We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
5
14
18
11
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
14
18
11
57
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Shower was either freezing cold or scalding hot.
Room wasn't very secure for personal belongings.
Bedding didn't seem all that fresh

Coffee shop downstairs which is convenient for those that smoke.
Would recommend for people on a budget stay in the city.

Room Tip: Hostel In Amsterdam
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BJRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

For checking in you have to wait until 6 that they open before that you could leave your luggage on an other hostal . The area is very close to everything and the girl at the coffee shop wasn't really friend. Good for having a bed in town.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I went to Amsterdam for couple of days with two friends and we stay at the Utopia Hostel. If you are familiar with hostels this place should be fine for you, it has the basic stuff, wich includes towels, blankets and clean sheets, the rooms were small but comfortable, the bathroom is share per floor and every floor have at least three rooms, the reception is on the first floor at the coffee shop, wich is great if you want to smoke and relax without going out. So if you are familiar with hostels and need an affordable basic place to stay in the city, i recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

As a hostel it's not too bad. The rooms were clean and the showers were clean before other people started using them.

However, this was my first hostel experience and I won't be doing another. The stairs were practically impossible to climb. They were steep, had very limited hand rails and they slanted backwards so you really had to pull yourself up using the hand rails.

We were on the top floor. There was a toilet but the showers were down those awful stairs. There was no dry area in the shower to get dressed afterwards - or hang your dry things. You just had to hope you didn't splash too much.

It was hot, we had a tiny skylight that could open and let in a little fresh air. We had a big window but I could put my arm out and easily touch the next building so there wasn't much air coming in from there.

The room was covered in graffiti and was just pretty tiny - we had a private room with shared bathroom facilities and thought it would be small but we had to take it in turned to get dressed as there was only enough space for one person to stand up at a time!

€20 for key deposit as well - this isn't always noted on websites.

Oh, and the cafe below shuts at 12. Not 1am like the sign on the door says.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 44chloe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

the room isnt amazing. but it was okay as a place to rest our heads. the shower was terrible, not very warm at all. but we made do. the only bad thing about the room is the stairs within the hotel. i would come here again as it was cheap and i liked the convenience of being above a coffee shop.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 418vee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews