We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant first time visit”

Sluizer Restaurants
Ranked #390 of 4,612 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: USD 23 - USD 89
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: The Specialties Restaurant (Sluizer Restaurants) has the atmosphere of a typical, traditional, Amsterdam restaurant (with many works of contemporary Dutch artists)Parties are very welcome in the pleasant ambiance of our well frequented restaurants; additionally, there are separate rooms and a bar available for parties up to 150.The extensive dinner menu and changing choice menus, with international meat- and fish-dishes, is completed with seasonal dishes. Certain traditional dishes, however, are never taken off the menu. A vegetarian dish is always to be found on the menu. All the fish is supplied daily.The kitchen is open all week from 17.00 hrs. until 23.00 hrs. Lunch on request.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to this delightful restaurant. The food was exceptional and the service generous and engaging. We would thoroughly recommend a visit to sluizer

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Navigator551647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco D, Eigenaar at Sluizer Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate this very much.
Please let us know, if you come next time.

Team Sluizer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2018

My wife and i went here for our anniversary dinner on the recommendation of our hotel. We were well received, wine and water quickly served and two excellent starters. The menu was limited and whilst we wanted fish we went for the safe option of Aged Irish Strip loin. The waiter mentioned that the chef was inclined to under cook meat (!) so we once again said very well done for one and well done for the other. When the food arrived it was quickly established that chef still did it his way. One steak was bleeding (the well done one) and a decent vet could have revived the other it was so raw. Staff quickly saw what was happening and removed the dishes to be cooked again. Sadly, the same result. Totally impossible to cut the meat and only then offered a steak knife.....with the same result. The maitre'd said that "..as the meat was hung it would be tougher". That's a new one on me. We declined the offer of coffee and the bill was for the food, not the wine?

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Extracare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We were pleaseantly surprised by this bistro, walked in , no reservations. Fish specialties were ok and so was the service, maybe caught them in an off day, it was tasty but not impressively so, very nice decor.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank jaskapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We went on a short break to Amsterdam and discovered this restaurant on the first night. It was so good we went back a second time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent and they took the trouble to ensure my diabetic requirements were met.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank exiledinessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We had to wait an hour and a half before our main course finally arrived. The restaurant was not full - so no excuse. It was just understaffed. We complained that the service was so slow. The waiter's attitude was most annoying and we nearly walked out. When our food finally arrived, it was very good - excellent venison.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sandyLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sluizer Restaurants also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sluizer Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing