not a huge problem and quite common within the Dutch architecture, just a little bit more effort required.

We'll be back in Amsterdam for sure and will almost certainly be staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Only one comofortable seat
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thank you for this good review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillybea...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I had such a wonderful stay at the downtown Guestroom, the location is amazing, close by to all of the delights Amsterdam has to offer. The hosts were so friendly and welcoming, I can't wait to stay here again, I thouroughly recommend this place to anyone thinking of staying in Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
Thank you for the good review, it was a pleasure to have you with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 134
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing